We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Our restaurant serves fresh British food using locally sourced ingredients, the menu changes on a monthly basis. Everything is made in house under the supervision of Executive Chef David Kirby, one of the very best chefs in the county. We boast a 100+ wine list that has been carefully selected to ensure there is something for everybody. Starting from £18 per bottle the list also shows off some of the very best vintage Champagnes, old Ports and stunning wines from around the world. It is a beautiful setting for a romantic meal for two or a family get together.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
424
154
46
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
424
154
46
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops fish and chips steak pudding bread potatoes sunday roast pie chicken stayed here lovely food booked a table the pub birthday meal lovely evening shower rooms
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

We met a couple of friends for a socially distanced lunch. We were placed suitably far enough apart but could still speak to our friends. We all ordered tapas, the venison dish was beautiful, as was the chorizo.We also ordered scallops but we were a...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 December 2020 via mobile

Creative menu that doesn’t disappoint. Decor and ambience is nicely upmarket and modern. Will visit regularly now.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Nick B, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Hi Malcmcdd, Thank-you for the 5 star review and we are delighted you enjoyed. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you as new regular diners! See you soon. Nick

Reviewed 29 October 2020

We were a little disappointed by our meal last night. The “famous” fish and chips were off the menu and so we settled for some small plates. The fish cakes and mackerel pate were very good. The smoked salmon was slight in its portion but...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
nickbU8859EI, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Hi Lyn, Thank for you visiting us and I’m sorry the fish and chips were not available. To ensure all our seafood is super fresh we don’t over order and that does mean occasionally some dishes do run out. I’m glad you liked the fish...More

Reviewed 27 October 2020

Our stay here exceeded our expectations. The food was delicious both at dinner and breakfast, in fact I'd happily make the journey from Kent again, to sample more. The room was comfy and clean, with no negatives to mention. The clearly recently renovated restaurant had...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
nickbU8859EI, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Hi Keely, I’m delighted you enjoyed it and thank you for taking the time to review! Hopefully we will see you back soon. Thanks Nick

Reviewed 26 October 2020

We were staying locally and enjoyed a takeaway meal from the Buxted Inn so much that we went back for a second one! The Lamb Tagine was simply delicious and the Mushroom and Halloumi burger went down very well too. It was so nice to...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
nickbU8859EI, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Hi Frances, Thanks for the review! I’m glad you enjoyed it and found the process easy! Regards Nick

Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

Fantastic service. Very clean. Food was delicious! The chocolate brownie in particular 😋 Also enjoyed a nice cold glass of Sauvignon.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
nickbU8859EI, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Hi Barry, Thanks for the 5 star review. Delighted you enjoyed the food and Sauv Blanc! I love the brownie too! Hopefully see you back soon! Nick

Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

Great rooms, spacey and clean. Friendly staff and adhered to all the covid rules. Food tastes lovely and you can tell they’ve making an effort. Breakfast was nice but maybe a bit pricey. Overall a decent stay.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
nickbU8859EI, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Hi, Thank-you for taking the time to review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and found the food lovely! Hopefully we will see you back soon and work a t harder to push it up to a 5 star! Regards Nick

Reviewed 15 September 2020

Booked a table to celebrate my step-son's 40th birthday. Six of us including 2 kids. Food was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. My only small issue was that, in the current Covid climate, we are not supposed to leave the table. So...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
nickbU8859EI, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Hi, Thank-you for leaving a review and I am glad you had an excellent night out. Thank-you for the feedback we will work to be that little bit more attentive, it is always a difficult balancing act between attentive and obtrusive but one we need...More

Reviewed 10 September 2020

Four of us visited for dinner yesterday evening and we had an amazing time - everything was perfect, from the welcome on arrival, to the pre-dinner service in the garden, to the fabulous table they reserved for us for our meal - and the meal...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
nickbU8859EI, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Hi, Thank-you for the 5 star review, we are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us! We look forward to welcoming you back and having the wine you were after next time! Thanks Nick

Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stayover. Nick & his team were fantastic in all aspects! 1) Dinner was fabulously tasty with plenty of choices-get the lamb tagine onto the main courses!! 2) We enjoyed some Gin cocktails on the sofa after dinner-grs 3) Our room (4) was...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
nickbU8859EI, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review! Delighted you enjoyed your stay! See you soon. Nick

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Buxted Park Hotel
1,870 reviews
.85 miles away
Horsted Place
366 reviews
3.47 miles away
East Sussex National
1,741 reviews
3.61 miles away
Buffalo Bills
2 reviews
4.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The White Hart
432 reviews
.22 miles away
Oast Farm
31 reviews
.27 miles away
The Dining Room
97 reviews
.85 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wilderness Wood
130 reviews
2.35 miles away
Alpaca Walking - with Spring Farm Alpacas
183 reviews
4.63 miles away
The Wheatsheaf - Crowborough
40 reviews
4.27 miles away
Nutley Windmill
15 reviews
4.55 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Colin B
2 September 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from robertdelaney12 | Reviewed this property |
Good Afternoon, They allow dogs in the bar area NOT in the restaurant area. Hop this helps
0
Votes
Julie B
21 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dudley M | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Sorry don`t know but very friendly manager so, if you ask, they might produce something appealing.
0
Votes
Bobbie D
17 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from clares366 | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure why you would want to know this but I believe a gentleman called Jason
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Buxted Inn
    How is The Buxted Inn rated?
    The Buxted Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4