We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
+44 1342 712431
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

728 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 723: English reviews
surrey, uk
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We had a lovely table for x6 of us set a nice distance away from other tables so didnt feel squashed in. Very attentive service, kept checking if we were happy and needed more drinks. The food arrived in good time and was excellent.I would highly recomend the Wagu burger I had it was delicious. Dessert was also fab I... More 

Helpful?
Thank northfieldSurrey_Uk
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Cheery atmosphere and good staff but let down by the somewhat industrial food. The menu is wide, but the dishes, which are plentiful, don't hit the excellent button. They are okay, perfectly edible, but not memorable. Probably the result of being a bit too big and busy. For the prices charged ( £14 + ) for a main and starter/dessert... More 

Helpful?
Thank peterpaddockhurst
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hi Peterpaddockhurst Thank you for taking the time to review the Dukes Head I have shared your comments with the Team We look forward to seeing you soon Kind Regards Andy More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Table booked for 7.15 , finally got our starters an hour later - had to witness an argument with the ( what looked like ) the head waiter with the chef . Making the orders stack up ! Whole meal took 3 hours . Normally the food and service is good .... might be a while before we return .

Helpful?
Thank Carol C
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hi Carol C I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your recent visit to the Dukes Head on this occasion I would like to discuss this visit with you in more detail Please can you give me a call on 01342712431 Kind Regards Andy More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As intimated by other reviewers, this place is frustratingly hit and miss. We arrived for our allotted time but tables were not cleared and some remained uncleared next to us an hour later. The food was ok, but the steak was poor quality for a high price. The service was poor but part due to staff not concentrating on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Herbie_and_Elaine
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hi Herbie and Elaine Thank you for taking the time to review the Dukes Head I have shared your comments with the Kitchen and front of house teams We hope you will give us another chance so we can show you how good we can be Kind Regards Andy More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked an early evening table for Easter Sunday. Looking forward to the Sunday Roast, we were disappointed to find they had 'sold out'. The menu we were given didn't have a lot of choice, but when the dinner eventually arrived it was very nice. However the service was appalling, very, very slow and we waited ages to order... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hi Heather J I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your recent visit to the Dukes Head Please can you give me a call on 01342 712431 to discuss this visit in more detail Kind Regards Luca More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Three of us went for lunch there yesterday. Being Easter Sunday it was very busy. However from our arrival the staff were friendly and attentive. The food we had included a homemade mushroom and potato soup. steak and ale pie, and fish and chips. Then desserts including a crumble that was a real one and not just fruit with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ade38A
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hi Ade38A Thank you for taking the time to review our Pub I am really pleased you and your party enjoyed your recent visit I have to agree the crumble is one of my favourites as well and the steak and ale pie is a proper pie We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future Kind... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's been several years since we last tried The Dukes Head on a bank holiday and they still haven't managed to get it right. It looks lovely and the food was really good. Just a shame we had to wait 15 minutes to order drinks and wait over an hour for our food to arrive - only to see our... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonBowring
Management response:

Hi JonBowring Thank you for taking the time to review The Dukes Head I'm sorry you didn't have a great experience last time you visited. If you would like to discuss your visit in more details please contact one of our manager directly on 01342712431 or email us you details at enquiry@thedukesheadcrawley.co.uk as we would like to discuss this in... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love this brand from B&M but it's always hit and miss. Some time the food is amazing along with the service but always reluctant recommend friends to accompany us as on a few occasions the service has been disgraceful and food rubbish. It's seem to be who's working or management for the day . Love the concept

Helpful?
1 Thank J B
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hi J B Thank You for taking the time to review the Dukes Head after your last visit I am hoping that you can give me a call on 01342712431 to discuss your comments in more detail Kind Regards Andy More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely Sunday lunch here - menu was very good and not limited to traditional Sunday lunch menu, there were good options for our four year old as well.

Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hi Catherine T Thank you for taking the time to review the Dukes Head I'm really pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Andy More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited frequently in the past but will no longer be returning. Arrogant and patronising waiter. Limited menu. Snapshot of the evening below - many more things I could report but will keep it simple. When the desert menu came it was on the standard menu that contained a considerable amount of starters and main courses that we had not been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hi Victoria Thank you for taking the time to review The Dukes Head after your recent visit I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy it on this occasion Having spoken with you on the evening I wanted you to know that I have shared your comments with our team and we are looking at the training and support that we give... More 

Travellers who viewed The Dukes Head also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$24 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley Down
  • Phone Number: +44 1342 712431
Description
near Gatwick airport

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Dukes Head and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Trowbridge, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Dukes Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?