We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cat and Fiddle Harvester

££ - £££, British,
Lyndhurst Road, Hinton, New Forest BH23 7DS, England
+44 1425 276050
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good19%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible30%
Travellers talk about
“family meal” (12 reviews)
“piping hot” (8 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 22:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lyndhurst Road, Hinton, New Forest BH23 7DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited here on 12th Feb. Having enjoyed Harvesters before felt this was a good option. Had to wait to be seated even though a young waitress was just stood around by the bar. She did say it wouldn’t be long. The duty manager did arrive...More

Thank Graham-Wells
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I am sorry that you did not quite have the experience with us that you were hoping for. We take pride in making sure our service is exceptional so I am disappointed to hear you felt rushed. Half term is an extremely busy time for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've not visited a Harvester for a long time and have to say it wouldn't be my first choice. However, it was the choice of my elderly parents for a weekend lunch. When we arrived and taken to our table, unfortunately, it was near the...More

Thank _racheltt8
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi _racheltt8, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Cat and Fiddle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there last night around 8.30 in the evening walked in place was empty Was asked if we had reserved table said no and and she called the waitress they spoked to each other ,with their hand on their mouth and told to follow the...More

Thank Remzi E
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am very shocked to read this review- firstly I would like to apologise that you did not feel welcome with us here at the Cat and Fiddle. We have been advising our guests to book a table online, this may have been why it...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stopped for a quick lunch , good menu clean and tidy, food good , all presented well staff well informed and very keen to help

Thank V1256CCmartin
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Cat and Fiddle. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 14 January 2018

The atmosphere wasn't great continuous Rapping for background music. We were put right at the back of the restaurant where they had sort of cordoned an area where they were storing old furniture. Salad bar was great but the steak was very chewy with very...More

Thank Jenny C
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jenny C, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 7 January 2018

A late lunch for 8 friends & family. We'd wisely booked ahead. Probably our 5th or 6th visit in the last 12 months, this was typical: very friendly and helpful service, very good food and excellent value. We really enjoy the self-service salad starter, which...More

Thank Johnfrisbee
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hi Johnfrisbee, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Cat and Fiddle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for...More

Reviewed 1 January 2018

We went to the cat and fiddle again this year as last year was so nice,the food is alwsys very good and the staff are happy and friendly. We live locally so visit regularly and have never been disappointed, the salad cart is always well...More

Thank Tony H
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi Tony H, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Cat and Fiddle. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Paid £40 for the meal. Small amount of veg, turkey basic, a few spuds, 1 sausage in blanket, poor dinner really. Starter was nice and dessert was nice. Shame the dinner let it down. Service was quick and friendly. All that said, i probably wouldnt...More

Thank Lee F
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Hi Lee F thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Santa and all the staff were just fantastic! We had an early booking so weren’t rushed seeing him. Santa and his elf were just brilliant and engaged with the kids so nicely. Our youngest was a little shy but came out of her shell with...More

Thank Nicki G
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Nicki G, thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team. We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. We look forward to your next visit and Santa. Can't wait to see you all again next year!!

Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Just had s great Breakfast. Food was vreat. Service, all staff friendly and Attentive. Speciall Thanks to Jackie, Father Christmas Grotto was great. Roaring Log Fire.

Thank Debbie M
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Debbie M, thank you for sharing your positive experience! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

PreviousNext
12345668
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hinton Hotels
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe
839 reviews
1.09 miles away
Lord Bute Hotel
420 reviews
1.15 miles away
The White House - Christchurch
65 reviews
1.17 miles away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
384 reviews
1.22 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Walkford Diner
8 reviews
.83 miles away
Arowana
18 reviews
.76 miles away
The Amberwood
219 reviews
.58 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum
402 reviews
1.77 miles away
Mudeford Quay
1,033 reviews
2.52 miles away
Highcliffe Beach
256 reviews
1.58 miles away
FONFA Museum
6 reviews
2.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Cat and Fiddle Harvester staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lyndhurst Road, Hinton, New Forest BH23 7DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest  >  Hinton
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 276050
Description
At The Cat and Fiddle Harvester in Christchurch food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Christchurch, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Walkford, New Milton and Somerford, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing