The Royal Oak Knife & Cork Restaurant

The Royal Oak Knife & Cork Restaurant

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1472 828583+ Add website
Hours
Sun
11:00 - 22:30
Mon
11:00 - 22:30
Tue
11:00 - 23:00
Wed
11:00 - 23:00
Thu
11:00 - 23:00
Fri
11:00 - 0:00
Sat
11:00 - 0:00
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
features
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service

Reviews

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles836 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Royal Oak Knife & Cork Restaurant offers a dining experience that has received a mixed reception from its patrons. While its atmosphere is frequently lauded for being inviting and contemporary, guests have found the value proposition to be inconsistent; some celebrate the reasonable prices and generous servings, yet others feel the portions are lacking and not worth the cost. The food quality also divides opinions—compliments are given to savory entrees and fresh fish and chips, but there are grievances about undercooked meals and cost concerns. Service-wise, the feedback varies, with reports of both commendable and lackluster attentiveness from the staff.
Food
Mixed
Atmosphere
Relaxed
Service
Varied
Value
Inconsistent

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles836 reviews
Excellent
597
Very good
103
Average
71
Poor
36
Terrible
31
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Grant
Alford10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
4 of us booked for Wednesday evening as we always do on a Wednesday. We had our usual fish & chips the offer wasn’t on this week for obvious reasons (there was already the eat out to help out scheme on) but we paid pretty much the same amount as we normally do. The fish was incredible as it is every week we love coming here the atmosphere is always great, the food is always fantastic, the staff are so polite & it’s great to see they have all things in place to keep it safe and clean for all the customers during these strange times. We have booked again for the the last week in August for a Monday & Wednesday so we can give some other dishes a try using the scheme. Great work Royal Oak we look forward to seeing you next week
Written 6 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Moira G
Grimsby107 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
We have not visited this restaurant for a few months due to family commitments. To say we were disappointed is an under statement! The food was up to it’s usual excellent standard but the service was very poor!! We were shown to our table & given menus & our drinks order was taken , my partner was brought a half of beer & probably should have specified a pint but he wasn’t asked. Another couple arrived & were seated & given drinks & menus. Their order was taken a few minutes later & we were still sitting there. We were not asked if we wanted a starter etc. I don’t mind waiting for my food order as it indicates it is cooked fresh to order. The food didn’t disappoint but at no point were we asked if everything was OK until we had finished eating. I had to catch the waiter’s eye to replenish our drinks. We were asked if we wanted to see the dessert menu & then it was 4 minutes arriving another 5 minutes & no dessert order taken. I don’t like to be rushed but on this occasion we were under pressure for time & service was negligent to say the least & not due to lack of staff! Buck your ideas up folks or you are definitely going to lose business!!!
Written 8 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

lovebug11
30 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 couples
We have been here once before and wanted a special meal as we have been unable to celebrate a few occasions due to covid . Total bill was a lot and onion rings need improving or price decrease for what they are HOWEVER amazing chef, steak burger was incredible and hanging kebabs cooked to perfection. Hope this chef doesn't leave. Overall good service although one young dark haired waitress seemed a bit lacking in guest service . Gentleman who I guess is manager orivodes excellent service but others need to be led by this.
Written 12 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Peter D
Grimsby16 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
My wife and I have eaten here on a number of occasions but not without issues. The restaurant is clean and tidy but somewhat cluttered and if you are looking for a quiet night forget it as it is very noisy.If diners come in and stand around the bar before eating then it becomes very crowded and you feel penned in and access to the toilets are obstructed.The service was fair but there did not seem to be enough staff to cope with the number of people seated. As for the meal I had a starter of garlic mushrooms and at over £5 for two bits of toasted bread and the smallest portion of mushrooms you can imagine was a pure rip off.and I pointed out to the server that they were served on a badly chipped plate clearly not checked prior to leaving the kitchen of course I got the traditional sorry for that. For the main course my wife had fish and chips which she enjoyed but the fish was soon cold as it was served on a ice cold plate. I had the sirloin steak medium rare cooked ok but cold due in part to the cold plate.We did not have any sweet and just asked for the bill.As I paid I mentioned this to the guy who looked to be in charge and he told me that the plate warmer was broke.Ok things do break but why oh why just assume s diner will accept hot food on a cold plate. It will not be my first choice of dining venues in the future unless they improve somewhat.
Written 8 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Darren S
Holton Le Clay912 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
Booked in here for a family meal hoping to use the Eat out to Help Out Government Scheme. Under the Scheme you get upto £10 off per Meal Monday, Tues and Wednesday, Now on a Wednesday in this place They have a Special offer on Haddock and Chips on at £7.95 but today that's up to full price at £12.95 because they won't give you a Special Offer while the £10 scheme is on. OK we thought poor excuse but we then Questioned the fact that the VAT rate has been reduced on Food and Soft drinks to 5% and asked why the food prices hadn't reflected on this. There answer is We are not passing these onto the customer. My point here is what's the point in trying to support your local pub and there not passing the savings on. In summing up its cost us the same amount today as it would of cost us last week before this scheme started and last week we had 2 bottles of wine, and 3 gin and tonics.. This place will be making hey now while the sun shines but it will come bk and bite them on the rare.... As for our group we won't be attending again.. Be warned you are getting conned.... Ohhh and a word of warning here a slice of bread is charged at £1.50 to go on top of the £12.95 fish n chip price that should on the menu was charged at £7.95..
Written 5 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dan S
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 family
We arrived on Saturday bank holiday weekend. Its fair to say we will not be going back. I already contacted the team via Facebook and explained we had family members in wheelchairs to which we would need a large amount of space however everything was too much trouble. When we arrived the gazebos for outdoor eating where covering the disabled parking area, to which we was unsure were we was able to park safely with a large 9 seater van. We asked one of the waiters if we could move the large picnic table further in the gazebo due to a freezing cold draft, although we was told this was not possible and the tables MUST stay where they are. Although the team then proceeded to move tables for other guests... The tuna was overly salted to which my mum couldn't finish her food. My dad also tried it and described it was drinking salt water. The pie also had thyme springs left in the pie to which another family member almost choked. This was all mentioned to the chef but he kindly reminded us that thyme is a seasoning. Which we absolutely understand.. however it was a twig consistency and im sure they're supposed to get binned before serving. The food was poor hardly worth travelling for and our hot chocolates and coffee were luke warm. Totally gutting experience. Will not be returning!
Written 3 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Damian C
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 friends
Looking forward to our visit to the Royal Oak on Saturday night after reading some great reviews. Our booking was 7.30 until 9.30. Lovely setting and a vibrant atmosphere lent itself to our expectations. Was told there would be a small wait as they were busy which was fine. After an initial drink we ordered 2 bottles of wine, a white and a rose which arrived in ice buckets with stands. After filling our glasses we noticed there was no ice only water in the buckets. We asked a waitress to redress this and was informed they had run out. With it being an extremely warm day our wine quickly rose in temperature, which at £17 a bottle, wasn't great. It was 8.15 when our order was taken, by which time we were all quite hungry, with another reminder there was a wait on food. With this in mind we asked for some bread to keep us going.....what arrived was 6 sesame seaded burger buns stacked on a plate. We were then each given a white Pyrex style dinner plate, 4 of which were chipped. My wife then looked at the server and asked if there was any other more appropriate bread to dip in the oil and balsamic vinegar supplied to which the waitress said "No" and then walked off. Our starters arrived about 15 minutes later. I will only comment on mine in details but the rest were a similar standard. Mine was Calamari which arrived in an earthenware bowl. The batter had crumbled off most of the calamari and fallen to the base of the ramekin situated in the bowl. The calamari was well cooked but the batter wasn't as crisp as it should be and had an unexpected heaviness leaving the dish a bit lacklustre. After another 20 minutes my main course arrived. I had ordered the Belly pork with Scallops. The charring of the scallops and caramelised carrots was immediately visible. The carrots were significantly over cooked and the caramelised underside was fully burnt. The Scallops were button mushroom sized and only caramelised on one side, which again, was over done. Once more what was a highly anticipated dish was left wanting. After our plates were cleared it became apparent the staff were reluctant to show us the dessert menu As the time was now 9.50. We asked for it anyway and promptly made our selection. 3 lots of Caramel pudding were ordered with an addition of ice cream on one. When they arrived the pudding was rich and flavoursome however the custard was tepid at best with cold spots indicating it had been flash heated.....as for the additional ice cream, it was conspicuous by its absence. We paid the almost £300 bill and left without a backward glance. Unfortunately this was my first and last experience of the Royal Oak and while all the indicators should have led to a very pleasant experience the execution was poor and the attention to detail was sorely unapparent. As with any review i can only comment on my experience and not that of the others in my party, but suffice it to say we were all of a similar opinion.
Written 13 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan C
Thank you for your feedback, I believe you have already emailed us this feedback, also stating you didn’t want to put it all over social media, we do greatly appreciate any feedback as we always want to be better and to do this we need to know when we’re not getting it right so we can address issues we may have so thank you for your feedback. When our Chef came to the table personally to speak to you to see if there was anything you specifically you wanted as he wants all of our customers to leave happy he wasn’t aware of all of these issues. We do thank you and we do hope your experience hasn’t put you off and you will try us again so you can experience the Royal Oak as you have many times before. Thank you again and be safe
Written 15 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mervin D
Waltham19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 none
My wife and I decided to have a take away meal from the Royal Oak, having had a look at the plenty of choice menu. We decided on the homemade steak and ale pie, its so easy just to phone up, place your order and pay. Then you are given a time slot as close to your choice, collection was a 5 min wait, and presented in food containers to keep it hot, along with their delicious stay hot containers. we have to say, the food is absolutely top notch, we thoroughly enjoyed it. Finally Max, Richard and staff are most helpful, and a huge thank you to them. these are strange times, and The Royal Oak is certainly a breath of fresh air. Keep up the great work Royal Oak, and see you again soon.
Written 26 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

