We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverside Pub & Kitchen

North End, Farndon, Newark-on-Trent NG24 3SX, England
+44 1636 710990
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good36%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“braised beef” (7 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
“cheesecake” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Gastropub, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
DETAILS
North End, Farndon, Newark-on-Trent NG24 3SX, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 458 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Lovely location and only ten minutes from our new home. We will certainly revisit. Food took quite awhile to arrive but four different choices and all enjoyed. This time just the mains as we were moving into our new home but will look forward to...More

Thank 79farbnk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely love this place, Steak best for miles around, top notch Sunday lunches. Only negative is drinks are a over priced and no Carling lager....disappointing considering it's the most popular in the UK

Thank TerryPaulJohnson
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, much appreciated your points have been noted. I am pleased the quality of food and service are as good as ever and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, James Bull, Director

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After going for a walk by the river we thought we would call here for drink and something to eat. There was no menu to be found on the outside table that we went to sit at. It didn't matter though as we decided that...More

Thank oscarsmum10
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pleasant lunchtime meal to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Staff as always were efficient and pleasant. Food in the main was good but I felt that the fish goujon sandwich that I had was not as good as the ones that I had had on previous...More

Thank Keith M
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

I am really sorry to hear that your last visit did not meet our usual high standards. We pride ourselves on the service we deliver, and quality fresh food, but it appears on this occasion this was not delivered to standard. I have just dropped...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have visited here MANY times over the last few years, and it hasn't failed to disappoint. We popped in for a spot of lunch during the Easter holidays, and as always, had a fantastic experience. Great service, food, and drink. All at an affordable...More

Thank Tom D
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Really pleased you enjoyed yourself (on more than one occasion). I will pass on your comments to the team! Many thanks, James Bull, Director

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Super location and view of river from restaurant. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Really enjoyed the food and variety if dishes. Will visit again . Lovely atmosphere and good value

Thank Ashcroft73
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Wow, what a review! It's great to hear such positive comments and thank you for taking the time to share this with the TripAdvisor community. Many thanks, James Bull, Director

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used to come to the Riverside about 3 times a year (in rotation with many other good pubs around the area!) but were disappointed to hear that they had been taken over. Very often, a takeover means a drop in quality. However, I am...More

Thank J M
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased you enjoyed yourself. I will be discussing the points you raised with my management team so we can get a 5* review next time you are with us! Kindest regards, James...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely day never rushed you the food was amazing we had a 8yr old 2yr old and two babies and they accommodated us all nothing was too much trouble very clean and tidy, staff were very friendly definitely go again

Thank Rebecca J
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Really pleased you enjoyed yourself! Many thanks, James Bull, Director

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime, we were welcomed by very friendly , accommodating staff & the pub has a lovely atmosphere. We were very impressed with the options available on the menu , we all opted for the Fish & Chips . Some of...More

1  Thank Emma S
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your comments to the team who will be extremely happy to receive your review. Many thanks, James Bull,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for my husbands birthday with my 2 teenage kids. The started were ok apart from the calamari which was inedible. When we complained this seemed to come as no surprise to the waiter and said he would not charge for it. The main...More

Thank WhitefamilyEngland
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

I was extremely disappointed to hear that your recent visit did not deliver the experience you had hoped for. We are extremely proud of the quality and consistency of our food however in this instance it appears we were far from it, with standards which...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Farndon Boathouse
639 reviews
.03 miles away
Rose and Crown
22 reviews
.18 miles away
Knot's Bar and Restaurant
52 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kelham Hall & Country Park
217 reviews
2.18 miles away
Newark Castle
386 reviews
2.12 miles away
Southwell Racecourse
80 reviews
2.10 miles away
National Civil War Centre Newark Museum
282 reviews
2.28 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Brian D
Are you doing Christmas Lunch?
9 October 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Emma W | Reviewed this property |
Me personally? Yes, a Christmas BBQ lunch. It's the Australian way... The Riverside? I believe so, but you'd probably want to get in quick.
0
Votes
tarapaul2016
How many people can you have dining at once please?
31 August 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Lisa H | Reviewed this property |
I would give them a call as they cater for large parties at Christmas
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$25
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: North End, Farndon, Newark-on-Trent NG24 3SX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Newark-on-Trent  >  Farndon
  • Phone Number: +44 1636 710990
  • E-mail
Description
Our philosophy is fresh, simple food, made with seasonal ingredients, served in an informal, friendly way in a warm, welcoming and relaxed atmosphere.