We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£15 - £22
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (672)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
328
167
68
58
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
328
167
68
58
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast beef sandwich yorkshire pudding soup ice cream the pub new management relaxed atmosphere quick lunch car park bell woolpack hospital gravy lunchtime veg
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My son and his friends went for a spur of the moment meal here as one of them lives in the village. Well, half their food didn’t come out and the chef walked out. The waitress’s were apologetic and the food they did get was...given for free which was a decent thing to do under the circumstances. Don’t think the table that arrived after them managed to even order. I remember going here about ten years back and it was lovely, sad how things change I guess.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Paulabib , I do apologise to your son and his friends for what happened the night they came , this is not a regular occurrence here at the bell and we do not condone this behaviour from our chefs , this problem has since...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had Sunday dinner here yesterday. The chicken was rubbery, not tasty and the rest of the dinner, did not seem freshly cooked. It all seemed a bit microwaved. The radiators were barely warm, which was surprising, considering the weather weather outside. This made it...uncomfortable to stay any longer than it took to eat our meal. On the plus side, the staff were pleasant and there is plenty of parking.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Im really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our sunday roasts , I will pass your comments on to the kitchen team so we can work on it , I really do hope youll come back in the future and try us again...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was bitterly disappointed. I used to love this pub. The staff were friendly but the toilets were filthy and the food was disgusting. Microwaved garbage. This pub used to have a bit of class. I won't be going back.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Emmros99, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. I'd like to find out more information about your visit , would you please email me on info@thebellstokemandeville.co.uk. We can discuss this further . Again, apologies that our pub did not meet your...More

Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

Arrived at 6:40 pm or so, after dropping the kids at football. I do it nearly every week. First thing I noticed upon entering was that all the tables literally were full of dirty glasses and lunch leftovers (sauces etc)…dried beer marks and empty food...bowls. The young lady who must have been paid to be there, was sat at a table eating, somewhat disturbed by my entrance. Only one table sat there the rest of the beautiful pub is left like after a family dinner when everyone were too drunk to pick up the dishes. Ordered a bowl of chunky chips and half a pint of something. Sat down to do some work. 20 minutes later I asked for my chips. I’m checking “for you” Half an hour, I got up to the not at all concerned lady at the bar and kindly pointed out I’ve been waiting for a bowl of chips for 30 mins. Annoyed she said that it was coming any second now. Got the chips. Do you want any sauces she asked - oblivious to the fact I sat at a table with sauce and cutlery from hours ago by the looks of it. Chips is good, very good. Beer crisp. Christmas decor on. It’s a lovely pub. I sat for an hour and left. None of the tables had been cleared. Don’t pay her I say. I’ll testify at the tribunal.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Wares, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Hi Barak, I am very sorry your experience with us was not a good one! We would like to try to rectify this, if you could email us directly on info@thebellstokemandeville.com We have gone through some staff training to ensure this will not happen again....More

Reviewed 6 November 2023 via mobile

I wanted to have a nice lunch with a friend and my young son, something we haven’t done for a while. We came here in August 2021 so we decided as the food was really good last time we would revisit. Oh dear something I...spoke regretted. We walked in the atmosphere was not existent. We ordered drinks, the ale shandy tasted weird. I ordered fish and chips and ordered a kids burger. I asked for crayons was told they didn’t have any even tho it says quite clearly on the kids menu to ask for an activity pack. It was half term so maybe they ran out but as there was only 2 other tables of a couple of customers I don’t think they had a mad rush. My fish was dripping with water and just looked a did it was gone off so left it. A member of staff did come over to asked if everything was ok and advised the fish was off and I’m not eating it. She did offer to have another one cooked, I declined as it really put me off, she then said I could order something else looking at my friends plate I decided I had completely lost my appetite for their food. I tried a bit of my son’s burger and oh my I have never spat anything out in public before but just had to spit it out it was disgusting and had some sort of aniseed taste to it, so wasn’t surprised why my son didn’t want another bite. This place was amazing and now well think they have lost their way and maybe need to have a look at the kitchen but whatever they do I am never, ever returning I’m afraid. I will add that my meal that I didn’t eat was removed from the bill so thank you for that gesture.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Wares, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

Hi Sarah S, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I'd like to hear more about your visit so I can look into this...More

Reviewed 28 October 2023

Haven't been to this pub and won't be returning. The food was simple, no skill needed to cook, bread was stale and the drinks were weak even when we asked for more lime cordial. I would not waste your money on food here, I would...go to the woolpack instead. The girl behind the bar was okay but we had to wait lots as she was too busy talking to someone else the whole time.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Wares, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2023

Hi Sophie T, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I'd like to find out some more information about your visit , would you...More

Reviewed 8 October 2023

Quite disappointing. Haven’t been here in a while and can only assume the pubs been taken over by a chain. The food was poor quality and lacked flavour - you could tell elements had been microwaved. The staff were friendly but just shame about the...food.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Wares, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2023

Hi T5839KOsusanr, We are sorry the food was not up to standard, our aim is good food at great value! Could you email us on info@thebellstokemandeville.com so we can find out a little more about what you had with us and where we can improve?...More

Reviewed 24 September 2023 via mobile

Definitely won’t be returning until they get rid of the girl with coloured hair behind the bar who tells everyone she’s the new manager , she lets the other two ladies down who work very hard for the pub. When people go to eat they...don’t want to be forced into conversations they didn’t ask to have. Ruined mine and my husbands anniversary as when she came to ask if we wanted anything we couldn’t actually tell her what we wanted as she stood for 45 minutes explaining her life story. Very disappointing visit.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Wares, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2023

I am very sorry you did not have a good experience with us. If you can send a direct email to info@thebellstokemandeville.com we would like to see if we can try to help after such a special day was not up to standards. I assure...More

Reviewed 23 September 2023

What an improvement We revisited the Bell last night (group of 4) and we were pleasantly surprised with the improvement after our last visit in July The service this time was great. Nothing too much trouble for our waitress, she even did a solo happy...birthday to the man on the table near us. We will definitely be backMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Wares, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

We really appreciate your positive review! I'm so glad you decided to come back and give us another chance , its reviews like this that really keep the team motivated. I look forward to seeing you again, Thank you again for the great review! Summer...More

Reviewed 13 August 2023

I decided to walk up to The Bell on Friday 11 August - with a friend and we arrived around 122.10 pm - the lights were on and the door open only to be told by the manager that they were shut. This has happened...a few times over the last 6 months. On the website it is clear that Food is served Mon - Sat 12.00 to 21.00 Opening Hours are Mon - Sat 12.00 to 23.00 so open for a drink like most other local pubs The pub will only survive in welcoming customers in published hours - customer service needs to improveMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wells Social, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2023

Hi Mike, I apologise. We did indeed close 30 minutes early friday evening. We were doing some staff training on the end of day procedures. Im sorry you feel this way, if you change your mind and would like to come back to us again...More

Reviewed 11 August 2023

I visited the Bell on Friday evening 11th August with a friend at 22:20 to have a drink only to be told by the manager that the pub was shut due to poor attendance. I explained that we were trying to support our local pub...and that surely, you cannot just close without advertising your intentions to close early beforehand. I use the pub regularly and was disappointed .The lights were on, the door was open and the new manager was sat in the bar area on her phone. Great. Is it just me, or does no body care anymore whether a local pub stays in business because I will not be going back for sure until a serious manager who cares for the pub is in place.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wells Social, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Hi Simpsons23, I apologise. We did indeed close early yesterday evening. We were doing some staff training on the end of day procedures. Im sorry you feel this way, if you change your mind and would like to come back to us again or discus...More

Reviewed 2 August 2023 via mobile

This is one of our local pubs and we use it to drink and eat in quiet regularly. The staff have recently changed (it’s a shame, it keeps happening) but we ate on Sunday having a roast, which was great for the price and then...again on the Monday at 2-1 burger night. The staff changed also Sunday/Monday. This didn’t affect the quality of the food. The staff rotation isn’t always the tenants fault but when someone stays it is one of the best places for food (the menu is pub food not gastro) and a sociable drink. See you there.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wells Social, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2023

Hi , Thank you so much for 5 stars!! We really appreciate it :) We understand the change over in management may be frustrating for you however we do strive to always deliver the best service possible and always keep a set standard regardless of...More

Reviewed 8 July 2023 via mobile

Customers are clearly an inconvenience to the staff, who do not appear trained in hospitality or customer service. For a warm & sunny Friday evening the pub was not busy. We were a group of 4 in the restaurant. We arrived at 6.15 , left...at 8pm. We remained the only ones in the restaurant, which was quite warm. My friends had arrived shortly before me , but were standing waiting , telling me no one had yet come to speak to them & seat them. The waitress took our drinks order & a while later our food order . Food ok, average pub grub. Certainly not the pictures that are shown. We were asked if everything was ok, plates cleared. We would have liked dessert, but the waitress never came back to ask. There was someone behind the bar. Another staff member standing eating chips & then going behind the bar. Our waitress was sat down. After waiting for long enough we gave up & asked for the bill & left. We did see another table of diners in the bar area & it might have been nice to have been able to sit there, to at least have the atmosphere of other people & it was cooler as by windows. We did not feel welcomed at all by staff who did not appear to want to be there. We will not be back & would not recommend.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wells Social, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Hello, I apologies for your feelings regarding your visit. I have investigated with my team who were on shift when I believe you came to dine with us. We are more than happy to move tables around and allow you to sit where you like...More

Reviewed 7 July 2023

Staff completely uninterested in serving our group, even though we were the only people in the restaurant Food average. We felt we were an inconvenience.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wells Social, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Hello, I apologies for your feelings. I would like to know more about your visit so I can investigate with the team. Please contact us on info@thebellstokemandeville.Co.uk so I can look into this further. Again, I appologise for your visit. Thanks, Amelia - General Manager

Reviewed 26 June 2023 via mobile

Visited on a busy Saturday evening as the pub had an ABBA tribute band playing, who incidentally were brilliant. This is a nice pub, but if I'm honest I won't be going back. The bar staff are a bit clueless, I was served by a...lady looking for a bottle of red merlot in the fridge. I know you can get chilled red wine, but I'm pretty sure this pub is not that kind of establishment. The menu was extremely uninspiring. I think the worst part of the evening had to be a visit to the loo.... absolutely grim.... the toilets were so grubby and not clean at all! Even worse.... poor ABBA tribute ladies had to use one of the cubicles as a dressing room, another was out of order, so out of 3 toilets only one was available!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wells Social, Owner at The Bell Stoke Mandeville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2023

Hi Marnie, thank you for taking the time to make your comments known. We are in the process of training new staff for the bar, so as you know it can take time. As for the toilets, I do appologise that you weren’t happy with...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Five Bells by Innkeeper's Collection
145 reviews
1.54 miles away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury, an IHG Hotel
156 reviews
1.89 miles away
Travelodge Aylesbury
1,342 reviews
1.91 miles away
Hartwell House
990 reviews
2.45 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Woolpack
1,383 reviews
.36 miles away
The Chequers Inn
1,205 reviews
1.70 miles away
The Farmyard Cafe and Farm Shop
129 reviews
.73 miles away
The Chandos Arms
289 reviews
1.37 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Bell - Stoke Mandeville
40 reviews
.02 miles away
St Mary the Virgin Church
12 reviews
1.38 miles away
Fabric HQ
6 reviews
.66 miles away
Weston Turville Reservoir
18 reviews
1.43 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kateclubb
20 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Amy B | Reviewed this property |
It's very good for children and babies. High chairs and changing facilities are good. It's lovely
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BELL STOKE MANDEVILLE - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bell Stoke Mandeville

The Bell Stoke Mandeville is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4