We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant

££ - £££, British,
Oldham Road, Rishworth HX6 4RH, England
+44 1422 822789
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good20%
  • Average13%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“steak pie” (10 reviews)
“mushy peas” (8 reviews)
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oldham Road, Rishworth HX6 4RH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have never felt the need to write a review before but this visit really warrants this.Visited this 'friendly pub' on the way home from a weekend away. At first lovely warm welcome and seated immediately. Served drinks and order was taken. Waited and watched...More

4  Thank Lizzi S
TheTurnpikeHX, Owner at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, we apologised at the time that the carrot was not quite to your liking, however, we had no other complaints on the day about the vegetables from over 200 guests. The owner did have to come out as firstly the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I honestly can't believe the last reviews for this pub. My family and I have just returned from a lovely Sunday lunch. My husband had the beef, I had the chicken and our daughters (12 and 9) had chicken goujons (which are home made and...More

Thank m_wood2407
TheTurnpikeHX, Owner at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your kind words, it really is lovely of you to take the time to provide a review of your experience and that you appreciated the hard work that goes into making our customers happy. The Turnpike team look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here two nights to attend our friends wedding. We paid £85 pounds per night for our room upon arrival. The pub staff are apparently threatening the wedding party and trying to claim that guests did not pay. We, however, have receipts, card and bank...More

4  Thank C4mmy
TheTurnpikeHX, Owner at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, as we advised your friend who commented previously, the threat of legal action is not related to the payment you did in fact make, that was never in question. The legal action is in respect of false statements that were made in her review....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

New owners honoured our booking via Booking.com which was great. They were not very well geared up on the Friday night for our arrival but the staff (particularly Ian the Chef) made us feel welcome. Room was basic but the breakfast wow! Gorgeous. I think...More

Thank Jo_LanceThompson
TheTurnpikeHX, Owner at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jo, thank you for your review. Having recently taken over the business, we are working hard to improve on what we have taken over from the previous owners. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was an event so food was pre ordered. There were three events on in the same space on long tables so difficult to start with in a large cold room. I had ordered fish but it had changed to a recipe with a meat...More

3  Thank Christine M
TheTurnpikeHX, Owner at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your experience during your visit to our restaurant. Your feedback is appreciated and will assist us in improving our business by taking your comments on board.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely disgraceful place. I booked 5 rooms here as part of my wedding, and was asked to pay £100 deposit which I did. The owners then proceeded to charge my wedding guests full price for their rooms, which included breakfast WHICH WASNT EVEN SERVED. Several...More

4  Thank Becky H
TheTurnpikeHX, Owner at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

In response to your review Becky H, we have recently taken over the business and it is my understanding that you paid your deposit to the previous owners plus your wedding guests that stayed with us paid for their rooms through a third party and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The drinks we asked for a wine list .The pub owned by a brewery that owns a wine merchants did not have a wine list. The starters Pate a slice served with melba toast (the stuff out of a packet) .Mushrooms were served with a...More

3  Thank pepsi2
TheTurnpikeHX, Owner at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we can now make sure people are aware how you ate all your starters, leaving clean plates. When our staff checked everything was ok with your main courses the feedback was "great" and 1 piece of beef was left on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start! Waitress forgot to put our order through, waited over 1 hour, do not order pork belly!! £18.50 for a pretentious mouthfull! No wonder it was empty. You have been warned!

4  Thank Julieann64
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Friday evening. We were the only two customers at 6.30 pm. The prices are simply too high for the poor standard of service and the quality of the food.

3  Thank R B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, what can I say ? I have visited this place a number of times in the past and when JW Lees took over the food went down hill. Last night I sampled the new menu which was nothing less than fantastic. We where treated...More

Thank tonykenny1975
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Booth Wood Inn
412 reviews
.64 miles away
Stanley's Kitchen
60 reviews
2.27 miles away
The Fleece Countryside Inn
1,132 reviews
2.60 miles away
Cinnamon Lounge
75 reviews
1.31 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Fox Bar & Bistro
154 reviews
2.16 miles away
Standedge Tunnel & Visitor Centre
342 reviews
2.87 miles away
The Rose and Crown
7 reviews
3.65 miles away
The Butchers Arms
11 reviews
1.74 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$33
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oldham Road, Rishworth HX6 4RH, England (Formerly The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Rishworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1422 822789
  • E-mail
Description
The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor Restaurant serves locally sourced, seasonal, home-made food from breakfast to dinner. We are located on Rishworth Moor with fabulous views of Boothwood reservoir and the surrounding countryside. Open all day, everyday from 9am.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing