We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Cuccina

Victoria Mall | Cnr Victoria & Empire Roads, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
+27 21 790 8008
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (33 reviews)
“poached eggs” (5 reviews)
“salad” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Victoria Mall | Cnr Victoria & Empire Roads, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

41 - 50 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2016

La Cuccina is an excellent place for breakfast and lunch. The people are friendly and helpful. All food is freshly cooked using local ingredients. You can also buy ready prepared meals to order, these are great ... try the chicken pie!!!

Thank ladymilverton
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Back again after a most enjoyable meal last time we were in Cape Town...the restaurant has a light airy feel to it and the selection of food at lunch time is wonderful.....beautifully fresh salads with some unusual ingredients, hot food some definitely slow cooked given...More

Thank olive c
Reviewed 1 November 2016

La Cuccina is probably the largest coffee house in the area- and is a popular meeting place for many locals. I have been a regular there for 16 years! They also offer ala carte menu and a breakfast and lunch buffet-. La Cucc are known...More

Thank P8985VOmattm
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We were amazed to find a dog sitting on the floor two tables away from us. When we queried this with the manager, she said that the owner allows dogs. And only a few meters away is exposed buffet food that patrons help themselves to....More

Thank MoveAlong2014
iangersowsky, Owner at La Cuccina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Was initially not sure how to reply to this review,I have had La Cuccina as co-owner for 8 years and have never had a poor or terrible review. As a business that has a guest base of about 85% regulars we accommodate and allow our...More

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Delicious breakfast and friendly service staff. Sit outside for great mountain views. Can't recommend it enough!

Thank Jordan B
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We love La Cuccina! It really is our favourite place for breakfast - I always have the smashed avo on sourdough, it's delicious. The lunch buffet is absolutely amazing. A lovely selection of delicious dishes and the salads are just wonderful.

Thank EmmaM5689
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I stopped here for lunch on a trip from Cape Town to Cape Point and was really glad I did. The food was really great and our server was terrific. Others in our party had been to this restaurant before and were raving about the...More

Thank betteskid
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Nice staff. Good service. Food not at all good. I ordered my favorite. Eggs Benedict. What a dissapointment. The rolls (EB are meant to include muffins) were rock hard. I don't complain. However my wife did. The staff were gracious. They handled things well. But...More

Thank saswcpr
iangersowsky, Owner at La Cuccina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

We have "courageously" tried to make our own muffins but it seems to be backfiring on us :) I have decided to return to our previous supplier to ensure consistency.I would like to invite you and your wife in for a complimentary Benedict we will...More

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Decided to visit La Cuccina for Sunday Brunch. We had not visited this fantastic eatery for a very long while, and realised that a lot had changed. The layout was way different, and in my opinion the ambience of old was completely missing. The food...More

iangersowsky, Owner at La Cuccina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Hi thanks for feedback; Just to make you aware the plates are "tared" so you do not pay for the plate. You have highlighted a problem in our setup when I am not there and I truly appreciate the feedback as we are now appointing...More

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

A hidden gem, and a haven from the rain. Yummy breakfast, awesome atmosphere and to die for tea and hot choc 👍🏻

Thank Hannah S
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Hout Bay
Hout Bay Manor
169 reviews
1.03 miles away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
266 reviews
1.30 miles away
Tintswalo Atlantic
590 reviews
2.57 miles away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1,752 reviews
3.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Kitima at The Kronendal
920 reviews
.33 miles away
Dario's Cafe
95 reviews
.90 miles away
Hout Bay Coffee Roastery
75 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hout Bay Lookout
53 reviews
.31 miles away
Animal Ocean Seal Snorkeling
469 reviews
.97 miles away
BokBus Garden Route Adventure Tours - Day Tours
146 reviews
.98 miles away
Original T Bag Designs
69 reviews
.33 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
1 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ohjaygeen | Reviewed this property |
Jeremy B
29 September 2017|
Response from iangersowsky | Property representative |
Hi its all dependent on the weight of each dish if it's as much as you like on a plate it will be R150/plate.Hope that helps ? please inform me if you would like to book you in rather by email.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$6 - US$12
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Buffet, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
07:30 - 16:00
07:30 - 17:00
07:30 - 17:00
07:30 - 17:00
07:30 - 17:00
07:30 - 17:00
07:30 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Victoria Mall | Cnr Victoria & Empire Roads, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Hout Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 790 8008
  • E-mail
We take our food extreme seriously.We make everything from scratch.We do not buy anything other than raw ingredients and free range meats.We produce things that we want to eat ourselves.We cook to feed and to share,applying the same instincts as a home cooked meal,made with lots of love.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing