We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Haywain

Southampton Road, Bartley SO40 2NA, England
+44 23 8081 2243
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good31%
  • Average20%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (23 reviews)
“ham” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Southampton Road, Bartley SO40 2NA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 272 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This restaurant gives excellent value for money. Food tastes great,and is hot.There is a breakfast buffet with a large variety of items. The option of endless tea or coffee is also a good idea. English breakfast at it's best!

Thank PeterTrue
Reviewed 1 week ago

I think this was a reasonable breakfast decent enough hot breakfast choice, good value, would visit again. I don't think there is continental option. I would rate this 3.5

Thank lumpar
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If service with a smile is what you're looking for then AVOID this place. The manager who was working during our visit was rude and uninterested in helping us. I think the best part of my visit was hearing the chefs talking about the colour...More

1  Thank Ami P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped off here for breakfast on our way to play golf, what a find! Staff were extremely friendly and polite, the place was very clean and tidy, tables were cleared very quickly. The food was hot and plenty of it, if you require Quorn...More

Thank WoodyWalker55
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been to other restaurants with all you can eat breakfast normally enjoy! I suppose you pay little you get less at the haywain.

Thank Raymond F
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Raymond F, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. If you wish to discuss this further please give us a call 02380 812243.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Five of us went to the Haywain for a mid day meal. Because thee of our group ordered pizza, there was a half hour wait for that. The two of us that had the carvery were very pleased with our meals but the chips that...More

Thank Ian O
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ian O, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were EX regulars as when we used to use it regular the food just got rubbish, we found out it had changed and been re-furbed so we went along to try and it was absolutely great and the food was excellent so we will...More

Thank Robert C
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Robert C, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Haywain, Bartley. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Nice pub carvery very good for families but very busy due to its good value for money and excellent choices four different meats on the carvery. All served by cheerful staff and unlike some others we have been to, when people leave their tables are...More

Thank Michael P
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Michael P, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Haywain, Bartley. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 13 August 2017

The carvery was great value. Went for the gammon and it was lovely. Pie was also great. Can't fault it for value. Staff were friendly and very attentive which was nice. Puddings looked great but we were too full up. For the price we paid...More

Thank HVB2689
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the positive review! The Haywain

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

But that was not a difficult task,a change of management has shown an improvement ,please keep improving ,it is still a bit hit and miss but more hits than misses ,but I will be back hoping for the best

Thank Stillhungry02380
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. The Haywain

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Hart - Cadnam
481 reviews
.77 miles away
Sir John Barleycorn
422 reviews
.99 miles away
Coach and Horses
134 reviews
.41 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Paultons Park
6,089 reviews
2.30 miles away
Furzey Gardens
322 reviews
2.36 miles away
Totton Health and Leisure
8 reviews
2.49 miles away
New Forest Wildlife Park
982 reviews
3.61 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Haywain staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Southampton Road, Bartley SO40 2NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Bartley
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8081 2243
Description
At Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery we’re a friendly bunch and pride ourselves on giving the warmest of welcomes. So when you pop over to our place, whether it’s to catch up with friends over a refreshing drink or because you just can’t be bothered to cook, we hope you’ll find it like a home from home – without the washing up!

We’ve something for all the family - from freshly carved, slow cooked roasts, stonebaked pizzas made from 100% fresh dough, tasty pub classics like hand battered fish, plus a range of burgers and vegetarian dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing