We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grouse Inn

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Grouse Inn Longshaw, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S11 7TZ, England
+44 1433 630423
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Sat - Sun 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 148: English reviews
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hot food is taking 40 minutes we were told so we ordered sandwiches, only ten minutes, and coffee. 45 minutes later the coffee arrived, one in a chipped mug, five minutes later the sandwiches arrived. The mature cheddar in a crusty white bread turned out to be beef burger quality cheese, going that translucent colour cheese that has been left... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carlcarl2014
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I can only apologise for your bad service and disappointing food etc, it was completely unacceptable hence our apologies at the time. We were extremely busy but that is no excuse so apologies again. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We'd been for a gentle evening stroll along Froggatt Edge after the crowds had left and ended up at the Grouse. We sat outside till it got cool then moved in to a table by the open fire. Starters were the baked Brie and a very good Greek salad, then on to steak pie and ham & eggs for mains.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gibberis
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Serves food all day on a Sunday which suits my partner and I. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The small fish and chips was not that small with beautiful crispy batter.

Helpful?
Thank Maria T
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou! More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had been walking for about 8 miles and had asked directions to this pub as we had a dog with us and wanted to make sure we could get in. What a delight! Very rustic, but homely and welcoming. The wine was delicious and very welcome! I had the fish pie and my husband had the ploughmans. I think... More 

Helpful?
Thank NikkiFJ
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou! Sorry we ran out of Stilton, I trust you were given an alternative. I will pass on the information about the fish pie! More 

Midlands, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect evening after walking White Edge and Froggat Edge.. food wholesome with large portions.. even after walking 9 miles!! The special veg curry had a real depth of flavour. We have eaten at other pubs in the area over the last month and this was our favourite. Good choice of ales to keep other half happy. They kindly allowed us... More 

Helpful?
Thank cardyncoke
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Grouse is wonderfully located at a strategically important point for the many walkers/hikers who enjoy the Peak District National Park. It has wonderful views and whilst the large car park can interfere with them it is a minor inconvenience. 6 "elderly walkers" were very much in need of sustenance and a rest after some 6/7 miles (or was it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chescaislovely
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. Our chefs prefer our 'pen and paper' method but it is a question we will raise again. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited the Grouse Inn many times and travel just under one hour to get there just for the steak pie but unfortunately on this visit we were extremely disappointed. The pie was just as good as always to be fair but the "meaty " gravy it has always been served with has been replaced with a tasteless plate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Apologies if you felt your meal was not up to our usual standard. We haven't changed any of our ingredients or method. I wish you had said something at the time so we could have rectified it. Please don't be put off coming in the future as I'm sure it is just a one off. Thankyou More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We have been a number of times as a mid point stop in a day of walking. Just as well it's well located or we would not return! Why does the chap behind the bar make everything so unfriendly and too much trouble?! It's the same every time. Food was of a generous portion and served hot. In fact the... More 

Helpful?
Thank S H
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

A large group of us family and friends, adults and children visited the pub mid walk this week and what a rude awakening it was! Everything was too much trouble we were made to feel very unwelcome. One of the staff was very rude to one of the children, we were all gobsmacked at how rude she was. A member... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I can only apologise if you and your children were spoken to so rudely. This is not a regular occurrence and something which we do not condone. It will be addressed. Thankyou More 

Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2017

It would be dishonest not to mention that some of the reviews weren't too flattering, so we were a bit apprehensive. However, the location is excellent, the views exceptional and when we arrived the customers were sat outside, enjoying the sunshine as the daylight drew to a close. You can't book a table, which is something worth bearing in mind... More 

Helpful?
Thank DezzerG
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. More 

Travellers who viewed The Grouse Inn also viewed

 
Stoney Middleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Grouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Grouse Inn Longshaw, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S11 7TZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Froggatt
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 630423

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Grouse Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Grouse Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?