We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mill at Elstead

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Farnham Road, Elstead GU8 6LE, England
+44 1252 703333
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 19:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 529: English reviews
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2015

We went as a party of 8 & a little one table booked in advance by my daughter. This was our last meal out together before my daughter and family emigrate to Canada. Our drinks order was taken and drink were brought promptly then we gave our food orders. We waited quite a long time for the food to come.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnaArthur238
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. Apologies that you had a disappointing visit with your family and that our food wasn't up to our usual high standards. However, we are pleased that our staff tried their best to resolve the issues you raised. We do hope you will try us again in the future. More 

scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2015

Lovely building and grounds, a great place to visit for lunch. We found comfy seating and the sound of the water wheel was very relaxing. I had a very enjoyable ham sandwich made with good quality ham on excellent bread. My husband had squid, which was very tasty and a good pint of beer. We had a pleasant time here... More 

Helpful?
Thank idopam
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent lunch with us. The Mill wheel is so lovely to watch and as you say very relaxing. We do hope you will pop back to see us again soon. More 

Haslemere
Level Contributor
329 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Lovely venue, gorgeous surroundings. Food is average although chef was unable to cook a rare steak twice. We were sat around a corner, and were left. No one to ask any questions. Afterwards when we wanted to pay the bill it took them ages and in the end we just went to the bar and paid. The bar maid excused... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicebub32
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Apologies you did not receive the rare steak you ordered on your recent visit or the reasoning behind this. We have recently opened our upstairs dining level which has a great atmosphere and ambience and doesn't allow guests to feel they are being left. We would very much like to welcome you back to... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2015

We recently visited this beautiful pub, in splendid surroundings as a party of 8, a table booked for 5 PM. The building & location are fantastic but sadly we were all very disappointed with the service & the food. The service was poor, to say the least & the food was very over priced for nothing special. Everything was cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee B
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It's a shame you didn't enjoy your birthday celebrations with us. We pride ourselves on the service we give and can only but apologise you did not receive this during your visit. We do hope you will try us again in the future and receive the service and fantastic quality of food we provide. More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2015

Lunchtime visit on a cool summer day. We ate off the lunchtime menu which was some what limited. The waitress was very dis-engaged and took her time to take our orders. The "small" fish and chips was well named, it could have been a child's portion. Having ordered desserts we were told after quite a wait that one of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JaneCamberley13
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Our lunchtime menu is smaller portions of some items on our main menu. Apologies if you felt the member of staff was dis-engaged and took her time to serve you, this is definitely not how we expect our service to be. We pride ourselves on our service and receive great feedback on this. It... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2015

Worst food I have ever tasted,it was overpriced for the standard of food given.Staff were not friendly or helpful.Huge potential change the food and the staffs attitude

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip R
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's unfortunate you felt your meal was the worst you have ever had. If you had brought this to our attention at the time we would of happily have changed this for you. We regularly change our menus and our chefs also provide specials throughout the week to which we have received great feedback. We... More 

london uk
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Great setting, fantastic service, good food all at reasonable price and prices which are affordable, would highly recommend, lovely to visit on a hot sunny day and have a bite to eat and drink in the sun

Helpful?
Thank matthewbarrett60
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent meal with us and you received fantastic service. We do hope you will pop back again soon. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2015

The venue is everything you could ask for in terms of ambience, setting, comfort and character. But... the food is average quality but city prices. There is a short menu though I do recommend the summer fruit crumble and custard for quality and quantity. My friend had a steak which had lost its pink but still oozed though it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pantherwench
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. We do have a smaller menu in comparison to other places but we do try to change these regularly, or add the addition of Specials throughout the week and BBQ's on the weekends (weather dependant). Unfortunately we do not offer the burgers to be cooked medium rare. We do source our food... More 

Guildford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2015

Visited this pub for the first time yesterday. The location is stunning and staff were friendly and helpful. Sadly the food was very poor and vastly overpriced. The lamb was small in portion and chewy, chicken was dry with a wilted salad and beef burger resembled shoe leather! Sure its a great place for a drink but I wouldn't eat... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ABCGuildford
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you liked the surroundings. It's unfortunate you did not enjoy your meal with us, we hope you made the staff aware, as this is certainly not how we like our food to be and have received some great comments recently.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2015

The mill has a great beer garden next to the river. The interior is also very nice and the large, glass-encased, old mill wheel is most impressive. The food is decent to good. A nice place to spend a sunny afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank Niel and Nicky J
Sian S, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoy having a beer next to the river, it's a great way to spend a sunny afternoon. Thank you for your compliments on the interior, especially the glass encased Mill wheel, it's truly beautiful. We do hope to see you again soon More 

Travellers who viewed The Mill at Elstead also viewed

 

Been to The Mill at Elstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Farnham Road, Elstead GU8 6LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Elstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1252 703333
Description
One of Surrey's best country pubs, the unique converted mill at Elstead is steeped in history and surrounded with beauty. The pub, on the river Wey, invites you to relax with great food and drink while the swans, ducks and water wheel outside play their part in the magic.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mill at Elstead staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?