We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Three Tuns

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 High Street, Great Bedwyn, Marlborough SN8 3NU, England
+44 1672 870280
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 18:00
Tue - Sat 10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 191: English reviews
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had an excellent Lunch with friends at The Three Tuns, good value and friendly service.. It is also in a very useful position for the Kennet and Avon Canal.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent a week in this Wiltshire village and loved this pub. Good wine selection, well kept ales and top notch meals. The staff were attentive and really made our evening meals an unforgettable experience. A proper pub vibe with restaurant quality food. Our dog was made very welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Barry5446
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Terrible service yet again. Bar staff are slow, unobservant, ignorant and seem to be begrudging and reluctant to serve anyone who doesn't look like they'd tip. Local real ale excessively over priced. Total shame the cross keys had closed... if nothing else it was cheap! Don't bother!

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good english menu. The met is cooked fabulously well. The beer is good. The staff are attentive. Well recommended

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this review

Thank you Robert B! Very best, James More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were meeting friends for a Sunday lunch and needed a mid point. This was the spot. Made reservations and out table was waiting when we arrived. Their parking lot only held about 4 cars so one had to fins on-street parking, We were fortunate in that we found a spot about 100 yards away - our friends parked further... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeachlandCalculator
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this review

Dear PeachlandCalculator, Thank you for trying us out and for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your food and the overall experience here. We are delighted to confirm too that we've just received planning permission to demolish the old barn in the car park, so hopefully next time you come there will be more parking facilities for you.... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the nicest small village pubs I have come across by accident in recent years. Staff and fellow customers ver friendly and good choice of ales and cider and no big screen TV or 'one arm bandit gaming machines'. No wonder it is in the 'Good Pub Guide'.

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much Peter. Your feedback means a lot to us. Best wishes, Ashley and James More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to find a new in near the canal where family could meet up and found the Three Tuns. A little wary as the website didn't display prices but booked based on recommendations. An unusual menu with food freshly cooked and a lovely angle of portion sizes and prices. Eating environment was lovely . Overall a good experience but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this review

Dear Dawn Thank you for your feedback. The gratuity is optional and is stated as such on the menu. We're sorry if there was any confusion over that. Best wishes, and glad you enjoyed your time here. Ashley Wilsey More 

Reading
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here on bank holiday Monday as we came on it by chance on the way to the Beam Engines. We were lucky enough to get the only table left. Service was excellent and although we all only had a starter they were lovely. My salad included rhubarb which was a surprisingly good addition. Would certainly go here again... More 

Helpful?
Thank CappoReading
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this review

Hi CappoReading, So glad you enjoyed your time here with us and the food. Hope the rest of your Bank Holiday weekend was fun! Best wishes, Ashley Wilsey More 

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Nice pub and sunny (when it's out) garden. Dog friendly. Have a boules playing area. Quite a few tables inside and around bar area. Very small parking area but can usually park in village somewhere. Staff friendly and helpful. We have visited a few times now for lunch, coffee and drinks and all have been good. Veggie options.

Helpful?
Thank Norfy88
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our pub, see you again soon hopefully. Kind regards Ashley Wilsey More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Pub advertises it closes at 6pm on a Sunday, but when we arrived shortly before 5pm staff were reluctant to get ice for drinks and they had already shutdown the hot drinks machine. After a few sips of our chosen drinks last orders were called at 5pm. Very misleading and dissapointment in. Avoid.

Helpful?
3 Thank Rev42
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this review

Dear Rev42, Last orders here are called half an hour before closure as is standard practice in many pubs. And regardless of that our staff offered to accommodate the later arrival in your party with a drink. Kind regards, Ashley Wilsey More 

Travellers who viewed The Three Tuns also viewed

 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Collingbourne Ducis, Marlborough
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Three Tuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 High Street, Great Bedwyn, Marlborough SN8 3NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Marlborough  >  Great Bedwyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1672 870280
Description
Listed in The Guardian as one of the Top "Ten Best Pubs for a Summer Lunch" (August 2015) and by Wiltshire Life Magazine as one of the "Six Best Sunday Roasts" in the county (April 2015) A warm welcome awaits at The Three Tuns in Great Bedwyn, which is just 10 minutes from Marlborough through the Savernake Forest. We offer superb homemade food, a carefully selected wine list, delicious coffees and a fine selection of real ales. Come in and enjoy a traditional English pub atmosphere and a lovely beer garden.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Three Tuns and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Perpignan, France
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Three Tuns staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?