SHunter90
Grimsby38 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 couples
Lovely service on arrival, greeted by friendly and happy staff. Was really busy, but nothing was too much of an ask. We were seated promptly and drinks order taken straight away. The food choice is fantastic. I had my main from the specials menu and my wife chose the vegan hanger, which she really enjoyed. We finished with a desert hanger which was also delicious. Would highly recommend!
Written 11 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KEzF
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
went for sunday lunch, sadly found the prices had escalated since pre lockdown, when arrived was luke warm, veg hard, and my coffee was cold after it took 30 mins to even get someones attention to order!! we decided to move inside the gazebo as was a chill to find that in there and in the garden behind there was no social distancing .............. and packed with very large groups 30+ of loud people who weren't interesting how close they were to others... sadly used this pub in the lockdown and was very disappointed that an upmarket food establishment had turned into a very loud gang pub...
Written 3 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Philip B
Northwood43 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 couples
We booked to stay in this hotel, having never visited the Lincolnshire Wolds before. We arrived feeling tired and much in need of a good rest and some long walks in the countryside after a very challenging year due to COVID. The receptionist was very helpful on arrival. Our room, The Grainsby, was modern and airy and we felt at home. I enjoyed a delicious cappuccino on the terrace whilst my wife enjoyed a hot chocolate made with freshly steamed milk. We quickly found a walking trail from the grounds of the hotel and went to explore the area around Waltham Windmill. When we returned, we enjoyed a very pleasant meal in the restaurant. I could see why the restaurant was highly rated as our food was delicious and good value. The tables were well spaced to faciltate social distancing but it was still very pleasant to have a chat with the couple at the next table. There was a very friendly atmosphere in the hotel. When we got back to the room, we relaxed sitting in the comfortable chairs, which were ideal for getting lost in a book. The bathroom was top notch, with a deep, long bath and a powerful shower. On our second night, we decided to eat out in a local pub that was apparently highly rated but the food and dining experience did not compare with the Hall Farm restaurant. The only thing that let down the hotel was the lack of cappuccino or hot chocolate at breakfast. The staff serving afternoon tea and dinner were able to operate the cappuccino machine but none of the staff serving breakfast were able to do so. Instead, I was served a catering-style filter coffee and my wife had a watery instant chocolate. Apart from that, the breakfast was tasty with plenty of choices available. Above all, this felt like home from home and I was really impressed by all of the staff who made our stay a pleasure. We left feeling refreshed and relaxed.
Written 4 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Carol F
Grimsby2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 family
Visited bank holiday Saturday evening, with my daughter and son in law . It was my daughters birthday . We all wanted the chicken kebab , we were told they only had one ,this was at seven thirty! So one had the chicken one lamb and I had the vegetable. Very poor consisted of two mushrooms, red onion and red pepper most of which was raw . Ordered a pitta bread which was so hard was inedible. The chips ? had never been near a fryer tasted like they had been defrosted and warmed up in a microwave. Pure white and again inedible, no one came to ask it the meal was ok , so when the girl came to take the plates away I explained I was not happy she just said sorry guys ( really I’m seventy four and certainly not a guy ) We didn’t bother with dessert as we couldn’t face anything else . I certainly won’t be returning and will never recommend your establishment. May I suggest you teach someone how to fry chips and a little staff training on how to address customers not call everyone GUYS !!
Written 29 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Judi1982
Grimsby23 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 family
The Royal Oak is one of our favourite places to eat however lately it doesn’t seem to be quite as good as pre Covid. We have tried the home order and eaten in twice, the latest Sunday the 9th May. The food is still nice but not quite as good or tasty as pre Covid, I am not sure if there has been a change of chef. I have had pie which was on the burnt side, smaller portions and just not as tasty. We have also found it quite disorganised when we have eaten in, food wrong, waiting for cutlery etc nothing major just gripes. We will book and try again when we are allowed to sit in as when on form it’s an excellent place to eat.
Written 10 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tracey R
Lincolnshire12 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 family
Table booked for a family birthday meal, table was not ready for almost 30 mins past our booked time then was told long wait on food so couldn’t take the order. Then advised there was no wait so food order taken. Waited an hour for this to arrive chased couple of times - very late. Good food when it finally arrived but service was poor
Written 10 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

F8450WUstevec
Grimsby7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
I have been several times now and its nice to have somewhere local that serves good food in nice surroundings. I really do think they've got this right. My only gripe is the cost of the side orders and sauces which I think at £3.50 is a little excessive.
Written 7 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 838
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ROYAL OAK KNIFE & CORK RESTAURANT, Holton Le Clay - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire