We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crown and Horns Inn

££ - £££, British,
Compton Road, East Ilsley RG20 7LH, England
+44 7919 032777
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“mash” (4 reviews)
“sunday roast” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Compton Road, East Ilsley RG20 7LH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We made a spontaneous booking late minute and got the last room at an amazing £45. It was the smallest room we've stayed in there but we'll appointed, warm, comfortable and cosy. We had a fab dinner and breakfast the next day and staff were...More

Thank Fleur C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stopped here for lunch on our way South. The food did not disappoint. Standard pub fare but well presented. All at a reasonable price. We received service with a smile. We will no doubt return

Thank GoonerGav
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night room was lovely and modern just what I needed nice and quiet and warm the only negative is the service there was me and one other table and it took 2 hours to complete 3 courses had to nearly...More

2  Thank mart36
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Ordered Roast chicken dinner after asking specifically for a GF menu.... and GF starter and GF beer (a few clues). Pub was not busy but meal arrived with a Yorkshire pudding! i again asked if it was GF and assured it was, after tucking in...More

3  Thank David M
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We went to the Crown and Horn to try something new. 3 of our party ordered soup for starter and it came out lukewarm at best, and cold at the bottom. The horseradish sauce with the salmon starter was overly vinegary. When the mains came...More

3  Thank ctbell2016
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Agreed a rate for the room and the next morning staff claimed that because the staff member was sixteen, our previous verbal agreement wasn't valid and the room would cost an extra £20 than agreed price. Unfortunately, a huge inconvenience and despite explaining our concerns...More

3  Thank KElizabethD90
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest Unfortunately your agreed rate was made by the previous manager and this was not possible to honour on this occasion. My team did explain that the rate you were given was a highly discounted rate and it was not acceptable on this occasion....More

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent food, good portion size and great service. Pleasant find off the A34. Try it for yourself.

Thank Bob F
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Bob Thanks for the review on here. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience when you recently visited. I will have great pleasure in telling all the team about your coomments Regards Dave Keogh

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Family meal here. We were disappointed with the service. Had to keep asking for things ie water, kids menu. Chose from the wine list but not able to have our first two choices. Brought out a stack of plates for starters, half of which had...More

1  Thank whizzylala
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Whizzy I am very sorry for your recent experience here. I must tell you we have a huge reshuffle of staff and management over the past month due to myself and my new team taking control of the pub. This is not an excuse...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights,upon arrival we were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff.Room was recently decorated and was really comfortable.Evening food was really nice and clearly made with fresh ingredients,throughout the stay the staff were all polite and talkative as were the local residents,we...More

Thank Mike S
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Mike Thank you for your lovely review of the Crown & horns. It was a pleasure looking after you and your guests over the weekend. I will have great pleasure in passing on your lovely comments to all my team and I look forward...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We met here for a family birthday. The staff were most attentive and we had a perfect table for us all and two large dogs. Good selection of food on the menu. Opted for the pizza and a side salad. Lovely fresh food and generous...More

Thank PSmyth1
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Psmyth Thank you for your lovely review of the Crown & horns. It was a pleasure looking after you and your guests over the weekend. I will have great pleasure in passing on your lovely comments to all my team and I look forward...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Swan
39 reviews
.01 miles away
The Harrow
50 reviews
1.60 miles away
Compton Swan
83 reviews
1.88 miles away
The Rose and Crown
49 reviews
2.79 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Goring & Streatley Golf Club
6 reviews
5.23 miles away
West Berkshire Brewery
9 reviews
5.94 miles away
Didcot Railway Centre
479 reviews
6.17 miles away
The Catherine Wheel
25 reviews
6.66 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mandyknox
29 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from DOXFORDS | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Yes we have 3 rooms on the ground floor, one of which is fully accessible.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Validated Parking, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Compton Road, East Ilsley RG20 7LH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  East Ilsley
  • Phone Number: +44 7919 032777
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing