We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown at Wychbold

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Worcester Road, Wychbold WR9 7PF, England
+44 1527 861413
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came for a meal with my boyfriend on a Saturday night. We were greeted straight away and sat down with no issue, even though it was pretty busy. However, we found that the waitress was very abrupt and didn't attempt to make any form of conversation. We both didn't enjoy our meals as we found they were both very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura R
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Room looked ok at first but smelt very strongly of cigarettes. Shower screen and bath was very dirty, Skirting board was thick of dust as was the all the edges of the carpet all around the room and lots of dead bugs lying over the floor. Room was facing the main road so very noisy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank J A
thecrown-wychbold, Manager at The Crown at Wychbold, responded to this review

Good Morning J A Thank you for your review and I apologise about the room. I have addressed this with our housekeeping team, and I have been assured that something like this will not happen again. We are aware that rooms facing the main road can be noisy, and occasionally the motorway has overnight closures that we do not get... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Great food, waitress (Emma) was amazing and really made us feel at home. She is a credit to the restaurant and is the reason why we will be returning

Helpful?
Thank Ben S
thecrown-wychbold, Manager at The Crown at Wychbold, responded to this review

Dear Ben S, Thank you for your review. I have passed this review to Emma and she is overjoyed with the positive comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us, and myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Phil More 

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

Boxing Day Lunchtime 2016.Bit apprehensive about booking for the Xmas period as last year came on xmas day.The meal then was OK but the service was poor - had to wait 45 minutes for a drink! This year was superb.All of the food was delicious and lots of it. Served hot.Good quality Turkey,the gammon hock was extra yummy. The managers,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
thecrown-wychbold, Manager at The Crown at Wychbold, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Peter H, Thank you so much for your outstanding review. I'm overjoyed that we managed to make your visit a lot happier then previously. I have passed your review on to Dan, who is over the moon at receiving such a review. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Phil More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

This place is just fantastic. Great Staff, Great environment (located in a fantastic location with lots to see and do. Plus accommodation is available ( which i would highly recommend). Parking is not a problem. The only problem i had; was selecting something from the extensive food Menu.

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
thecrown-wychbold, Manager at The Crown at Wychbold, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Paul S, Thank you for your review. I'm so glad to read that you had an enjoyable time at the crown, and you managed to find something tasty to eat. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to the crown soon. Kind Regards More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

Visited for Sunday Lunch. Minted Lamb Shoulder.Huge portion of meat which was tender and succulent. Masses of vegetables, well cooked and served hot. No room for dessert. Good value as a two for one. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank bangerward
thecrown-wychbold, Manager at The Crown at Wychbold, responded to this review

Dear Bangerward, Thanks for a great review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your Minted Lamb Shoulder. It is one of our most popular dishes on a Sunday. Hopefully next time you visit us, you will be able to save room for our infamous chocolate meltdown sharer :) Kind Regards Phil More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

We visited this establishment again for a pre New Year Meal. The high standards are still maintained. Although very busy he service was excellent. Waiters go out of their way to make your visit a success. First Class Meals at very friendly price. We will never consider going anywhere else. Well done have a very prosperous 2017.

Helpful?
Thank Birminghambilluk47
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016

We went for Christmas Day Dinner. At £39.99 per head I didn't expect luxury food, but I did expect it to be of a decent standard, and edible. The pate was tasteless plastic, the toasted baguette only toasted one side, the salmon tart was inedible slop, turkey bland, tough and tasteless, stuffing ball solid - had to scoop out a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DENISE D
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016

Three families for a christmas meal on 22nd Dec 2016. Absolutely awful. Food dreadful, service dreadful. Would never wish my worst enemy dine here. Categorically say this was the worst meal I have ever had the displeasure to consume. Beef = cardboard, carrots, peas, sprouts = all mush. Yes we should have complained, no idea why we didn't, guess we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PEverest
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Went here with some family, some of which had pre ordered the festive menu, when we asked about it, they had no recollection of the pre order and said some of the things couldn't be done because they are brought in frozen and none had been defrosted. This disappointed the younger children and is appalling that it isn't made freshly.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leah1602

Travellers who viewed The Crown at Wychbold also viewed

Droitwich, Worcestershire
Droitwich, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Droitwich, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Crown at Wychbold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Worcester Road, Wychbold WR9 7PF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Wychbold
  • Phone Number: +44 1527 861413
Description
The Crown in Wychbold occupies a convenient location just a minute from the M5 motorway, and as such offers good links to Birmingham, Worcester and Droitwich. This traditional pub was rebuilt as a hotel in 1912 and offers hotel accommodation in the shape of fifteen good sized rooms and the levels of comfort and service you would expect from a Marston's Inn. Our homely accommodation and facilities make us a great choice for business or leisure guests who are visiting the Midlands, and at the Crown we pride ourselves on our hospitality and attention to our guests' comfort. Our fantastic pub food menu offers a great choice of pub classics and a constantly changing selection of specials, with the all-day offer of two main meals for the price of one. Room prices include our fantastic free breakfast.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crown at Wychbold and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Truro, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Wychbold staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?