We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Private Dining, Wine and Beer, Dog Friendly, Family style
View all details
features, about
Reviews (70)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
43
16
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
43
16
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza the pub alison funeral takeaway
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 17 November 2023

We chose The Harrow Inn for my fathers wake as Dave and Alison offered us the warmest welcome with respectful help. They were so accommodating and went over and above ensuring this occasion went just as we wished. The pub has a lovely cosy function...room just perfect but we also had run of the pub. The finger buffet food was delicious. A very nice traditional country pub, thoroughly recommendedMore

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Withers, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you very much for your review, we are very glad we could help you on this day

Reviewed 26 October 2023

This pub has a great historical significance , the owner very kind and professional keeping the Pub well maintained and clean Price is fair good atmosphere also has a big car park which I needed to park my sprinter van comes very handy . Thanks...PavlosMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Withers, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you very much for your review, we really appricate it and hope to see you soon

Reviewed 15 March 2023 via mobile

We asked the pub to provide us with a buffet and bar for around 30 people after my Dad’s funeral. Alison & Dave took the time to speak to us even though the pub was not open and explain the options. Subsequent communication was great....On the day of the wake, we arrived and everything was laid out, the buffet looked amazing with a great range of food and plenty of it. It tasted as good as it looked. Plenty of tea & coffee for everyone and the bar was reasonably priced. Overall it was a great send off for dad and everyone commented on the venue, food and staff saying how good they all were. Will be returning soon to sample the pizza’s! SimonMore

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Withers, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2023

Thank you for this review. We are glad you were happy with everything we provided and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks Alison & Dave

Reviewed 17 October 2022 via mobile

I came here a few years ago with my family before I could legally drink alcohol, we was at the restaurant and I remember just how good the food was. Recently my girlfriend and I went to this amazing pub so we could enjoy our...day, got drinks, and was amazingly cheaper than what we expected for top tier alcohol!!!! Even the staff was extremely friendly, and myself who works in hospitality was impressed with how funny they are in a professional way! Thank you Harrow Inn !!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Withers, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you very much for your review, we really appricate it and hope to see you soon

Reviewed 31 January 2022

Fantastic pizzas now available for eating in or takeaway. We had the Chilli Chicken ( pizza of the week ) and The Works. Both were absolutely delicious, thin crispy base and plentiful toppings. There is a variety of different pizza's to choose from or you...can add your own toppings. I would highly recommend visiting to try for yourself .More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Withers, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you very much for your review, we really appricate it and hope to see you soon

Reviewed 29 January 2022 via mobile

We popped into the Harrow inn on Friday evening and had a lovely evening. We was made very welcome and enjoyed a prop up at the bar. We saw some lovely Pizzas being served so decided to get some takeaways the next day. They didn’t...disappoint and were delicious. We would thoroughly recommend a visit and definitely a sample of these pizzas.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrow Inn, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2022

Thank you for this lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the pizzas. Hope to see you soon. From all the staff at The Harrow Inn

Reviewed 19 December 2021 via mobile

I recently visited this traditional country pub and sampled their pizza offering Naively I ordered the 12 inch spicy pizza all to myself, it was delicious and huge, fortunately one of the locals was so impressed by the look of it and jumped at the...chance of sharing a slice(I was struggling !!) , I had a great evening and a lovely meal in a very welcoming country pub and am looking forward to a return visitMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Withers, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you very much for your review, we really appricate it and hope to see you soon

Reviewed 18 November 2021

Held a wake here for my Dad. In the run up to the event they were very helpful, asking how we wanted the room arranged, offering different options, happy to accommodate veggie/allergy options. When we arrived after the funeral everything was spot on. Ready and...prepared on arrival but also freshly made. The food was lovely, great value and plentiful. It’s a big cut above normal pub grub so we were happy with. They also provided standard cocktail sausage and chips options for kids. This is a family run pub, we were made to feel very welcome. During the wake the daughter was managing things, making sure the urn tea was full, helping some of our elderly guests with the buffet. She was really friendly, a good host, but also very discreet until needed, so we we had privacy. I seriously recommend this pub and hope to rerun again on a happier occasion.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Withers, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you very much for your review, we really appricate it and are glad we helped you on this day

Reviewed 4 August 2021

Dave & Allison made our entire family feel so welcome and provided a wonderful buffet. Nothing was too much trouble. I can thoroughly recommend this pub for small/medium family events.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrow Inn, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Thank You. It was our pleasure. We hope to see you all soon.

Reviewed 26 September 2020

Although we are local,this was our first visit since the kitchen was re-opened post lock down All expected C Word precautions were taken and the simple but varied menu provided ample options and no doubt it will expand dependent on demand. Alison,Dave and staff provided...attentive service and as well as good food it was nice to return to one of my favourite ales -Shepherd Neame-RecommendedMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Withers, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you very much for your review, we really appricate it and hope to see you soon

