We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn

490 Lafayette Rd, Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, Hampton, NH 03842-2227
+1 603-926-8322
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (98 reviews)
“apple butter” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
490 Lafayette Rd, Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, Hampton, NH 03842-2227
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Large resturant, very busy on a Saturday night. Prompt polite service. Large selection of foods. Dinner was delicious. Arrived hot.

Thank dakini1969
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for the nice review! Hope you are able to come back and join us again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for lunch previously but last night went for dinner. We ate in the outside dining area. Service, food and atmosphere were wonderful. Highly recommend the fisherman’s platter. There is more than enough for 2 to share.

1  Thank Lise S
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a beautiful night to enjoy the outdoor patio! Glad you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my second upgrade for the Old Salt, from my original rating of average, to very good, and now to excellent. Maybe I'm getting more nostalgic as I get older, or maybe I just have a deeper appreciation for this classic restaurant with a...More

1  Thank NHjo
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the upgrade! We appreciate the wonderful review!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have known about this venue for a very long time but always passed it by for one reason or another well our bad for sure. Decided to give it a try on wife’s birthday and so glad we did. Got there at around 6:30pm...More

1  Thank Dariolaur
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yay! Glad you finally stopped in to see us and delighted that we didn't disappoint! We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am not sure why it was such a big deal. A restaurant should take responsibility for its own mistakes.The giant platter of seafood came with soggy fried clams that drooped in your hand and all the breaded crust would fall off and it tasted...More

1  Thank Mabrine
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Matt... I am sorry you had a not so pleasant experience here at The Old Salt. I spoke with the owner and expressed your concerns. He thought you were being timid about receiving another order of fried seafood and thought he was doing the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wasn't too thrilled with the escargot. Had too much breading in with them this time, however really enjoyed the baked scallop dinner.

Thank Carley T
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear you didn't like the escargot. It's one of our most popular appetizers! I will check with the head chef to make sure that the dish is being prepared correctly! (Glad you enjoyed the scallops!)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The things they do with maple will make you rethink dinner. Maple ain't just for breakfast anymore! I had the bacon wrapped scallops served with a maple dipping sauce. Accompanying my (fantastic) Sage and Honey Glazed Salmon, I had a dinner roll with maple butter....More

1  Thank EbonySunshine
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad we are not the only maple lovers! (And you definitely need to come back for the Stuffed Haddock! To die for!)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in for dinner on the recommendation of a friend while vacationing at Hampton Beach. Excellent service and fantastic food! We are only here for a week but will be having dinner here again tonight because of both the customer experience and delicious food!...More

1  Thank carolynct2018
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the nice review Carolyn! Hope you are able to come back and see us!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently we had a couple functions at the restaurant and the food was super... & they were so eady to work with. .., waitstaff fast and friendly. Sunday brunch - they actually have the best brunch anywhere! I was told that & didnt believe it,...More

1  Thank Criticlin
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind words! Glad you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awesome food - Great service - Great Atmosphere. Great family restaurant. I recommend this establishment

Thank TonySal65
Michelle O, Manager at The Old Salt Restaurant at Lamie's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you TonySal65!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 41 hotels in Hampton
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
477 reviews
.01 miles away
Royale Coach Motor Lodge
3 reviews
.06 miles away
Hampton Village Resort
103 reviews
.34 miles away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
425 reviews
.62 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Galley Hatch Restaurant
340 reviews
.33 miles away
Bogie's at Depot Square
5 reviews
.04 miles away
Hoaty's
72 reviews
.37 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Smuttynose Brewing
154 reviews
.84 miles away
Tuck Museum
17 reviews
.61 miles away
Sanborn's Candies
25 reviews
.42 miles away
The 401 Tavern
12 reviews
.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Companion751546
24 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from honeymuffin2016 | Reviewed this property |
Big lot beyond the restaurant.
0
Votes
mrw07180
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Aoxomox | Reviewed this property |
They use fresh, local seafood. And it's typically great. Regarding the shrimp, they are without a doubt frozen because the only native shrimp in these waters are tiny, and only available during late Fall and Winter.
1
Vote
mpc521
19 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Aoxomox | Reviewed this property |
I believe that they are pretty open about that. I'm sure they'd be ok with it, but to make sure, I'd phone them.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 01:00
Monday
11:30 - 01:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 01:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 01:00
Thursday
11:30 - 01:00
Friday
11:30 - 01:00
Saturday
11:30 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 490 Lafayette Rd, Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, Hampton, NH 03842-2227
  • Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Hampton
  • Phone Number: +1 603-926-8322
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing