We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blacksmiths Arms

££ - £££, British,
Lewes Road, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PN, England
+44 1825 840304
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (2 reviews)
“curry” (2 reviews)
“steak” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lewes Road, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Disgusting management. They failed to cancel my booking due an error on their account and then refused to refund me. Don't stay here!!More

1  Thank Derek L
nig9, Owner at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Derek, I do need to put the record straight. You were told all of this by my staff, but you still have proceded to attempt to defame my business. To repeat what you were told, as you booked through Expedia, we are not able...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stayed for 1 night ,When we arrived we saw some nice food being served from the evening menu ,We stayed in Room 1 ,a small room ,but very comfortable ( my wife wanted to take the bedding and pillows home) . Breakfast was very...More

Thank Gravydavey_10
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I had made a booking on Expedia and checked in on 12.08.17. After a couple of hours it transpired that I had made a booking for 2 weeks time and not the weekend I had turned up! The people who had made the booking had...More

Thank Ayesha A
Reviewed 22 July 2017

No pub ever needs a bad review, justified or otherwise. It would seem that this pub has changed hands and so the reviews both good and bad refer to the pub before and after the change. This can make it difficult to work how many...More

1  Thank philip709
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I visited this pub after a day out with my 18month old daughter, we walked in at 1.30 it was completely dead, a Chinese lady was behind the bar. We ordered our food from the tiny menu, not like the board outside which says about...More

2  Thank milzeed09
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Stopped in at 1:45 for a drink and lunch (partly induced by hoarding touting a new and exciting menu!) The lights were on (music playing too) but nobody was home! there were no staff and no other customers either. We left. If any business thinks...More

2  Thank Mark_Elliott
Blacklion H, Manager at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

dear mark thankyou for your reviewe. i will look into this at once. this is a important issus. as i am the manager and was on holiday all last week.

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

So on Monday I enjoy a nice drink as I was in the area and then tonight a Tuesday 1 day later the same drink a pint of coke with a price increase of £1.30 if times are hard shut the front door and allow...More

3  Thank Robert H
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed at The Forge but this is just across the road and a very good choice. Walking in on busy Saturday night....good beer, quick and friendly service and excellent proper pie! Heaps of vegetables and great chips! As we were finishing there was a walk...More

Thank lorcaa
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We visited this restaurant a couple of years ago and weren't that impressed with the food but due to the restrictions in the surrounding area for roast dinner after 6pm , we thought we would give the place another go. I wish we hadn't. There...More

2  Thank Nicole O
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband. A very friendly welcome, clean room with everything we needed and lovely evening meal and breakfast.

1  Thank akjfjuueb
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Muffins Cafe
41 reviews
1.32 miles away
Roebuck Inn
50 reviews
2.15 miles away
Hare and Hounds
54 reviews
2.37 miles away
Blackboys Inn
369 reviews
2.63 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Branching Out Adventures
63 reviews
1.22 miles away
Raystede Centre for Animal Welfare
141 reviews
2.00 miles away
The Lavender Line
64 reviews
3.42 miles away
Farleys House & Gallery
47 reviews
3.44 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Blacksmiths Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lewes Road, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PN, England (Formerly The Black Lion)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Lewes  >  Halland
  • Phone Number: +44 1825 840304
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional English pub food. Homemade, vegetarian and vegan options
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing