We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Horse

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4 Church Street, Baston PE6 9PE, England
441778560923
Website
Today
16:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Tue 16:00 - 23:00
Wed - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 209: English reviews
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was recommended to me, it has a great ambiance, contemporary in an old world pub. The food is good although not exceptional, the lamb was amazing, the catch of the day was good, and the gnocchi tasteless. Great desserts. We will try again, although this is top prices for this area £140 for four. Which brings in lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attractive pub with good atmosphere. Service and food excellent. All five of us said we would return and would be happy to order same meal again. We had burgers, fish and chips, pork belly and braised beef. We ordered side of chips to go with pork and beef dishes but no extras needed with burgers and fish. Would highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank happytraveller208
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Taken there for birthday 'treat' within a family group, two of whom eat gluten free. A number of us ordered soup but were told there was no gluten free bread and the other bread consisted of two small triangles of a slice each - unacceptable and inadequate. The soup was tasteless in any event. Two of us with a large... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bornetraveller
G3rm41ne, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry that you didn't seem to enjoy your recent visit. We are sorry that we didn't have any gluten free bread available for you, we are always happy to adapt our dishes to be suitable for our Gluten free guests, although gluten free bread isn't... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Had a pleasant enough meal here today, an acceptable Sunday Lunch. However, I had the goat cheese starter and I have to be honest, I thought it was a joke when they put it down in front me at first as there was virtually no goats cheese at all, it was some nouvelle cuisine mouse portion that just about filled... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandygate123
G3rm41ne, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are sorry that you didn't seem to enjoy your recent visit to us. We are sorry that you felt that the portion size of the goats' cheese was unacceptable. The roulade is made in house and is a rich element of the dish, from previous customer feedback we... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Fab meal with friends. A twist to classic dishes, small choice on menu but everyone should find something! Not the cheapest but great quality!

Helpful?
Thank Donna H
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Having heard great things about the food at The White Horse we took a drive out for Sunday Lunch. It was excellent, the surroundings are lovely and spacious, friendly chatty staff and great menu. My husband had the Beef roast, I had a pasta dish and the children had fish & chips and a bolognese all were done to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oakham2
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic service, incredible food and wonderful time. Looking forward to a return visit already. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

The pub has a nice atmosphere, it houses a piano and a lovely open fire. The staff are accommodating and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

My first visit with family today to enjoy the Sunday Menu. Received top quality food clearly made and presented with care from fresh ingredients, and a good variety of choice on the menu. Particularly liked the atmosphere and friendly staff with very good, very polite customer service. Good choice of local ales and wines also. Would highly recommend to anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveWeston707
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2017

As soon as we walked in we felt welcomed and relaxed. The White Horse was warm and welcoming. Delicious well cooked meal - slow belly pork and braised beef. I think we could have done with ordering a side of veg but it left more room for dessert - liquorice pears and rhubarb and ginger. They were all delicious. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank angemcshane
G3rm41ne, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and felt a warm welcome and lovely atmosphere. We try our very best to provide our customers with great service and a high standard of food offering, it's so nice to hear your wonderful comments. I will pass your kind words onto our staff... More 

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Bourne, Lincolnshire
Bourne, Lincolnshire
 
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Bourne, Lincolnshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Bourne, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
16:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Church Street, Baston PE6 9PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Baston
  • Phone Number: 441778560923
Description
A Welcoming Village Pub, offering a wide selection of Beers, Ales, Sprits and Wine. Breakfast, Lunch and Restaurant menus on offer all year round.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?