We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox and Hounds

££ - £££, British,
Hallaton Road, Tugby LE7 9WB, England
+44 116 259 8188
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“whitebait” (2 reviews)
“cheesecake” (3 reviews)
“steak” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hallaton Road, Tugby LE7 9WB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2018

We visited this pub with friends this week and were, sadly, disappointed with our visit. The food we ordered - fish and chips and pork belly was fine, but sadly some of the choices in the main menu were unavailable and in particular the dessert...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Andrew L
Reviewed 22 November 2018 via mobile

Had pan fried meatballs which were served to perfection. My partner had the salmon fish cakes for starters which were equally as good, shell on muscles, king prawns and smoked salmon in a white wine sauce, crispy pork belly with cabbage and bacon for mains...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Curiosity29794154736
Reviewed 14 November 2018

Have had many meals here. Most of them ok to good. But this last time!! Starter was barely warm - I let this pass. I do not like to complain .Ordered steak and kidney pie served with chips and a "medley of fresh vegetables." Serving...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank NorthStar15792240630
Ballyleic, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Dear Sir/Madame, Firstly, I would like to apologise for your experience in my restaurant, I’m going to look into this right now and find out exactly why this happend, please will you do me a favour and let me know ASAP the day/date and rough...More

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We had a beautifully cooked and presented meal meal last night. The two of us enjoyed three courses each and a bottle of wine for £70 which was a reasonable price considering the high quality food. We loved the seasonal menu, relaxed atmosphere and the...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Cosmopolitan583523
Ballyleic, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hello, Thank you so much for your visit and support to the fox and hounds. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and hopefully look forward to accommodating you again soon. Kindest regards Stef

Reviewed 24 September 2018

Stef and his team recently produced a beautiful and tasty outside buffet for our wedding reception. We discussed beforehand a menu tailored to our needs. This was delivered fresh, on time and just as ordered..Furthermore the team were on hand to clear . Very nice...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Blackhadder
Ballyleic, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you for your kind words, I’m glad the big day went well and the fox and hounds could be part of this. Kindest regards Stef

Reviewed 1 September 2018

When calling up to make a reservation, despite being extremely busy they pencilled a table for two in at 7.30 pm. As I arrived I took note of the traditional yet slightly modern interior and warm atmosphere, 'everyone seemed to be having a good time'....More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TomL2983
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Five of us had a meal here tonight. 4 of the meals were fine but mine was far from good. I had chosen the haddock and chips - the chips were pale, soggy and luke warm and the batter on the fish was soggy too....More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank sheliaroddins
Ballyleic, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Sir/Madame I would like to apologise about your bad experience in my restaurant, I’ve spoken with the manageress and she informs me nothing was mentioned until the plates were cleared, if we were informed before this we would have been more than happy to...More

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Sister came to stay and we ordered on the phone from the take out menu. We collected the food on time which was delicious.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Andy H
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I’ve been coming here for almost 18 months and have never had a bad meal. The food is fresh and tasty and the menu caters for all. This weeks steak night was two rumps for £16. The steak looked more like a fillet... full of...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Luke W
Reviewed 7 June 2018

I've been here a few times now and usually it's pretty good. However, last nights meal wasn't up to the pub's usual standard. I had the chicken liver pate. It was tasteless and an odd soft consistency. I make this myself and it's not difficult....More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ArtemisHunter
Ballyleic, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hello, We are sad to hear you didn’t enjoy your meal like you normally would in our establishment, I would like to my apologies to you and hope you accept. Just out of curiosity, did you report these faults to a member of staff?? Once...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Old Plough
168 reviews
5.87 miles away
Premier Inn Market Harborough Hotel
432 reviews
6.44 miles away
The Garden Hotel, Uppingham
59 reviews
6.46 miles away
The Falcon Hotel
380 reviews
6.53 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Fox Inn
190 reviews
3.10 miles away
The Old Barn Inn
119 reviews
3.25 miles away
The Crown
143 reviews
4.95 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Fox & Hounds at Tugby
13 reviews
.00 miles away
Sheepdog Experience
64 reviews
2.95 miles away
Bird on the Hand Falconry Experiences
155 reviews
5.13 miles away
Somerby Equestrian Centre
7 reviews
5.61 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fox and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hallaton Road, Tugby LE7 9WB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Tugby
  • Phone Number: +44 116 259 8188
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing