We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mort's Delicatessen

££ - £££
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
525 Winnetka Ave N, Golden Valley, MN 55427-4759
+1 763-544-2900
07:00 - 19:30
Open now
See all hours
Mon - Fri 07:00 - 19:30
Sat - Sun 08:00 - 19:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 106: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

What happened to Mort's? After not having been there in about 8 months, I returned and ordered stroganoff. Previously, it was creamy and filled with big chunks of beef and large mushrooms. Tonight it arrived looking like soup...with thin small mushroom slices and only a few small cubes of beef. I found exactly six little pieces in the whole dish... More 

Thank BethleeaMPLS
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your experience. While we are always updating our dishes to ensure they stay fresh, and appeal to both new and regular customers, we are sorry if you felt your meal was still lacking. We do wish the assistance of your server would have rectified the situation, but regret... More 

Minneapolis, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So, planned to meet a friend for dinner at a favorite neighborhood spot... only to discover there are new owners (going on a year-and-a-half long "new"), who have made some changes to the menu, and will be making more to come... Issues we had were: 1) the CHALKBOARD beer menu (not too difficult to change... remember how they were fresh... More 

Thank Jennifer H
New Hope, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at 11:30 and I noticed a green pepper smashed on the sidewalk in front of the restaurant and alot of cigarette butts; disgusting and walked into the vestibule that clearly had not been cleaned since the last snowfall as there was snow salt still on the floor and the area under the "magazines" was filthy, no one was... More 

Thank susanerickson52
Management response:

We understand that your experience was a frustrating one and for that we sincerely apologize. We can assure you that we continuously maintain only the highest safety and cleanliness standards in order to ensure our customers are provided with the perfect dining experience they deserve and that also applies to our kitchen. We thank you for your feedback and hope... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

My mother and niece stopped here Saturday March 18th to pick up Matza ball soup and sandwiches. They got home and the matza balls were so hard they couldn't even cut with a knife. They also burned the grilled cheese sandwich. My mother called to talk to manager named Dan. She nicely explained what happened and wondered if she get... More 

Thank Barbara H
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Food is okay - service is terrible. Ordered and then waited, waited and waited. Not sure if our server forgot to communicate our order to the kitchen or not. The server did not seem to care if we were there or not and there were only 3 tables in the restaurant. Gave them a second try the other night -... More 

Thank KevenWOpinion
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We went to eat here last night,with high hopes of delicious Matzo Ball soup and a sandwich . We placed our order with a flippant server. He couldn't get away from our table fast enough. After 20 mins of waiting for our soup I stopped our waiter and ask if our soup would be served ahead of our sandwiches/his reply... More 

1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Hello, I am so sorry for the visit that you had experienced. We strive for nothing short of excellent customer service, so an experience as such is unacceptable. I thank you for bringing this review to my attention as I will address your concern with staff members immediately, ensuring that this is an isolated issue and not one that is... More 

Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Mort`s Deli was recommended to me by a very nice person who works in that area where Mort`s is and eats there often.. I felt its worth a try..My first time there was a very bad experience, I swore never I would never try them again...Here I am with my friend eating at Mort`s...This time everything went well, the waitress... More 

Thank Aaron G
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017

This place was recommended by a friend so we stopped in to pick up a couple box lunches---first of all there was no one there but the order was filled incorrectly which we did not discover till we got home which is 10 miles away. The "homemade kettle" chips are horrible---no flavor except grease. I had the half pastrami sandwich... More 

Thank MichiganderMom
Management response:

Hello, While we are happy that you were recommended by a friend to give Mort’s Deli a try, we are very saddened to learn that you were not impressed with your Box Lunch. If possible, would you please contact us at info@morts-deli.com with the date and time of your visit, as I would like to further look into the situation... More 

Victoria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

This is a great sandwich place! Be prepared to leave full or with leftovers as the portions are healthy and that is much appreciated. Personal favorite is the pulled chicken sandwich or pastrami. Morts is the place!

Thank ganoke50
Level Contributor
128 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Mort's has dropped to an average place to eat. The extra attention in the kitchen doesn't seem to be there. There is nothing wrong with the food, it's just average. Service can sometimes be hit or miss. Asked for some Parmesan cheese for tomato bisque soup, got Parmesan sauce used on the hot brown sandwiches. Couldn't figure that out.

Thank Don C

Travellers who viewed Mort's Delicatessen also viewed

Golden Valley, MN

Been to Mort's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
American, Delicatessen, Soups
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Open Hours
08:00 - 19:30
07:00 - 19:30
07:00 - 19:30
07:00 - 19:30
07:00 - 19:30
07:00 - 19:30
08:00 - 19:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 525 Winnetka Ave N, Golden Valley, MN 55427-4759
  • Location: United States  >  Minnesota (MN)  >  Golden Valley
  • Phone Number: +1 763-544-2900

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mort's Delicatessen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?