We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach and Horses

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
+44 1923 774457
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been going here on some Mondays and Tuesdays recently as my Son has County Cricket at the local school. Food is quite nice (the steak and ale pie was especially good) There has been a few stock issues on Mondays with both beer and food being in short supply. The staff are very pleasant. I understand it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrispike2016
The Coach H, General Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good Evening Chris, Thank you very much for your pleasant response, I am delighted to here that you frequent our business and enjoy your time with us. I would like to apologise regarding our recent stock shortages and please be assured we are doing our utmost at this time to make sure stock issues are a thing of the past.... More 

Rickmansworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

Apparently the lease has now been sold - but the manager remaining. This is good news. For some years it has had less attention that the other pubs in the group - but we will be watching with interest. Beer well kept and staff good.

Helpful?
Thank Khrischard
The Coach H, General Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am glad that you are as confident about the take over as we are and that you are pleased by our general standards and staffing. Many Thanks, Luke Rogers The Coach and Horses More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

A lovely lunch, well presented and good sized portions. The staff were attententive and helpful. A very pleasant experience

Helpful?
Thank oonaghvanhemuss
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Will try to avoid in future. Second poor experience in a row. Slow service with meals coming out in 10-15 minute intervals. Asked whether the peas with the scampi were supposed to be icy cold and got an 'I dunno, I'll ask in the kitchen' response. Said peas then took 15 minutes to arrive, by that time the scampi and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
The Coach H, General Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good afternoon, I am terribly sorry about your recent experience and i remember your party vividly, Please be assured that i am having a meeting with the kitchen and these issues will be resolved immediately. Many Thanks More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

It was rubbish! They only had one chef and two barmaids so everything was slow. They should have told us from the start but instead we waited over an hour for our food. When it finally came it was cold and burnt. There were no managers to sort it out. People were walking out before their food turned up. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
The Coach H, General Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am embarrassed and terribly sorry about your recent experience, Can you please contact me on info@thecoachandhorses.co.uk to discuss this matter further. Many Thanks More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

This is a great looking pub and if only thy ran it well it could be really good, we went in several weeks ago and although they only had one beer on the food was excellent went back again last week and were told they could only serve Fish and Chips ?? So the kitchen must have been working so... More 

Helpful?
Thank J0hn_C961
The Coach H, General Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am so sorry to hear about your bad experience, i am holding a meeting in the near future with the kitchen to understand stock levels and why we ran out of sooo much for no reason. Apologies again, Many Thanks More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately our meal was so poor that we had to refuse to pay. The staff did their very best to keep us happy but waiting for meals for two hours left our whole group feeling that the restaurant had ruined a night out

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
The Coach H, General Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Tom, I am so so so sorry to hear about your experience, i have spoken to the kitchen to understand why the waits you had, had happened. It is imperative to me that food waits do not exceed 20 minutes and in your case myself and my team have let you down and for that i am deeply... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

I have been going here for a few years and it is starting to go down hill all that is except the prices which seem to be going up rapidly. Went here in the last week for a meal with my wife and was informed after ordering our drinks that 3 of the main courses were off not leaving much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stupid999
The Coach H, General Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you very much for your review and be assured that i have taken note of all the points made and i am embarrassed by the experience you have had. We are in a transition of ownership currently and i will be speaking to the new owners, re.price point and portion size as i completely agree with your... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

We had Sunday lunch as a group of 15 for my parents 40th wedding anniversary today. The main courses were all very good. Some of the desserts were disappointing, the brownie in particular which I had. It was burnt at the bottom and much more like a cake. The staff were welcoming and although there was a little delay in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank julesd149
The Coach H, General Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good Evening, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope that you all enjoyed such a momentous day. I have taken on board your feedback and have had a meeting with our chef to discuss the brownie mix and food wait times. Thank you for kind comments however and i look forward to seeing... More 

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

We used to come here when we lived in Croxley Green, and now, visiting it for the first time since 1961, we were not disappointed! Such a lovely rustic place dating from the 18th century, the ambient atmosphere is warm, the is food is great and the staff very pleasant! Nostalgia reigns!

Helpful?
Thank JuneBug1939
The Coach H, General Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you for your glowing review, it makes me smile that you had such a wonderful time at our pub and that we have withheld tradition and kept the rustic and nostalgic look. Many Thanks, Luke Rogers More 

Travellers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Croxley Green
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 774457
Description
The Coach and Horses on The Green has always been associated with travel and has been providing the families of Croxley Green with journeys since 1744. Whether enjoying lunch on the decking or a beer on the patio, dinner in the restaurant or a quiet pint in front of the fire, The Coach has something for everyone. The larger of the two pubs on the famous Green, it has been lovingly restored to former glories and enjoys an enormous outdoor seating play area for families where you can bask in the warmth of the friendly service. The food served is simple, tasty, hearty and nostalgic with an emphasis on sharing and there is a wonderful range of cask ales, continental beers and a fabulous wine list too.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Coach and Horses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?