We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mitre Kirk Michael

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Television
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
19
21
7
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
19
21
7
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade pies beef isle of man great pub beer races island veggies barmaid manx
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Heron and Brearley were donating £1 per meal to the Legion on Armistice Day so it seemed a good excuse to go out for Sunday lunch again. Its deficiently improved for veggies since my last visit. I had the vegetarian lasagne which was not a...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Manninagh
Reviewed 14 October 2018

So just to give a little back story to out fabulous meal experience today! My husband and I are currently renovating an old house in the village and at 5.00pm we decided we'd had enough and wanted to find somewhere to eat! After trawling the...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 391leanneb
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Decent beer friendly staff went with wife and daughters and sat outside. Family friendly decent pub food.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ian H
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We came here and we were not disappointed. The staff were fantastic and made us feel so welcome and at home,there was a great atmosphere too. Dogs are welcome also and they were made to special . We ordered the steak pie which was homemade...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lauraladybird
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

After finding out that this was the oldest pub on the island I was very excited to try it out. I had booked a table for 7 people 5 adults and 2 children for dinner. We all arrived together and order some drinks at the...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank dcollister1
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Mitre Kirk Michael, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi there dcollister1 Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback of The Mitre. I am very disappointed to learn of your visit as here at The Mitre, we always go to great efforts to provide the best customer experience and...More

Reviewed 13 July 2018

That was the atmosphere/impression I got when we walked in the door. However........... the meal was lovely, good service and surprisingly inexpensive.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank BrianElliott1
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Nice pub but sometimes the bar smells of the gents toilets. Ate there a couple of times over our weeks stay - breakfast was good but the other meals were average with under cooked chips. The bar has a juke box where we paid for...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Fiona B
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Mitre Kirk Michael, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi there Fiona B Thank you for taking the time to contact us and for bringing these issues to our attention. Here at The Mitre, we are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback is an invaluable part of this process. We always...More

Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We happened to pop into this pub as was very close to our camp site and walking distance which is always a bonus 😊 Staff were very friendly and chatty, good selection of drinks! The beer seemed a little warm however! We ordered a cheese...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank char100290
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Mitre Kirk Michael, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi there char100290 I'm sorry to learn of your poor meal as this is not in line with our usual high standards at The Mitre. We look to serve delicious meals each and every time, from cooking every dish to order to using the freshest...More

Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Great pub but below average for food, the burger was over cooked and maybe even reheated from previous cook the chips were the opposite and hard in the middle, I know it’s TT week but no excuse for poor quality of food whilst charging same...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank P7207CPrichardg
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Mitre Kirk Michael, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi there richard g Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Whilst I am glad to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with your meal. Here at The Mitre, we cook every dish to order,...More

Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Some really miserable staff but some nice ones to be fair. It’s plastic glasses the whole time even inside and non racing days unlike other pubs on circuitMore

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank pauloO4033IA
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Mitre Kirk Michael, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi there Paul O Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback. I am sorry you found some of our staff to be miserable as all of us always look to provide friendly & welcoming customer service. In regards to the...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Malmead
19 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Wilsonc80 |
Hi, yes we allow dogs in the bar side of the pub. Customers are also invited to eat in the bar to.
0
Votes
Malmead
19 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Wilsonc80 |
Hi, we allow dogs in the bar area of the pub 😊
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing