We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
+44 1342 712431
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (26 reviews)
“sunday roast” (22 reviews)
“pork” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 818 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited on a Sunday evening. No roasts left, normal menu had items not available as well. Dessert menu also missing items. Even the cheeseboard was unavailable. What kind of restaurant runs out of cheese. Very disappointed.

Thank suecakebread
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We fly out of gatwick every year and stay in a hotel close to here so always go in for dinner. We both enjoyed our food, it was lovely and well presented. Steaks cooked to perfection! Staff very friendly and as always we enjoyed our...More

Thank Margaret C
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Margaret C, thank you so much for your high rating! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day! We look forward to see you next time you are back in this area. Luca and the Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Another disappointing experience here. Service was slow because they were understaffed in the restaurant and kitchen, which was a shame because the staff were trying their best, but they simply needed more waiting staff to help them. 20 minutes for drinks to arrive at the...More

Thank dk1981felbridge
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dk1981felbridge, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 01342712431 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in soon the off-cnace with no booking. We were directed t the bar and told same food, same menu - just order at the bar. This was fully acceptable and we were warmly welcomed and served efficiently and friendly. I had roast port...More

Thank brianbG2201PJ
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Brianbg2201pj, thank you so much for your high rating! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day! Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Duke's Head recently for dinner. The restaurant wasn't full as we ate quite early, but it still had a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The menu was varied, and food good so we enjoyed our meal. Our only issue...More

Thank Julie N
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Julie N, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the dukes head last night had a great meal and nice time with my family would definitely recommend.

Thank Poppymillie1
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Poppymillie1, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited as a group of 13 on a Saturday afternoon for a family get together. We were asked to place our orders in advance of our visit, to help the kitchen out, which was fair enough. Food was good, service attentive and friendly. Will be...More

Thank MandL-OM
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Mandl-om, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Dukes Head, Crawley Down! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at the Copthorne and walked down to the pub, very busy and we booked online, great menu and service, seemed expensive but they had specials that were good value, nice decor and seemed to be used buy locals Enjoyed our food and would reconend

Thank steveh482016
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Steveh482016, thank you so much for the positive review! Kind Regards Luca

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited the Dukes Head with my mother (retired), my wife and our nineteen year old niece. I will not be visiting again. To summarise: the food was Brewers-Fayre quality at top-dollar prices (meaning there wasn’t anything wrong with the food per se, it was...More

Thank davidjbrooks
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Davidjbrooks, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited twice, each time the evening before our flights. We were enticed by the inviting look of the Dukes Head, and on entering, found it to be very nice and welcoming inside. Visit 1. Our first visit was a midweek evening, we had...More

Thank Jean_T_12960
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jean, thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. Kind Regards Luca

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dal Nonno Restaurant and Pizzeria
259 reviews
.86 miles away
Olivers Coffee and Wine
106 reviews
.69 miles away
The Curious Pig in the Parlour
845 reviews
.87 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Tulleys Farm
1,005 reviews
2.23 miles away
British Wildlife Centre
398 reviews
3.18 miles away
Southern Pursuits
343 reviews
2.03 miles away
Kingscote Estate and Vineyard
22 reviews
3.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SarahOver
24 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Abel B | Property representative |
Hi Sarah Over Sorry for the delay in responding We have an allergy guide which covers our menu dishes and identifies which allergens are in each dish Hope this helps Please ask your waiter or waitress on the evening for... More
0
Votes
Paul S
26 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Paul S | Reviewed this property |
There are No "Treatments! Its a "Restaurant"
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley Down
  • Phone Number: +44 1342 712431
  • E-mail
Description
Our traditional pub building has been stylishly refurbished to make it the perfect place to find a cosy corner and take time out whilst enjoying some of our Chefs seasonal dishes and our great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Inside you will find roaring log fires, comfy armchairs to while away the afternoon and an open bar with a unique dining room. So, whether it be a special celebration, a mid week treat, or an impromptu dinner we are happy to help you arrange the perfect occasion so give us a call or pop in and speak to one of the team. We look forward to seeing you soon... near Gatwick airport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing