We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
About
The Coach and Horses on The Green has always been associated with travel and has been providing the families of Croxley Green with journeys since 1744. Whether enjoying lunch on the decking or a beer on the patio, dinner in the restaurant or a quiet pint in front of the fire, The Coach has something for everyone. The larger of the two pubs on the famous Green, it has been lovingly restored to former glories and enjoys an enormous outdoor seating play area for families where you can bask in the warmth of the friendly service. The food served is simple, tasty, hearty and nostalgic with an emphasis on sharing and there is a wonderful range of cask ales, continental beers and a fabulous wine list
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
133
83
42
47
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
133
83
42
47
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast lamb shank chicken burger brownie the pub bouncy castle lovely service lovely lunch car park my mum horses michael croxley gravy yesterday rickmansworth
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 28 September 2020

I really love this pub. The staff are always so friendly when we go in and are quick to cater to our needs. Definitely one of the better pubs in the area! The ONLY thing my friends and I are really missing is heaters and...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2020

Hi there Allie, Thank you so much for your feedback, it is very much appreciated. Firstly, I am so pleased you love our pub as much as we do :) We now have umbrellas outside both front and back ,and heaters from tomorrow, so hope...More

Reviewed 26 September 2020

Very disorganised. Poor service. No one managing staff. Had to ask the waiter to write down our order. We were ignored from the minute we were sat our table.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Hi there, I am so disappointed to hear this. I would be very grateful if you could contact me on info@thecoachandhorses.co.uk so that I can get more details of your visit, and to hopefully rectify the situation for you. Best Wishes, Louisa

Reviewed 3 September 2020

We have been regulars at The Coach for many years, and we always receive a warm welcome from Louisa and her excellent team. We noticed that they had re-introduced Sunday roasts after lockdown, and so last Sunday we decided to treat ourselves. There were four...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Hi there John, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It is always a pleasure to host you and Sue, and your Mother in law :) Hope to see you all soon, Best Wishes, Louisa

Reviewed 31 August 2020

Really terrible experience. it was busy but service was shockingly slow and chicken salad I ordered wwas totally pathetic. I have had better chicken salad at roadside cafes and Macdonalds at half the price. Children had fish fingers and beans even that too was dry....More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Hi there Tara, I am so sorry to read this. Please can you contact me at info@thecoachandhorses.co.uk so I can rectify it for you? Best Wishes, Louisa

Reviewed 29 August 2020 via mobile

We visited here for a Sunday Roast. There was plenty of choice on the menu (even if you didn’t fancy a roast). I did go for the Lamb Shank and have to say that it was one of the nicest Shanks that I’ve had! My...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Hi there, thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am so pleased your enjoyed your visit with us, for both the service and the food :) Note taken about the gravy ;) Hope to see you here again soon, Best Wishes, Louisa

Reviewed 23 August 2020

We had a lovely & relaxed lunch celebrating a birthday. Staff were very attentive with a nice gesture for the birthday girls..

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Hi there Kathy, I am so pleased you enjoyed your Birthday celebrations with us :) Hope to see you here again soon, Best Wishes, Louisa

Reviewed 22 August 2020

The Coach & Horses was the setting for welcome-to-the-neighbourhood drinks for friends of ours who recently moved to Croxley. A group of 10, we visited one Saturday night, pre-Covid, and nestled into a nook by one of the windows. It was a cold February night...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2020

Dear Steven, Thank you for your review 7 months after visiting us?! I don't know why you felt the need after such a long time, however all feedback is welcomed. Thank you too for acknowledging we have a very warm and cosy pub, with welcoming...More

Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

Great lunch in the pub garden as part of a cycle ride. Good food - we had the duck bao bun and chicken burger which were very good. Well set up for social distancing.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Thank you very much for your five star review, it is very much appreciated! Hope to see you here again soon, Best Wishes, Louisa

Reviewed 12 July 2020

I visited the lovely rustic pub with a group of friends on Saturday. We go to this gorgeous place a lot and really enjoy it here. There was a group of 10 of us in a area where it has enough space to distance which...More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Hi there, You visited us on our first weekend of opening after being forced to be closed for over 3 months. With no support from the Govt. and limited and late guidance on re-opening, the fact we have done so so successfully and safely I...More

Reviewed 6 March 2020

We all had a nice dinner in here! Great staff,no hassle, great atmosphere. Will be back! Plenty of room and not rushed out the door.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Thank you very much :) Best Wishes, Louisa

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) hotel
1,468 reviews
1.35 miles away
The Grove Hotel
3,383 reviews
2.03 miles away
Best Western White House Hotel
614 reviews
2.34 miles away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2,189 reviews
2.54 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Kitchen Croxley
107 reviews
.70 miles away
Amici's Cafe Ristorante
101 reviews
.99 miles away
Perch & Co.
61 reviews
.57 miles away
Crazy Goat Co - Croxley Green
58 reviews
.35 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Watersmeet Theatre
35 reviews
.97 miles away
Golf at The Grove
141 reviews
1.95 miles away
St Mary the Virgin
6 reviews
1.11 miles away
Sequoia at The Grove
125 reviews
2.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Coach and Horses staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Coach and Horses
    How is The Coach and Horses rated?
    The Coach and Horses is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 3.5
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 4