We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Haywain

Southampton Road, Bartley SO40 2NA, England
+44 23 8081 2243
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good30%
  • Average20%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (25 reviews)
“custard” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Southampton Road, Bartley SO40 2NA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Went for breakfast at 1045am this morning. Queued for over 20mins as all good items had run out & Didn't appear to be getting replenished. No brown sauce left, No bacon, No sausages, No beans, eggs bring served swimming in cooking oil. No staff on...More

Thank brogs76
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. If you whish to discuss this further please give us a call 02380 812243 The Haywain.

Reviewed 1 week ago

On the positive side, the staff are pretty friendly and helpful, but the meat is dreadful. I have visited a number of times and have tried the beef, turkey and the gammon. The latter is just about acceptable but the others are always overcooked and...More

Thank Robert B
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Robert B, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. If you wish to discuss this please give us a call 02380812243 The Haywain.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes, this was a favourite place to go when she was a teenager and where her parents used to go for a meal over several years if not decades, so we thought we would try it today before taking the mother-in-law for a Christmas meal...More

1  Thank William B
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was so nice to have a help yourself breakfast at the Haywain. Very helpful staff. As much as you wanted to eat and every where very clean. It was busy at 8-30 on a Sunday morning and it was no surprise that people had...More

Thank Cat R
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Cat R, thank you so much for the positive review! Hope to see you soon The Haywain.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family cane for a lovely evening at the haywain and my youngest daughter 17 months had a carvery, all she could eat was the carrots(tasted like tinned) turkey and half the stuffing. It was all dry especially the potatoes they were awful...More

Thank Epps2013
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Epps2013, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. If you whish to discuss this further please give us a call 02380812243 The Haywain.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the steak and ale pie which has recently been revamped and is now individual in puff pastry. The pie was excellent and the best vegetable was the onions in gravy. Always find the roast potatoes a bit questionable and not entirely to my...More

Thank Carol G
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Carol G, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Haywain, Bartley!

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I do not know why I put myself through these experiences. These establishments are poor. Serving what appears to be 'this is what our freezer made early food'. Sorry not enjoyable. Ive learnt my lesson. Chef & Brewer, Havester, Toby, and Stonehouse, etc, etc one...More

Thank Wattisfield S
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Wattisfield S, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. If you whish to discuss this further please give us a call 02380812243 The haywain

Reviewed 5 October 2017

At 4.15pm on a Sunday we arrived at the carvery counter having paid for our meal.We found that three of the meats were not available and we were offered steak pie which we did not want but we felt we had no option. The vegetables...More

Thank Elizabeth010
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

we used to visit the Haywain regularly when it was a Crown Carvery, they served up cheap basic food along with inexpensive drinks. I'm guessing this is the same company rebranded with a more diverse menu. what's clear is that the carvery offering has gone...More

Thank LukeCowesTannersBrook
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Cheap and cheerful carvery, generally OK. Last Sunday the chef allowed an undercooked pork joint be taken onto the serving area. After my meat was carved and I had added my choice of vegetables, the server apologised and took my plate away as he noticed...More

Thank linkeitley
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Hart - Cadnam
504 reviews
.78 miles away
Sir John Barleycorn
437 reviews
1.00 miles away
Coach and Horses
157 reviews
.42 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Paultons Park
6,194 reviews
2.30 miles away
Furzey Gardens
328 reviews
2.37 miles away
Totton Health and Leisure
9 reviews
2.48 miles away
New Forest
1,444 reviews
3.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Haywain staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Southampton Road, Bartley SO40 2NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Bartley
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8081 2243
Description
At Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery we’re a friendly bunch and pride ourselves on giving the warmest of welcomes. So when you pop over to our place, whether it’s to catch up with friends over a refreshing drink or because you just can’t be bothered to cook, we hope you’ll find it like a home from home – without the washing up! We’ve something for all the family - from freshly carved, slow cooked roasts, stonebaked pizzas made from 100% fresh dough, tasty pub classics like hand battered fish, plus a range of burgers and vegetarian dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing