We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windhover Restaurant

Brampton Lane, Chapel Brampton, Northampton NN6 8AA, England
+44 1604 847859
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible14%
1 week ago
“nice food but little wow factor”
24 Dec 2017
“For the price to pay, go somewhere more fancy ”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Brampton Lane, Chapel Brampton, Northampton NN6 8AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Went for a long walk and stopped off here for refreshment. Well presented Friendly staff Comfortable bar area Pleasant restaurant A little on the expensive side but otherwise pleasant enough and worth the walk out of town - note it is quicker to drive there!

Thank northants90
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a meal using an offer coupon which made it good value. Seems to be aiming at being a gastro pub. Food was imaginatively presented, but the flavour wasn't that distinctive. Maybe it is me, but the general ambience was nothing special and there are...More

1  Thank Linda B
General Manager A, Manager at The Windhover Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks Linda for the review. I am happy that you rated our service, as that is what we have the control over. Perhaps if you are looking for better value then you could chose from our fixed price lunch or dinner menu. We have a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner went here for dinner,the food was nice the service was good but when I looked at the receipt I saw we’d been charged for bread and butter. I didn’t order it, didnt get it,didn’t even know it was an option,I eat...More

Thank christinejn
General Manager A, Manager at The Windhover Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Christine, every now and again one of our team reminds us that they are human. We don’t mean to upset anyone, and the bill is always presented to our guests to check before they pay. I am sorry that this happened to you. We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely restaurant, lovely food and brilliant service! We were all impressed with our food which was received promptly and tasted lovely. Staff were lovely and helpful even on a busy Friday night.

Thank Amy D
General Manager A, Manager at The Windhover Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Amy for your kind words. Reading. Lovely reviews like this make what we do feel worth it. We do love to share reviews with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely evening catching up with friends but very disappointing food. Service was friendly enough but over half veggie options in menu were unavailablr leaving the only 2 i didn't like or wasn't able to eat so had to opt for a starter and...More

Thank kevster147
General Manager A, Manager at The Windhover Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review we are currently trying to make improvements so please bear with us and hopefully you will visit again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have been a few times 1st time was ok food good service good 2nd time awfull service rubbish food poorMore

Thank clhaddy
General Manager A, Manager at The Windhover Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

*update We now have a new manager in place and are working hard to provide our guests with a much more consistent good service, and a head chef with a real passion for delivering quality food. We hope you would consider revisiting us in the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was only after we had decided what to order when we were told they had no sirloin steak, no burgers and no chicken! The staff here are friendly but the speed of service is so slow, and the food is nice enough but definitely...More

Thank Jacob R
General Manager A, Manager at The Windhover Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to hear you had a bad time with us. We are working hard on making improvements so please bear with us and give us another chance.

Reviewed 13 January 2018

We ate here soon after Christmas. Some of us had the standard menu, some the festive one, all food was good (excellent garlic mushrooms and festive nut roast). Good disabled toilet facilities for wheelchair users and dog friendly. Not somewhere I'd go for a really...More

Thank maggie44_11
General Manager A, Manager at The Windhover Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review and pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

What a treat lunch was with a great choice of food! The pate and toast was beautifully presented with two delicious sauces, however the fish finger sandwich was in the words of my friend, “The best he had ever had” Friendly helpful staff, great venue...More

Thank Weeza27
General Manager A, Manager at The Windhover Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the FAB review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 12 January 2018

WHEN FOR LUNCH WITH FRIENDS Went for SET MENU @£11ish all pretty bland and not good value for money compared with other chained pubs

Thank andiwood
General Manager A, Manager at The Windhover Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to hear you had a disappointing visit with us, we are working hard on improvement with a new General Manger starting next week who will be looking at all areas that need improvement . Please allow him time and maybe give us another chance.

PreviousNext
12345670
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Chapel Brampton Hotels
Sedgebrook Hall
744 reviews
1.02 miles away
Hopping Hare
519 reviews
2.01 miles away
The Langham Hotel
548 reviews
2.54 miles away
The Poplars Hotel
462 reviews
2.86 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Brampton Halt
609 reviews
.86 miles away
Whitehills
250 reviews
.73 miles away
Lasaan
178 reviews
.76 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Brixworth Country Park
158 reviews
2.76 miles away
J Gallery and Coffee House
40 reviews
2.80 miles away
Harlestone Firs
9 reviews
1.86 miles away
Adventure Ways
5 reviews
2.57 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Patrick P
26 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mohan1946 | Reviewed this property |
No idea what a Gorman card is? Might Google!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Brampton Lane, Chapel Brampton, Northampton NN6 8AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Northampton  >  Chapel Brampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1604 847859
Description
The Windhover in Chapel Brampton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar. Open in Chapel Brampton, stunning rural location. If you fancy a quick bite to eat whilst on your walk through to Northampton, we serve a great lunch time menu. If you want that special occasion, then book with us and we'll help you do that in style. Open 7 days a week, serving meals until 10pm Monday to Saturday and a home cooked roast every Sunday 12pm until 9:30pm.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing