We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$31
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
170
60
14
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
170
60
14
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast burger fish and chips sticky toffee pudding wonderful pub booked a table holly landlord pubs
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 February 2022

We went to eat here last night (24 Feb). 4 adults and a 2 year old. Sat down at 5pm. A lovely experience. Nothing was too much trouble for the landlord and his team. Very attentive but not intrusive. All the food was superb. One...of the best pub meals we have had. One burger,the special curry meatballs,2 different pizzas and a small ham egg and chips for the toddler. The DNA is a nice pint but the Origin is wonderful..We live in Somerset and next time we are visiting family we will definitely be back. Highly recommended. A real gem of a pub. Wish it was our local !!!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
The Chandos Arms, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2022

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again when you are over this way! The DNA is a good pint, but similar to you the Origin is my choice of the two! I shall be sure to pass this onto the...More

Reviewed 17 February 2022 via mobile

What a fabulous landlord (Stuart). My friend and I were visiting Wendover from North Essex and found ourselves needing an emergency break after a long journey on the M25. We were greeted by a really friendly landlord and ordered two coffees and used the very...clean facilities. After we had confessed the true reason for the visit, Stuart very kindly offered the coffees to us on the house. He liked our honesty and the fact that we were willing to buy something and not just use the facilities. How refreshing in today’s world to see good old fashion friendliness and kindness. We will certainly make a return trip, and stay for much longer!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
The Chandos Arms, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2022

Good afternoon & Thank you for your review! Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! and we hope you enjoyed your coffee! We look forward to your return visit! Thank you again! :)

Reviewed 31 January 2022

A family gathering for Sunday Roast. I have food intolerance, and phoned beforehand to discus what I could and couldn't eat. The Chef prepared my food specially, with care taken to ensure I could eat the whole roast dinner. I felt very well looked after...and would recommend this restaurant to everyone.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
The Chandos Arms, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very fortunate that we make everything where possible on site, so being able to change our dishes for dietry requirements can be done with ease. Thank you again and I will pass this...More

Reviewed 30 December 2021

We waited for some time before the meal was served. The adult meals were cooked well, but my grandson’s meal was awful. Mashed potato was dry and inedible, obviously just mashed potato with no butter or milk added. How on Earth can a chef mess...up mashed potato? We didn’t make any comment when asked if the meals were ok because we didn’t want to put my grandson off eating the rest of the meal. He managed to eat his meal but left the mashed potato, saying it didn’t taste nice. We were seated near the door of the WC and were very much aware of an unpleasant smell. We certainly won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
The Chandos Arms, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2022

We are sorry you feel this way! We are limited on space for the pub, but this is no excuse for a 'bad smell' We can ensure you we keep on top of our cleaning within the pub, so I can only appologise for this...More

Reviewed 5 November 2021

Had 3 course meal prawn cocktail - microscopic prawns, fish pie - dry and tasteless, sticky toffee pudding - pure sugar. Service I admit was tricky in small cramped space but lots of cutlery dropped. I haven’t been for years. Now I know why. I...will not be returning. Food clearly not prepared on site.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
The Chandos Arms, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2021

Good evening, Thank you for leaving your review, I'm sorry to hear of your negative experience, especially as i was personally working the evening. Everyone i spoke with expressed how happy they were with the evening, the food and service. I can assure you all...More

Reviewed 17 October 2021

Just finished a Sunday roast and wanted to compliment everyone at the Chandos for the quality of the meal and the prompt and attentive service.. Do not hesitate to book a meal at this pub as I am certain that you will not be disappointed..Fantastic...value in a perfect setting. I am not from the area but I believe that the Chandos is individually owned and operated and. In a world dominated by corporate chain restaurants , we should do our upmost to support locally owned businesses. Thank you again for such a welcoming and rewarding experience.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
The Chandos Arms, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2022

Thank you so much for you review! We do strive on our Sunday Lunch service! I am biased but I love a good roast and look forward to the end of the day when i can tuck into one myself! We look forward to a...More

Reviewed 3 October 2021

I went with friends for Sunday lunch, the roast beef was very good, it came with 6 different vegetables, good value for money.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
The Chandos Arms, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Many Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

Treat it as a basic pub and go for drinks. You won’t be disappointed then. Food was just not up to scratch which is disappointing. Real shame as no pizzas available so might have been a different story. We really struggle with where to go...in Weston Turville now and tend to travel further afield to places like The Harrow in Bishopstone. I wonder if the management have tried the competition to see what they are up against. Might be surprised if they do. We want to support the local pubs but when you eat out you want as good if not better than when you cook for ourselves. This unfortunately this was not the case at The Chandos. Chequers is the best place to eat out in Weston Turville by far but it’s not cheap. You get what you pay for as they say!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
The Chandos Arms, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your visit. The day you visited we did have an issue with our Pizza ovens (this was out of our control). We pride ourselves on being a typical village...More

Reviewed 5 July 2021

Our first visit to the Chandos for a Sunday roast after Lockdown andcwe were not disappointed. The service was excellent, COVID compliant andcas always the staff were polite and efficient. The food was superb just as it was pre-pandemic. Stuart, Holly and the rest of...the staff are to be congratulated. They continued throughout Lockdown with take aways and have come out the other end better and stronger. WE WILL BE BACK.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Holly M, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

I've missed this place! My first Roast dinner, cooked for me, for over a year. A real treat! Well organised and yummy food. Today, was fab, thank you

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Holly M, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thank you so much for such a lovely positive review! We are so pleased you enjoyed everything!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury South
136 reviews
.17 miles away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury, an IHG hotel
972 reviews
1.38 miles away
West Lodge Hotel
236 reviews
1.89 miles away
Bel & The Dragon at The Red Lion
826 reviews
2.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Chequers Inn
1,107 reviews
.35 miles away
The Five Bells
706 reviews
.17 miles away
World's End Garden Centre Restaurant
258 reviews
.98 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St Mary the Virgin Church
11 reviews
.09 miles away
The Bell - Stoke Mandeville
38 reviews
1.37 miles away
Go Ape Wendover
110 reviews
2.50 miles away
Wendover Woods
381 reviews
2.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Boxmoorvillage3
2 August 2020|
Answer
Response from ChandosarmsWT | Property representative |
If you are looking to eat inside we recommend booking a table. If you are looking to eat outside, it is a first come first serve basis. We are closed Monday and Tuesday at the moment. Kind regards
0
Votes
Jen E
26 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ron H | Reviewed this property |
Sunday is Carvery time at the Chandos from £10.95. Booking is essential as they are often fully booked.
3
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chandos Arms

The Chandos Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5