We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roost Cafe and Bistro

262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
+1 207-646-9898
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (38 reviews)
“cuban pork” (22 reviews)
“flan” (11 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
American, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 616 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Amazing food , great service and ALWAYS consistence . We had the best breakfast , corn muffins , omelette and steak and eggs... we also came back for dinner tonight . We just love this place , the Cuban pork, and of course the black...More

Thank claudia3273
Reviewed 3 days ago

My mother and I went here last week for an early dinner. I had a great meal there last year, as did she. I called ahead to check on parking because my mother is frail. I was assured that there was good parking, close to...More

Thank esther1257
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My husband and I were walking back to Ogunquit Village from Perkins Cove and saw this restaurant and decided to give it a try for lunch. We sat outside and got prompt and delightful service. We were blown away by our delicious meals! I had...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, all I can say is thank you very much.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Oh boy. My husband and I were seated at a small table for two despite several empty 4 tops. We visited past 7:00pm on a Sunday and the usually busy bar was empty. There seemed to be a delay and then confusion over who would...More

Thank KimBostonMa
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Oh Boy, is so right. we totally agree this type of service is unthinkable. Our sincere apologies. It is that we probably understaffed for this shift due to the history of Sunday evenings being typically slow this summer. Although they are 2 and 3 year...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We came on a quiet, rainy morning for breakfast. Tasty, comfortable, great service, cozy, good price; a good pic for an Ogunquit breakfast!

Thank mrs4tin
Reviewed 5 days ago

We were looking for a different place to eat breakfast when we tried Roost. It was a great choice. It had a casual feel, yet a bit upscale. The decor was tastefully done.The Eggs Benedict were delicious (they make their own English muffins). My sons...More

Thank Mary C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again, we went to the Roost and had a wonderful meal. The menu is way beyond just average, the food was delectable, and the waitress was attentive and helpful.

Thank Marylin G
Reviewed 1 week ago

Roost was an great surprise. The dining room was really pretty without being stuffy. The food was delicious and the service was very attentive. There were 3 of us and we had the salmon, the pan seared scallops, and the braised short ribs. We all...More

Thank PhylG
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We and our 2.5 yo grandson had fried green tomato with burrata , Bolognese and pappadell and Maine clams over a noodle bed with white wine, garlic, tomato sauce. Marvelous. Quiet enough for a conversation with delightful linens from France. The bread basket was wonderful.

Thank msl50birm
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped in for lunch while walking from the beach to Perkins Cove, and so very glad we did. Steak sandwich, brioche French toast, gluten free eggs Benedict, lovely goat cheese arugula salad. The food was excellent, the service attentive and well-paced, the atmosphere peaceful. Tempted...More

Thank Traveler999999999
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Traveler, thanks for the review and thank you for stopping. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us. Enjoy your vacation !! Rob

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lobster Shack
788 reviews
.45 miles away
That Place
576 reviews
.17 miles away
Cove Cafe
292 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Marginal Way
3,971 reviews
.39 miles away
Ogunquit Playhouse
804 reviews
.23 miles away
Perkins Cove
1,816 reviews
.42 miles away
Ogunquit Museum of American Art
348 reviews
.61 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Matt M
Dear Mr. Pinkham: I'm not sure how you can say "all the other reviews," if you take the "poor" and "terrible" reviews equal about 20% of the reviews posted. Another 20% defined it as average. We appreciate getting good food for a good value for our money. It seems that was not apparent for us and others. I may indeed be incorrect on the seating numbers, but July Fourth weekend, one would think that :excess" space would be in demand. I do not wish to get into a pissing match here. I try to be as forthright as possible with my reviews. If a place excels, I will post it as such, even noting minor missteps. But if a place is deserving of poor marks, I will post that too. Yes, it is subjective, but I've eaten in some awesome low and high end places, and I've eaten in some horrible high end and low end places. Please accept my and the other less than wonderful reviews as constructive criticism and use it for the betterment of your establishment. I hope you succeed in that task.
18 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AldoandRob | Property representative |
Dear Sir, I get all what you say.And we do, listen to all the reviews, regardless of the # of stars given. And we do meet and take away a bit of humility when we make mistakes, but use the review to improve. I do believe... More
0
Votes
Di30
7 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Henry D | Reviewed this property |
I am an occasional visitor, so I am not able to answer. Try contacting them through their web site.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$35
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900 (Formerly Ninety Eight Provence)
    (Ledge Road)
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Ogunquit
  • Phone Number: +1 207-646-9898
  • E-mail
Description
A warm and welcoming Cafe and Bistro where our philosophy is hand-crafted, a la minute entrees and appetizers that are exquisite, yet affordable. We pride ourselves on classical cooking techniques with contemporary flavors and creations that are perfect for a bistro. Our Summer hours are as follows: Breakfast/Lunch/Brunch: 8 am - 2 pm Pub Fare: 2 pm - 9 pm Dinner: 5 pm - 9pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing