We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sharrow Bay

Sharrow Bay Sharrow BAY, Howtown CA10 2NA, England
+44 17684 86301
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good12%
  • Average14%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sharrow Bay Sharrow BAY, Howtown CA10 2NA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Many hotels continue to receive good reviews based on past reputation, which people feel they cannot question. This needs to change in the UK: we have to start saying things as we see them. Yes, Sharrow Bay is set in a truly great position, has...More

Thank Paul S
Reviewed 6 days ago

We went there for a family girls treat tea having convinced the Dads to look after our little ones for the afternoon. I had been warned about the snooty staff, but they really did look you up and down. I guess it's part of the...More

1  Thank londongirlupnorth
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear londongirlupnorth, firstly, I apologise about the guest in the flower, if you had drawn this to our attention at the time we would have made absolute amends, no hesitation and with heartfelt apologies. However, with regard to the rest of your extensive, detailed, and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I got a voucher for afternoon tea and was really looking forward to it as I had visited a few years ago. My husband and I were seated in a lovely position overlooking the lake. I notice from other reviews some guests were offered various...More

Thank Lorna F
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear welcome to Tripadvisor with your very first review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your Afternoon Tea, and particularly note that the concerns I addressed so positively in a previous review, have now been so efficiently contradicted by yourself. Your description of our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter bought me an afternoon tea voucher for Christmas. We were quite dissappointed and did expect more. Don't know what type of tea they were using but it tasted of nothing. The food was very nice although there was not two of everything so...More

Thank tamosaitise
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tamosaitise, I am disappointed you did not enjoy your Afternoon Tea. Our Tea is supplied by an excellent local supplier, who has been trading since Tea first came to be fashionable as an exclusive luxury commodity a few hundred years ago, we trust their...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as couple after a family wedding in Bowness. This is a good place for a chilled treat. We had a garden suite called "Serenity" - says it all. This is a Lake District away from the crowds and walking-gear shops, but handy...More

Thank stubbersfield
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear stubbersfield, thank you for your positive comments, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for inventing Sticky Toffee Pudding. I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 15 May 2017

High quality food, in a great setting. The dining room is nice and plush. Felt like a special evening.

Thank YorkshireManinblack
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear YorkshireManinblack, (one of our favourite Tripadvisor names ever). Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad to hear we helped your evening feel special. We hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay soon. Kind regards, Heather.

Reviewed 15 May 2017

We had a great Boxing Day afternoon tea for 4 . Staff were superb and attentive.although a gloomy day the veiws are still great. Will definitly return.

Thank sylviapeel
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sylviapeel, we're happy to hear we helped lighten a dark winter's day! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sharrow Bay soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 14 May 2017

Birthday lunch for 20 - everything was just perfect. Staff were discrete and professional, gluten free adaptations were standard. Couldn't fault the entire event

Thank Yvonne S
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Yvonne S, we're very pleased to hear we helped make a special day even better - thank you for your kind comments. We're always happy to help with special dietary requirements. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Lovely Country House Hotel, tucked away on the side of Ullswater. Great Restaurant and the staff cant do enough fo you.

Thank jtl652015
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear jtl652015, we cannot take credit for our beautiful view, but thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant and service. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Heather.

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Once again our visit was not disappointing , we visited with friends and decided to order from the through the ages lunch menu, we were served by attentive staff from entering sharrow bay, our lunch was lovely well presented and good value.We are trying to...More

Thank Bev W
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Bev W, our Through the Ages menu is very popular so we are pleased to hear you enjoyed it too, and plan to enjoy it again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Regency Restaurant
17 reviews
.80 miles away
1863 Bar Bistro (Restaurant)
126 reviews
1.89 miles away
The Horse and Farrier Inn
149 reviews
2.90 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Distant Horizons UK
25 reviews
.87 miles away
Hallin Fell
54 reviews
1.98 miles away
Aira Force
1,354 reviews
3.61 miles away
Askham Hall Gardens and Cafe
135 reviews
3.91 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sharrow Bay staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$50
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sharrow Bay Sharrow BAY, Howtown CA10 2NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Howtown
  • Phone Number: +44 17684 86301
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing