We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kirby House

2 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1353
+1 616-846-3299
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good35%
  • Average21%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (27 reviews)
“nachos” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1353
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017

I have eaten here a few times, Steak is amazing, and the pizza is fantastic. There's 3 separate bars, with the many options it has it appeals to everyone. The main floor is awesome and has live music Friday and Saturdays and a friendly atmosphere,...More

Thank baymont-inn-gh
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for frequenting The Kirby House. We really appreciate the nice review!

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Stopped in to get take-out as we were starving. We knew nothing about this place - but what a wonderful surprise! Elise was a welcoming greeter into a beautiful refurbished hotel, now an awesome eatery. 2 stories plus a nightclub downstairs (the Darkroom which looks...More

Thank takatrp
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for the wonderful rating and review! We're glad to see you enjoyed every part of the restaurant!

Reviewed 22 September 2017

It's part of the Gilmore group, which sort of covers everything. There's a reason they successfully operate a bunch of restaurants; great food, great service, and they're clean...the Kirby is no exception & we had a great meal. We frequently enjoy the Kirby, and ate...More

1  Thank VanRipple
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

VanRipple, Thank you for coming in (and back) to enjoy the variety we offer at our restaurant. We're pleased to see you enjoyed everything!

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at bar to drink craft ales while pizza was made to go Weird pizza no tomato on base and tasted like faux or false cheese . Very quiet in there apart from lovely barmaid , serving great beer . Return on Friday night was...More

Thank paxton7
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

paxton7, We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your pizza. We do serve several pizzas with alternative sauces but could always offer the recipe chosen with tomato sauce and another cheese option if you would like.

Reviewed 20 September 2017

The food was not worth raving about but that's because I am not a fan of thin crust pizza. The Capo was a good mixture of toppings but the crust was chewy and burnt. We did split the Caesar Salad and that was amazing!!

Thank D9638PZdeniseb
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for the great rating and we appreciate you trying us out!

Reviewed 18 September 2017

After sampling the Grill Room the previous night which was good enough to bring us back to the Kirby, we were not disappointed. A more casual place oriented around the bar but with equally good food, beers and staff!

Thank 927paulsimpson
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Paul, Thank you for coming back for a round two. We're glad you enjoyed both experiences! If you ever feel like a great wood fired pizza try K2 upstairs.

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Great! Great! The Atmosphere was more than I Expected We were Greeted And they had are Table all set With ( pre_scheduling or taking our Reservation ) that I did a couple days before. Was the Key. A little crowded by our window seat But...More

Thank Vincent R
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Vincent, Thank you for joining us and happy anniversary. We're glad that we could be a part of your memorable experience!

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

My family is in town on vacation and chose this place for late lunch/early dinner. The restaurant was still using the lunch menu. The restaurant was clean and we were seated promptly. Our waiter was nice. However we will not return. The amount of food...More

Thank shugarshar
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank for sharing your experience. We're sorry to hear the Parmesean Chicken wasn't what you expected. It should have been served with a white wine butter sauce, artichoke hearts, cherry tomato and asparagus as sides. You are correct, our dinner salads are extra and range...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We lived in the area for 25 years and this was our favorite restaurant (any of the three at this location were great). We now spend summers in the area and were excited to be able to enjoy this spot again but after three different...More

Thank ventigirl
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to see you haven't enjoyed the food during your visits. If there are any other specifics you'd like to share with our GM, Tim please email him at triley@gilmorec.com

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We just visited my just-out-of college daughter who recently moved to Spring Lake so she knows very little about the restaurants. The menu was limited and terrible. My husband ordered chicken Parmesan - no bread, no salad, no potato... Small piece of chicken with a...More

Thank Lisa B
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Lisa, We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food during your visit. The chicken should have also come with artichoke and tomato in the white wine butter sauce. The drunken noodles ($14) and chicken breast ($4) is a new addition and has been a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Toasted Pickle
142 reviews
.10 miles away
Odd Side Ales
155 reviews
.07 miles away
The Baker's Wife
69 reviews
.10 miles away
Elegance of the Seasons
42 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Grand Haven State Park
418 reviews
.95 miles away
The Musical Fountain
371 reviews
.07 miles away
Tri-Cities Historical Museum
71 reviews
.18 miles away
Lighthouse Connector Park
32 reviews
.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
VMcKelvey
12 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SHARON C | Reviewed this property |
Casual attire is okay, just not bathing suits. :). What you would wear to a sports bar would be acceptable.
1
Vote
Erin B
29 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from RoxyRedwing | Reviewed this property |
I think it's first come first serve, but it's worth a phone call to double check.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$30
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1353
  • Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Ottawa County  >  Grand Haven
  • Phone Number: +1 616-846-3299
Description
The Kirby House is the place to meet and eat in Grand Haven. A community favorite for excellent food, live entertainment, and simple relaxation with friends and family. Formerly a historic hotel of note, The Kirby House retains its old world charm, while providing all the pleasantries of new world fare and hospitality. Within walking distance of the shores of Lake Michigan, The Kirby House transcends the level of simple restaurant, and is the destination in Grand Haven for all things fun. The primarily American influenced menu is incredibly diverse and is exemplary in its attention to culinary detail and passion. Good times and laughter are located within.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing