We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roost Cafe and Bistro

262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
+1 207-646-9898
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good20%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (45 reviews)
“cuban pork” (24 reviews)
“flan” (11 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
American, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food,beautiful location and exceptional service! Perfect place for an intimate gathering! Thank you for a wonderful time!

Thank MMalate
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you. We are glad that we could work with Julie and Dave to create an event for them that was memorable. It is great when the Bride gives you a big hug on the way out. It was our pleasure.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped by in August 2017 while strolling in Ogunquit~ Went here for a drink and a small bite. Loved sitting outside... beautiful day and place!

Thank info4you123_13
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon. Rob and Aldo

Reviewed 15 January 2018

While we were walking trough Perkin's cove, my husband and I realized we were starving. Roost was right done the road and it was great laid back brunch. If you are looking for an in and out meal then this isn't the place for you....More

Thank MO526
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello MO526, Thank you for your great review. We appreciate it very much. It was fun having a great conversation at the bar with you and your husband. Come see us again, next time you are visiting family in the northern part of York County....More

Reviewed 31 December 2017

Stopped in for a quick breakfast. Roost has its own free parking, which was why we chose it. We were seated right away, without a reservation. When we first sat, the restaurant was relatively empty, but it filled up quickly over the hour we were...More

Thank Deebee16384
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This is about our fifth or sixth time dining here, we return because the food is excellent and it's celiac friendly for my daughter. HOWEVER, I noticed some of the negative reviews and I think it depends on perspective. Do not come here if you...More

Thank TLH61293
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Hi, thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate your support and fondness for Roost. thanks for writing. Have a great Christmas, Rob and Aldo

Reviewed 15 November 2017

We ate lunch here on a Sunday afternoon a few weeks ago. We had a reservation and were seated quickly. But from that point on.....service was horrible!! It took about 20 mins for someone to even acknowledge our table. The server said there was a...More

Thank travel46081
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Hello travel46081, our sincere apologies for this experience at Roost. This is not our usual service as you pointed out that you have had otherwise a good experience with us. We hope that our "off day" will not be a reason, not to return and...More

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We went to this restaurant because my daughter is Vegan & gluten free & they advertised some options. We phoned ahead & were reassured that they could accommodate the dietary requirements. They went beyond our expectations. The chef prepared a special entree for my daughter...More

Thank SJWeston
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I have eaten wonderful meals at The Roost and at this last visit it was mediocre at best. It was also expensive when one considers the quality of the food. Maybe it was because I ate in the bar and not the restaurant. I hope...More

Thank fr0gbaby
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Good Morning frugbaby, I am disheartened by the lack on consistency on our part. There is absolutely no reason why an appetizer should be over fried and a meal goes out cold. We appreciate the feedback as this is something that never is good. We...More

Reviewed 31 October 2017

There were four of us and we all enjoyed our meats from fish to brasied Short ribs. Services was good and dinning was comfortable.

Thank dpm194901
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you dpm194901. Your comments are much appreciated and we are very glad that you and your dining guests enjoyed your experience at Roost. Thank you once again, Rob Pinkham

Reviewed 26 October 2017

Six of us ate here last October 2016 and we really enjoyed it. We made reservations for this year again and it was terrible. They were not crowded, had a small party in the back room, but we waited an hour to finally order lunch....More

Thank Ira K
PreviousNext
12345666
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 36 hotels in Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel
492 reviews
.04 miles away
Sea Rose Suites
367 reviews
.12 miles away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
397 reviews
.25 miles away
Seafarer Condominium Resort
177 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lobster Shack
876 reviews
.45 miles away
That Place
646 reviews
.16 miles away
Cove Cafe
330 reviews
.24 miles away
Jonathan's Restaurant
771 reviews
.25 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Marginal Way
4,327 reviews
.40 miles away
Ogunquit Playhouse
873 reviews
.23 miles away
Mount Agamenticus
251 reviews
.34 miles away
Perkins Cove
1,981 reviews
.43 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Matt M
Dear Mr. Pinkham: I'm not sure how you can say "all the other reviews," if you take the "poor" and "terrible" reviews equal about 20% of the reviews posted. Another 20% defined it as average. We appreciate getting good food for a good value for our money. It seems that was not apparent for us and others. I may indeed be incorrect on the seating numbers, but July Fourth weekend, one would think that :excess" space would be in demand. I do not wish to get into a pissing match here. I try to be as forthright as possible with my reviews. If a place excels, I will post it as such, even noting minor missteps. But if a place is deserving of poor marks, I will post that too. Yes, it is subjective, but I've eaten in some awesome low and high end places, and I've eaten in some horrible high end and low end places. Please accept my and the other less than wonderful reviews as constructive criticism and use it for the betterment of your establishment. I hope you succeed in that task.
18 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AldoandRob | Property representative |
Dear Sir, I get all what you say.And we do, listen to all the reviews, regardless of the # of stars given. And we do meet and take away a bit of humility when we make mistakes, but use the review to improve. I do believe... More
0
Votes
Di30
7 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Henry D | Reviewed this property |
I am an occasional visitor, so I am not able to answer. Try contacting them through their web site.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$35
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900 (Formerly Ninety Eight Provence)
    (Ledge Road)
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Ogunquit
  • Phone Number: +1 207-646-9898
  • E-mail
Description
A warm and welcoming Cafe and Bistro where our philosophy is hand-crafted, a la minute entrees and appetizers that are exquisite, yet affordable. We pride ourselves on classical cooking techniques with contemporary flavors and creations that are perfect for a bistro. Our Summer hours are as follows: Breakfast/Lunch/Brunch: 8 am - 2 pm Pub Fare: 2 pm - 9 pm Dinner: 5 pm - 9pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing