We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1551 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
+1 239-472-7242
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,509: English reviews
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We arrived at 6, using free valet parking. Had a reservation and were seated immediately and drinks order came quickly. Barkeep did a good job on my cocktail. Our server, Dennis, was great: attentive and courteous, never rushing us. Food was very good: tuna nicely done, scallops too, I had baby back ribs, nicely barbequed, good flavor. Topped off with... More 

Helpful?
Thank DeeeT
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a meal with family and it was excellent. Great service and atmosphere. Thoroughly recommend. The fish was fabulous.

Helpful?
Thank babyboomer1066
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had Traders recommended to us for dinner on Sanibel Island. We were looking for fresh fish and good atmosphere. Traders fit the bill. We had a delicious appetizer of gulf shrimp, crab meat, avocado, chopped tomatoes and lettuce. It was fresh and beautifully presented. We also ordered the grouper dinner that was prepared with a macadamia nut crust, rice... More 

Helpful?
Thank marianne522
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a family dinner at Traders and all of us loved the food, right down to the scrumptious bread. One of the best shrimp and grits I have ever had. Very helpful experienced staff, prompt service and reasonable price for nice meals on island. My only negative is it is a big place so if what cozy your not... More 

Helpful?
Thank John N
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The food was good. Seabass was the best meal. Music was good. The atmosphere is ok. They need to dim the lights. It's so unnecessarily bright and could use some dividers or something to break up the mess hall look.

Helpful?
Thank Peter_J_V_1010
Management response:

We're so glad you enjoyed the seabass and our music, Peter, and we do appreciate your feedback on our atmosphere. We hope to have you by again soon for another meal. Thanks, -The Traders Team More 

Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went here for a late lunch. We couldn't have picked a better place. The shrimp chowder was excellent. Entrees included the fish taco, fish of the day slightly blackened and the shrimp & scallop pasta in a red sauce (2). All entrees were very tasty. Service was excellent. I was looking for a local beer and the waitress was... More 

Helpful?
Thank lourusnock
Management response:

We're so glad that y'all enjoyed everything from our shrimp chowder to our excellent service and to just taking it easy in those Adirondack chairs. We really hope that means we'll get to welcome you all back for another meal. Cheers, -The Traders Team More 

Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to traders with several friends for dinner. The wait staff was a bit forgetful and was definitely trying to rush us through our dinner. My wife had the fish tacos which were dry and could not even finish eating them. I had the garlic/cheese appetizer which was hardly even warm and the dinner was luke warm as well.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers-Ont
Management response:

We're really sorry if you felt at all rushed during your meal, and it's disappointing to know that was the case, especially since we're known for our friendly service. As for the food, again, it's disappointing if any dishes came out lukewarm. This really isn't up to our standards, so we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope... More 

Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our experience when we dined there for dinner. The food was very good, nice atmosphere, and excellent service. My husband had a seafood special over linguine, And the potato leek soup. I order the Chilean sea bass and it was not a problem switching the Rissoto for the garlic mash. The bread was so good, served with olive... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucyanne V
Management response:

We're thrilled that you were so happy with your server and that she made the experience so pleasant. What's more, it's great to know you enjoyed the Chilean sea bass, and we were more than happy to replace the risotto with the garlic mash. We can't wait to have you by again! Until then, -The Traders Team More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Traders on a recommendation of a friend. He is a winter resident on the island and it is his favorite restaurant. So we had high expectations and we were not disappointed. We were worried when our server informed us that they were out of Grouper. Since a couple of us were going to have grouper, we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe L
Management response:

Despite being out of grouper that day, Joe, we're thrilled that everyone enjoyed their meals. What's more, it's a treat to know that we're now highly recommended by you, too -- thanks! Until next time, -The Traders Team More 

Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place gets lots of good word-of-mouth so I went in with high expectations. The wait for a table or spot at the bar was long but I enjoyed the adjoining shop to kill time. The food was fine and tasty but not really memorable. It appears that a fair amount of both locals and tourists come here. No complaints... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RedBuddah
Management response:

While we're happy to hear that we came highly recommended, we're of course disappointed that your meal wasn't memorable. We always want our guests to be excited about the dish they try here, so we really hope you'll consider coming by again. We're sure we can find you a dish you'll love! Thanks, -The Traders Team More 

Travellers who viewed Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Seafood, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1551 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Southwest Gulf Coast  >  Sanibel Island
  • Phone Number: +1 239-472-7242
Description
At Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts, we want to make you feel right at home! Our location has been regarded as one of Sanibel's best kept secrets! Indulge yourself with one of our fantastic meals, or browse around for a great gift for a loved one. We are proud to offer a variety of food, gifts and entertainment to the Sanibel area. We provide live entertainment every Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. Some of our best dishes include succulent seafood and steaks! After your meal, relax with some great cocktails, fine wine, or a delicious dessert! We'll be ready to greet you with a smiling face! Visit Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts today!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts and other visitors
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?