Reviewed 23 February 2020

Do not rely on the website information for this establishment, Do not use the 'contact' button, as this takes you through to the Shepherd Neame brewery enquiry station, from which I still await a reply - best use the pub telephone number for enquiries.The website...'opening' and food 'serving' times are somewhat confusing. I took my sister here for her belated birthday lunch. It is a pub that I frequented 50 + years ago and it is little changed except for the conversion of the original stables(?) into, a somewhat, cold restaurant. The pub was almost deserted throughout our visit. It is dark but cosy, with interesting wall coverings of wooden planks and split wooden poles.There are a number of interesting items on the walls. The menu is for basic 'pub grub' at slightly inflated prices. It is liberally sprinkled with unnecessary capital letters and lacking capital letters where they should be. I was interested to note that the eggs with the ham were so important that they deserved a capital letter H to denote that they were hen's eggs - if they were anything other than hen's eggs then it would be appropriate to advertise their origin. My sister had the Smoked Salmon and Prawns starter which she confirmed was delicious - particularly the brown bread. For her main she had the burger with bacon and cheese, which she again confirmed as delicious. I had the Ham and 'Hens' eggs with chips. The ham was fairly bland in taste but the chips were excellent - thick cut, with an acceptable degree of 'sogginess.' I also had the mixed berry crumble with custard which was micro-waved to such a heat level that it took 20 minutes for it to cool down to an edible level. The landlord and landlady were polite, friendly and efficient.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2020

What a delightful little country Pub.. Dave & Alison were hosts to a little family funeral and they and the venue were excellent. No fruit machines, TVs or pool table .. great decor, funky outdoor smoking area and a good old fashioned pint.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Withers, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you very much for your review, we really appricate it and hope to see you soon

Reviewed 7 December 2019

I don't usually write reviews but felt the need in this case. We regularly visit various pubs to eat and had been recommended the Harrow from family who had the Sunday lunch so presume that is ok? However, we visited on a Friday evening when...the restaurant was empty? But ordered food which was 2 x battered fish and 2 x Ribs. The ribs were ok? but certainly not like the photos in this listing - no sauce, dry and luke-warm. However, the fish was inedible! In fact it was not eaten because it was grey, batter overcooked and generally 'unappetising' as we're used to pub fish that is at least white and smells good! Safe to say we had NEVER experienced fish like this - EVER! When I mentioned this to the waitress she obviously told the Landlord who came in to see under the guise of asking if we needed more drinks - but said nothing about the opened pile of grey battered fish and over-cooked batter on the side of the plate obviously uneaten. When paying I asked was he really gonna charge for the fish but conceded we had eaten only the peas and chips, and his answer was that 2 or 3 others had had it earlier and none had complained! Had he even apologised sincerely and/or made some recompense I would not be writing this but the attitude was in effect - hard luck! The main sufferer was sadly the waitress who was good but at that stage such was the sour taste in my mouth - for this I don't blame the fish as was uneaten - but the from the attitude, so regrettably I didn't feel like leaving our normal tip. My advice is to complain straight away if the food is bad rather than tactfully hinting it is 'unappetising' because if you don't, the likelihood of anything being done is as can be seen - nil! Customer relations obviously not being their strong-point! We will never eat there again and advise caution if you are considering it. If the Landlord decides to challenge this review rather than accept it as at best a 'blip', then I will have no option but to publish the damning photos of the offending meals and will regrettably post them as proof so that customers can make their own minds up when compared with those posted in the blurb above.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HarrowInnKnockholt, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2019

Hello I am sorry that you feel that we did not not responded in a manner that you would have liked. I would thought that if you were not happy you would have informed our team before you had eaten 80 % of the food....More

Reviewed 11 November 2019

Our family visited this pub recently for Sunday lunch. The pub was extremely busy but they still managed to cope with a very busy restaurant, the food was delicious and very plentiful, two very large bowls of mixed fresh vegetables and delicious roast chicken. My...granddaughter ordered the chicken and leek pie which was also lovely. Everything was homemade and of a great standard. I would highly recommend the Sunday lunch and will be going back soon.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HarrowInnKnockholt, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Thank you so much for this nice review from all the team at The Harrow Inn. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Reviewed 7 October 2019

I have been trying to post a review for some time but the TripAdvisor Website has erroneously shown The Harrow to be closed---not so, the pub has been open all the time and it is thriving. The new landlord, Dave, has done a great job...in keeping both the atmosphere of the pub the same, if not better, than the previous incumbent. It is still very much a “locals” pub, although it is also very welcoming to strangers and casual visitors. The new chef is doing a great job with a pretty much “standard” pub menu (isn’t that what you would expect in a Country Pub) but with the addition of some very good “specials” shown on the chalk board. Yet to try the food myself but the plates going out look good and the feedback from diners has been excellent. A welcome addition has been the provision of Sunday “roasts” Again they look delicious and I am pleased to say that they are well supported.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HarrowInnKnockholt, Manager at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thank you very much for your review we really appreciate it and hope you stop by again soon. Kind Regards, The Harrow Inn

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Donnington Manor Hotel
773 reviews
1.70 miles away
The Landing Hotel
4 reviews
4.27 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
201 reviews
4.95 miles away
TLK Apartments & Hotel
67 reviews
5.43 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Three Horseshoes Pub and Dining
127 reviews
.18 miles away
Rose and Crown
35 reviews
.92 miles away
Arthurs
144 reviews
.96 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Willows Bird of Prey & Wildlife Trail
179 reviews
.57 miles away
The Blacksmith's Arms Bar
5 reviews
2.35 miles away
Otford Antiques & Collectors Centre
7 reviews
2.60 miles away
The Mount Vineyard
318 reviews
2.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
louise n
20 May 2021|
Answer
Response from HarrowInnKnockholt | Property representative |
Yes we are dog friendly. Also I would like to apologies for not getting back to you sooner. I have only just been able to get back into Trip Advisor. Hope to see you soon.
0
Votes
KentPubLover
7 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from | Property representative |
I don’t reply with made up stories thanks very much, stop acting like you know us inside out based on your 20 minute visit. Also why would you need to respond to my response? Its not a blog, you said your bit so I get to... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE HARROW INN, Knockholt - Harrow Rd - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Harrow Inn

The Harrow Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5