We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

Is this your business?
Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
+44 1342 712431
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (29 reviews)
“sunday roast” (27 reviews)
“pork belly” (11 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 240 of 912 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

The food was really nice and cooked perfectly but the waiter who served us was rude refused to move the two tables together so we could eat together even though they had taken a booking for us so they knew what amount of people would...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello Guest Thank you for your feed back I did explain that due to the large number of bookings we had that evening that I could not do a Single table for sixteen guests as I didn't have the space I spoke with several members...More

Reviewed 24 February 2017

This is our third visit to Dukes Head and I have mixed views. The restaurant was not busy yet we were sat right next to other diners and not even a table or so away from them although all empty. We ordered our food and...More

Thank InspectorNoccs
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi InspectorNoccs Thank you for taking the time to review The Dukes Head I'm really sorry you didn't have a great evening I will share your comments with the Kitchen team and also with the team front of house Please can you give me a...More

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Visited the Dukes Head with my partner, had a quick drink in the bar area before sitting in the restaurant, as it was early we didn't need to book. Although the restaurant was quite empty the member of staff tried to sit us within touching...More

Thank Dazzer C
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi Dazzer C Thank you for your review of The Dukes Head I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us Please can you give me a call on 01342 712431 as I would like to talk about your visit with you...More

Reviewed 20 February 2017

My husband and I visited with some old friends we had arranged to meet up with while we were revisiting the area we used to live in several years ago. The menu is not run of the mill and there are some interesting choices however...More

Thank SAS62-26
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hi SAS62-26 Thank you for taking the time to review the Dukes Head I'm pleased you all enjoyed your evening when visiting the area recently and we hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Andy

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Great choice on the menu - something for everyone. Good service, nice surroundings and good food. Would recommend

Thank SW46_72
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hi SW46_72 thank you for leaving a review of the Dukes Head Saturday and Sunday Brunch are proving really popular with our guests We hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Andy

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Have been to the dukes head at least a dozen times since we moved to Crawley down 2.5years ago. Whenever we want guaranteed good food & service this is the place we go. Never had a bad meal & the staff have always been so...More

Thank Drew2910
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hi Drew2910 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Its great to see that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Andy

Reviewed 18 February 2017

My husband booked us in here for Valentines as he knows I love it here, it certainly didn't disappoint as some places do on special occasions, there was a fantastic 3 course set menu, with a glass of prosecco to start, the service was fantastic...More

Thank Barbara S
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Hi Barbara S Thank you for taking the time to review The Dukes Head I'm so pleased you and your Husband had such a great time and enjoyed the set menu on valentines night I will use your comments in out team briefing and have...More

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing Sunday lunch, and the waiter was very accommodating to us changing options around. Was slightly cold in the restaurant, and everywhere else was full but the waiter moved a heater over to us and we soon warmed up. Great service and the desserts were...More

Thank Clair C
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Hi Clair C I'm really pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to the Dukes Head on Sunday I would agree the desserts are to die for my favourite is the crumble and custard but the Crème Brulee on the specials with the crispy top is...More

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Great food, wide menu choices, deserts are lovely! The wow factor is there with presentation, lovely atmosphere, perfect for lunch or a romantic dinner. Prices are reasonable for the quality of ingredients used here. A great place to treat your loved ones at any time...More

Thank CrawleyAce
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This was my first visit to the Dukes Head and it wont be my last! A lovely roast, great portion size with good quality meat and fresh veg. The service was great even though it was a busy day.More

Thank Claire B
Abel B, Guest Relations Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Hi Claire B Thank you for taking the time to review the Dukes Head I'm really pleased you enjoyed your first visit to the pub and had such a great time I agree the Sunday roast is a lovely roast and the Yorkshire puddings are...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Crawley Down Hotels
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1,545 reviews
.38 miles away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
1,778 reviews
1.39 miles away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
190 reviews
1.79 miles away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1,292 reviews
2.23 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Dal Nonno Restaurant and Pizzeria
288 reviews
.86 miles away
Olivers Coffee and Wine
139 reviews
.70 miles away
The Farmyard Kitchen
32 reviews
.88 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Tulleys Farm
1,354 reviews
2.28 miles away
British Wildlife Centre
438 reviews
3.19 miles away
Pots and Pithoi Ltd
7 reviews
2.26 miles away
Southern Pursuits
367 reviews
2.28 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SarahOver
24 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Claire V | Property representative |
Hi Sarah Over Sorry for the delay in responding We have an allergy guide which covers our menu dishes and identifies which allergens are in each dish Hope this helps Please ask your waiter or waitress on the evening for... More
0
Votes
Paul S
26 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Paul S | Reviewed this property |
There are No "Treatments! Its a "Restaurant"
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley Down
  • Phone Number: +44 1342 712431
  • E-mail
Description
Our traditional pub building has been stylishly refurbished to make it the perfect place to find a cosy corner and take time out whilst enjoying some of our Chefs seasonal dishes and our great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Inside you will find roaring log fires, comfy armchairs to while away the afternoon and an open bar with a unique dining room. So, whether it be a special celebration, a mid week treat, or an impromptu dinner we are happy to help you arrange the perfect occasion so give us a call or pop in and speak to one of the team. We look forward to seeing you soon... near Gatwick airport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;