We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lighthouse Inn & Restaurant

12 Main Street, Seal Harbor, ME 04675
+1 207-276-3958
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good36%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“lobster stew” (8 reviews)
“burger” (7 reviews)
“french toast” (2 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:00 Hours
American, Seafood
££ - £££
12 Main Street, Seal Harbor, ME 04675
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Came across the Lighthouse after driving along the Loop Road. Not many alternative options for lunch. Its certainly relaxed in almost all senses. We only visited for lunch so can't comment on it as an inn.

Thank Stanley_1986
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The seafood was well prepared, the staff friendly, and the prices a fraction of what a similar place in Bar Harbor costs. We were very pleased with our lunch there and had planned to go back for dinner. The wait staff is friendly, and there...More

Thank Ron W
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Both of us had the Chicken Salad and loved it. The Clam Chowder was loaded w/clams but was very watery. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was decorated cute w/lighthouses & a mermaid and I loved the music that was playing softly in the...More

Thank Patt13_12
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Discovered this restaurant after a sunrise photo shoot in Acadia by going out a lesser used exit that put me right on the picturesque little harbor with boats bobbing in the water in this village. Spotted the restaurant after I turned left onto Route 3...More

Thank directorfantasies
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We had great juicy burgers for dinner and french toast and a delicious veggie omelet for breakfast. The service a little slow considering there weren't a lot of people in there, but both waitresses were very attentive and friendly

Thank the5millers5
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Have been here before. However after today never again. My husband had fish chowder, potatoes not cooked through and served luke warm I had the clam chowder also served the same. My husband had a Rueben and said it was fine, I had the scallops...More

Thank Maxieblei
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Good location as it is near south which has limited eating options otherwise. good food and staff very friendly (like in most of Maine).

Thank happy_touristor
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is quaint and the wait staff very nice. However, we had to wait approx. an hour for an appetizer and longer for our lunch. It seemed as if every other table in the restaurant got food before we did. If our appetizer had...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We decided to drive to Seal Harbor to walk the Little Long Pond Trail. With no cell service we were unable to check TripAdvisor for good restaurants. The wait was extremely long for sandwiches. Two of our group had lobster rolls, two had fish sandwiches,...More

Thank Amylovesstrawberries
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We had a light lunch here. Food was good and service was friendly and competent. Prices are average for this kind of place. We had sandwiches and, even though the menu didn't list just a scoop of ice cream, they had it anyway and it...More

Thank ddrOhio
Nearby HotelsSee all Seal Harbor Hotels
Asticou Inn
259 reviews
2.11 miles away
Kimball Terrace Inn
101 reviews
2.31 miles away
The Claremont Hotel
171 reviews
3.86 miles away
Lindenwood Inn
197 reviews
4.06 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Jordan Pond House
2,389 reviews
1.70 miles away
Colonel's Restaurant and Bakery
383 reviews
2.45 miles away
Islesford Dock Restaurant
56 reviews
2.57 miles away
Otter Creek Market
22 reviews
2.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Abbey Aldrich Gardens
12 reviews
.06 miles away
Asticou Azalea Garden
231 reviews
2.08 miles away
Sea Princess Cruises
482 reviews
2.23 miles away
Islesford Historical Museum
15 reviews
2.51 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kate C
I apologize about the rude service, I am shocked by it although I understand. Dale does tend to get more praise than not. I am in the kitchen mostly and am not always aware of all that happens in the front of the house. The dinner menu isn't up yet because I am rewriting it presently, although customers will come in and ask to see the dinner menu. I don't have anything on breakfast, lunch or dinner menu that cost $25 dollars, between the three menus prices range from $2.95 to $21.95. We serve lunch from 11am to 4 pm, I never thought to post the times but I can see a need for that, thank you for the suggestion. I dont mind doing lunch at night, but I separate the lunch from dinner because all the prep involved. We are not a 5 star restaurant, I offer casual comfort dining, to accommodate the variety of guests we have. I am new owner so I am making changes as I can and I will be making many within the next year. I may or may not remove the linen table clothes at night. I do recall you coming in because you asked for lunch and it was after 6 pm, and recall commenting to the "rude" waiter that everything you ordered off the lunch menu is also on the dinner menu, I can not comment on the "bad" food because I don't recall exactly what you had, but think you had appetizers and a kids meal but am not positive, apparently your guest check is missing, as soon as it's found, I may write you personally about the food. I wish I could comment though because if you didn't like something, I'm willing to change recipes, and I certainly would have comp'd your meal if you were that dissatisfied. My goal is to basically fix what's broken, and have positive comments here, I cant make a new page as a new owner for the Lighthouse, because I haven't change the business name, my great Aunt named it so im not willing to change it (yet), so I take all negative feedback as a priority for change. Again I apologize for your horrible experience with us and wish I had known as it occurred. Take care & God bless. Kate
22 June 2015|
Response from Kate C | Property representative |
Please ignore the above, I posted in the wrong place. :) (still learning)
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$24
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
08:00 - 21:00
08:00 - 21:00
08:00 - 21:00
08:00 - 21:00
08:00 - 21:00
08:00 - 21:00
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Main Street, Seal Harbor, ME 04675
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Seal Harbor
  • Phone Number: +1 207-276-3958
  • E-mail
The Lighthouse Inn and Restaurant is under "New" management. Same family for 50+ years, third generation. We've changed our menus and will be making more changes as we progress. Thank you for visiting with us in the 2015 season.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing