We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveller rating
498
251
110
65
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
498
251
110
65
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak haddock pudding mash potatoes ribs the pub for sunday lunch stow hare debbie cat landlord norfolk veg roast miles
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

We planned to eat somewhere else however noticed this pub whilst passing and decided to come here instead and we were glad that we did. It was a nice little pub, very cosy. The food was really good and service quick! It was nice to...have lots of gluten free options with plenty of choice. If we were ever in the area again we’d come for a meal.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

steak,dauphinoise potatoes, veg, pepper corn gravy. Garlic bread and fries. cheesecake. Environment: Convenient parking. cosy pub atmosphere. you can eat in the bar area or the restaurant. Booking is advised (it does get very busy). plenty of space around the tables in the restaurant. pleasant...atmosphere. They seemed to find it difficult to control the light levels though - either sun streaming through the blinds or not at all, the overhead lights on then off. probably more due to other diners complaining about lighting more than anything. I preferred it to be more on the dim side but it is what it is. Small menu on offer which isn’t very well presented - small close compact writing. No wine menu - you have to ask for a white wine and then the server just bombards you with a lot of questions about your ideal wine - quite awkward if you just want the price. Paying can be a faff - payed by card but the machine didn’t accept it at first so the waitress went away with our card to the bar then back again where we did it again (and it accepted), would have rather have payed at the bar to save the red face and also the brief disappearance of our bank card. Didn’t use the bathroom. Food: we’d been before and had the cheese burger for lunch - very good!!! this time we chose steak. Big mistake! Medium rare but was very chewy - more boiled than anything. The peppercorn gravy was quite spicy (ha!). It really didn’t feel like it was worth the money although I appreciate that it was a good quality beef it wasn’t prepared/cooked well at all and ruined by the accompanying sides. If we went again we would have the cheeseburger or anything other than the steak.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read some of the reviews lately I was a little dubious not visiting, but we had a fabulous evening and the food was excellent as were the staff, it was very busy and it looked like everyone was enjoying it. We had crispy chilli...beef and prawn cocktail starters both very nice and plenty of it, mains we had belly pork and beef ribs and they were delicious and again lots of it we will definitely be returning to this great restaurant, thank youMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Recommended by the Belle Vue Guest House in Denver. Popular venue, lovely fresh food, super service and next to super lovely Stow Hall Gardens. Will be returning!!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have eaten here before on a Sunday and weren't impressed then but we thought we'd give it another go for my brother's birthday. On the upside the staff were friendly. The starters were variable. The tempura mushrooms, for instance, were particularly disappointing. Two mushrooms...dipped in batter with a sauce and a bring salad. The chilli beef was good however. Despite booking in and giving them our order weeks in advance, we then had to wait nearly an hour for our main meals. Two out of nine people were happy. I'm not sure how an incinerated nut roast can then be served cold, the gravy was gloopy and lumpy and I haven't eaten vegetables that cold and boring since I was a child at my nans in the eighties. It is a very rare event for me to leave half a plate of food but felt quite sick of the textures. I did eat the very nice roasties and Yorkshires I had left after donating one to my poor husband faced with the Cajun chicken. The Cajun chicken was on another dull plate of salad, disappointing to look at as much as to eat. Meals were too salty, the battered fish looked like it had merely seen a fryer. The ribs were good and the sandwich was all eaten. We'll not be eating here again and would advise others against it.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our previous visit was not our best experience but this most recent trip was very good in every way. The young staff were excellent; both polite and efficient. We enjoyed the variety on the menu and the drinks selections were good too. It was a...chillier day and we arrived quite early and found it a little cool and my lunch did cool a little too quickly for my liking and to be fair the other in our party disagreed with me but once the restaurant filled the atmosphere soon warmed up. We will not leave it so long before we returnMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Pat P, Owner at The Hare Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is always our intention to provide an excellent experience for all our guests, sorry your previous visit was not up to scratch, but thank you for visiting again and for your positive comments. Kind...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To celebrate my sisters 60th birthday my brother and i took her to dinner with all the significant others . The choices on the menu catered for all needs and the days special .....steak and mushroom suet pudding was superb . I love food which...brings back memories of younger days and the desert of whiskey and honey bread and butter pudding nailed it completely . The service was excellent and friendly . The atmosphere is also friendly . The decor is worth a further check as some of the old metal signs are truly evocative . We fully intend to visit again . Thank you to all at the Hare Arms for a lovely evening .More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Pat P, Owner at The Hare Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, we try our very best at all times to provide a great experience for all our visitors, I will pass your comment on to all of our team. Pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Elsewhere on this site you will find reviewers described by the owner as "moaners" and "keyboard warriors" and he asks for understanding and kindness during these difficult pandemic times. Well, it works both ways and I can only relate our experience as it felt to...us. We cycled fifty miles from home to this pub where we had a dinner reservation - before cycling a further ten miles to our B&B. We wheeled our bikes round the back and asked the staff if it was ok to park them there. That settled, we went in and ordered. Shortly after our meal arrived my wife noticed our bikes had disappeared! After our initial panic we found that the owner had decided they were a "Health & Safety hazard" and had taken it upon herself to drag/carry them to another location! We had locked them together with two locks - one through the frames and another through the wheels. My wife's bike had been left to dangle by the lock from mine with a wheel off the ground. Both bikes were also laden with bags. The owner repeatedly claimed she did not know who they belonged to but that "they were a H&S hazard" and had to be moved immediately. The pub was far from crowded and we were the only customers sitting there in full cycling gear and yet she didn't feel she needed to summon the courtesy to come and ask us to move them. Her attitude seemed to be one of total indifference that these bikes were our sole means of transport for a sixty mile ride home on a bank holiday weekend. A bent derailleur could have left us stranded. As cyclists we were clearly a massive irritation to her despite being paying customers and her repetetive, stony apologies did nothing to restore our ruined evening or to convince us we should ever go there again.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Pat P, Owner at The Hare Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to send a personal message before posting this review. It is always disheartening to read reviews where people have had a poor experience with us as that is never our intention. You did indeed ask if you could leave...More

Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

Lovely meal today with my family for my 60th birthday. All the food was lovely for 13 of us. My steak was juicy.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Pat P, Owner at The Hare Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind comments,I will pass them on to all our team members. Pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 17 March 2022

Visiting this pub spoiled an otherwise lovely weekend. Stopped by for Sunday lunch and the service was atrocious. Manager did not have any oversight of what was going on the kitchen and orders were not served in a timely manner. This pub is clearly very...popular with the locals, but visiting trade is not welcome. Food was also very disappointing and not worth the money.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?2  
Pat P, Owner at The Hare Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry to read that you had a bad experience with us. I can assure you we appreciate all our customers, not just our local clientele. The majority of customers find our food, service and ambience to be of a very high quality, sorry you did...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Castle Hotel
154 reviews
1.89 miles away
Crown Lodge Hotel
126 reviews
6.91 miles away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
478 reviews
7.59 miles away
The Great Danes Country Inn
77 reviews
7.65 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Downham Tandoori Restaurant
491 reviews
1.88 miles away
Church Farm Tea Room
44 reviews
.23 miles away
Titash Indian Restaurant
316 reviews
1.96 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Church Farm
342 reviews
.23 miles away
The Chequers
74 reviews
.72 miles away
Denver Windmill
50 reviews
3.58 miles away
Watatunga Wildlife Reserve
295 reviews
3.92 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lisa99999999999
29 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mgsnorwich | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there are gluten free options
1
Vote
55kgla
20 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Pat P | Property representative |
Sorry but we wouldn't I'm afraid. The largest party we cater for at the weekends is 12.
1
Vote
tracymI1690LT
9 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Woosfluff | Reviewed this property |
They did, but they are now under new management and undergoing extension. I would think they still will. Hope that helped.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hare Arms

The Hare Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5