We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mole Inn Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, European, British, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly

Location and contact

About
Picturesque countryside inn, serving delicious food, fine wine and ale, from friendly happy staff, set in a tastefully decorated exposed beamed grade II listed building and stunning landscaped garden with private getaways.
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$46
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Gastropub
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Free Off-Street Parking
Reviews (729)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveller rating
412
192
56
38
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
412
192
56
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mole shredded duck treacle tart steak sea bream mango fish cakes bread cod sunday roast mash potatoes salad ice cream fat chips the pub goats cheese
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 715 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We had a delicious meal in this lovely cosy pub after a cocktail to start the evening! I had sea bream in a lovely sauce and my husband had Thai fishcakes. We had the special to share for afters - bananas with chocolate sauce, banana...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 958GMG
Reviewed 3 days ago

As we were a party of eight we were asked to preorder. The food all arrived at the same time and was delicious. The service was very good considering the pub was very full. Would definitely go again.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank carolynelwes
TheMoleInn, Owner at The Mole Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you we look forward to seeing you on your next visit :)

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

we had a wonderful meal at the Mole last night, the new seasonal menu was delicious and very tasty. I had 3 courses of potted crab, pork belly followed by caramelised banana. the food was very filling, so I don't understand the last persons comment...More

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank R_R
TheMoleInn, Owner at The Mole Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks very much for your feedback we are do please you enjoyed your visit, look forward to seeing you again soon and your next cocktail choice 👍

Reviewed 4 days ago

service was really slow. Didn't have some of the items on the menu. Tried to sell me the wrong wine. Also food very disappointing. Starter of Spiced lamb with humous was tiny and tasted like there was no lamb on it at all. Just lentils....More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank tim123iwgfiug
TheMoleInn, Owner at The Mole Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent visit and thank you for your feedback - we had indeed sold out of the last portion of mussels before you ordered we do apologise for this - it’s a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow what a find in middle of nowhere, not sure to review as I’ll never get a table now. Fab food ,well priced and friendly helpful staff.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Anna D
TheMoleInn, Owner at The Mole Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your feedback, so glad you enjoyed your visit - and we can’t wait to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food and drinks were both good - WHEN they arrived! Service was very slow - although reason was explained to us AFTERWARDS (staff absence due to bereavement) it was nevertheless below the standard we expected. Adding 12.5% service (surcharge for large groups) to the...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank RL48
TheMoleInn, Owner at The Mole Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your feedback and we do appreciate your patience with us on Sunday - it was as you could see an extremely busy day for for us with the unexpected warm weather and usual busy Sunday service and we were sadly short...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to come here after reading such great reviews online and was really looking forward to coming here. We had booked prior to coming as heard it can get very busy, which was definitely a good idea as was pretty packed out when we got...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank LF99xx
TheMoleInn, Owner at The Mole Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello thanks for your feedback on your visit today, we do appreciate it and you are right we were extremely busy today so thank you for bearing with us. I was aware that you did not get your extra gravy, I am again very sorry...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I hadn't been to The Mole for a few months as the service had deteriorated. But this experience was back to its old form - new staff it seems, all very friendly and helpful, accompanied by good food. The pub has character (Would have been...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank MollieMay
TheMoleInn, Owner at The Mole Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your feedback and glad to have you back with us, if your colleagues are still interested the mole is a grade II listed building dating back to the 18th century it used to be a local drinking pub called the crown...More

Reviewed 31 January 2019

We all called in after a late night out in Oxford. We all selected a roast lunches of some kind and I have to say the roast beef was truly sublime, brilliant Yorkshires and a perfect array of vegetables and a hearty supply of gravy....More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Frenchfile
TheMoleInn, Manager at The Mole Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2019

Thanks very much for your kind words - we are glad to have been of service :) hope to see you soon :)

Reviewed 28 January 2019

Went there for dinner on Saturday with friends. The pub is a beautiful old place in a very rural setting. The service was excellent. We found the menu slightly limited but it's probably better to do a little well than have a big menu where...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank normannormal
TheMoleInn, Manager at The Mole Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Thanks for your feedback - glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
902 reviews
1.42 miles away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
794 reviews
1.65 miles away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
1,792 reviews
2.25 miles away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1,459 reviews
2.30 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Coach & Horses Inn
117 reviews
2.00 miles away
Kings Arms
744 reviews
2.25 miles away
Comie's Caribbean Grill
341 reviews
1.99 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Grill Academy
6 reviews
1.16 miles away
Active England
67 reviews
1.56 miles away
Partyman World Of Play
262 reviews
2.29 miles away
The University of Oxford Harcourt Arboretum
67 reviews
1.57 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
blossomHarrow
24 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Helen J | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry, I don't know if the Mole offers breakfast - I suspect they don't. We have only ever been there for lunch. They do dinner too. Hope this helps. Helen J.
0
Votes
Victoria J
19 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from CAB54 | Reviewed this property |
I imagine around 11pm.
0
Votes
JandJOxon
3 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from johnnyeighto | Reviewed this property |
Yes. We have eaten at both lunchtime and evening here and both services were of the same quality. We had a Christmas Eve lunch here this week and it was just fabulous.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing