We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 2/23
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (840)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
295
194
133
103
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
295
194
133
103
114
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

very nice for a casual day out lovely staff jodie and lily we’re are survers and they were very friendly and quick with getting food out the food was very very good and large portions

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for the Great review. We will pass your comments on to the staff Kind Regards The Five Bells Team

Reviewed 4 days ago

Jodie was the duty manager she welcomed us just after we sat at our table. All the staff we came into contact with were very pleasant and professional, the meal arrived promptly and was very nice, a very decent portion. We could not fault our...experience and will go there again soon.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Terry! Thank you so much for telling us about your recent experience with us! We hope to see you again soon Many thanks the five bells team

Reviewed 6 days ago

Called in on the off chance and a lovely pub, service was excellent, food was superb and can't fault anything. Visit family in Aylesbury so will call again.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food & service from Liz & Sarah. Went for a family dinner . Very tasty with top service. Good price and the gammon is delicious

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the 5 star review, we will pass the messages on to the staff and hope you visit again soon Kind Regards The Five Bells Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely ambience, with a cosy fire and a very warm welcome. Lunch was excellent and although there was a slight wait for food, the friendly staff kept popping by our table to apologise and check we were OK. They worked really hard to ensure...everyone was happy and everything ran smoothly. A big thank you to Jodie and her colleague. It's so nice to receive great customer service.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day, we are glad to hear that our team looked after you very well Kind Regards The Five Bells Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here today for a lunch Quite busy for a Tuesday lunchtime! Food was really nice and staff Jodie and Sarah were very nice and attentive And kept us well informed on our food orders as they were really busy Would definitely eat there again

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Five Bells! Can't wait for you to visit again Kind Regards The Five Bells Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service and good food and drinks available across the menu and bar! Managed to handle a large group booking on a Tuesday night and yet timings were good and drinks were readily brought through as and when needed. Nice staff and nothing beats a...roaring fire on a cold January evening!More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your positive experience, We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. If there's anything further we can do for you, we are happy to help. Kind Regards The Five Bells Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good service from Sarah. Friendly and good food and quick and reliable service. Would recommend coming here for some drinks at least. Thanks

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello! Thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team. Many thanks Kat and the five bells team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was cold room dirty looks nothing like the Web pictures over priced staff not very helpful very difficult to get about if your disabledMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Like we have stated when you got in touch, it is an old building and the pictures was done when it first done, since then then there has been some wear...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here weekly over the past few months and never had a bad stay. The staff in the evening are lovely, always helpful and friendly. The mornings for breakfast are always a pleasure being greeted by Karen and Lisa. Nothing is ever too...much and I always have a great breakfast. I would recommend staying here.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you so much for your positive comments about The Five Bells and your stay at the hotel. We will pass you message on to Karen and Lisa We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Kind Regards The Five Bells Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although food was good when it arrived, we had however sat at table for 45 minutes before even getting a drink, the bartender seemed like he could of needed assistance as on own and when checking in we had a lengthy wait, I appreciate it...was busy but this is not really acceptable, I only ever saw one poor waitress on all the surrounding tables,!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review, we are glad to hear that you you enjoyed the food, and take on aboard on you everything. Unfortunately we did have a couple staff of sick that day, which did leave us understaffed...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After some poor reviews previously we tried the Five Bells (now under different management) and found the food quality to be much improved. The portions were plentiful and there was a good choice of meals on the menu. Our only complaint concerned the service -...nobody asked us about ordering drinks - and the servers were inexperienced and spent so much time putting the orders onto their machines, when it would have been so much easier to write down what was required. It would have also been better if the teas and coffees were hotter - the tea in particular needs to be served hot and not merely warm. Thankfully the food was good.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mike, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We are currently working though the service cycle with our team as a lot of them are very new. We hope this doesn't off-put you from visiting us in the...More

Reviewed 15 January 2024

Beautiful setting .. really lovely atmosphere every one was friendly kept asking was every thing ok ..waiter was lovely and behind bar think was manager was really nice ..all the staff was lovely .Jodie, Josh and Mickie .all was really nice the food was very...good we had starter and then mains and dessert I had a lovely birthday meal thank youMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We will be glad to pass along your kind words to our lovely team! Many thanks Kat and the five bells team

Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

Nice Saturday dinner with friends tasty food and good drinks range ! Thank you Josh and Elizabeth will see you again soon !

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Thank you for the 5 star review Kind Regards The Five Bells Team

Reviewed 14 January 2024

We went this evening Sunday 14 January 2024 and arrived at around 17.00 we have dined here on numerous occasions over many years and never encountered any problems as we love the food and friendliness of your staff here and were welcomed with a friendly...and warm greeting by Josh who told us to choose a table where we would like to sit and he kindly came over with us and took our order for drinks. A young lady kindly served us with our drinks and asked if we were ready to order our food which we said we were and placed our order of Roast Turkey and Sirloin of Beef with her, a long while had passed and we had not been served. Josh approached us extremely apologetic and explained that when the lady took the order for our meals it had not gone through to the kitchen he said we could have complimentary drinks we thanked him and told him it was ok these things happen. We were served our delicious roast meals a while later. When Jodie the Supervisor arrived she kindly came over to apologise to us for the time that we had waited for our meal to arrive and said she was extremely sorry and that it should not have happened. We said not to worry it was quite alright. Jodie then kindly said that puddings were on the house. We enjoyed our complimentary coffees and I had a vanilla ice cream. We were extremely impressed in how Josh and Jodie handled the unfortunate delay in us receiving our meals they are a real credit to your team and offer excellent customer care we will look forward to dining with you again soon. Thank you so very much indeed.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Five Bells! Kind Regards The Five Bells Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Five Bells by Innkeeper's Collection
145 reviews
.01 miles away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury, an IHG Hotel
156 reviews
1.34 miles away
West Lodge Hotel
250 reviews
1.72 miles away
Bel & The Dragon at The Red Lion - Wendover
886 reviews
2.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Chequers Inn
1,205 reviews
.26 miles away
The Chandos Arms
289 reviews
.17 miles away
Lobon Morees
9 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St Mary the Virgin Church
12 reviews
.21 miles away
The Bell - Stoke Mandeville
40 reviews
1.53 miles away
Go Ape Wendover
116 reviews
2.40 miles away
Wendover Woods
394 reviews
2.41 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Vic312014
3 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nathan M | Property representative |
yes we have free O2 wifi
1
Vote
Rosie L
29 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Nathan M | Property representative |
yes in the bar area dogs are more than welcome with well behaved owners
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE FIVE BELLS, Weston Turville - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices, & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Five Bells

Yes, The Five Bells is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Five Bells is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4