We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Oxford Road, Hartwell HP17 8QP, England
+44 1296 747594
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 464: English reviews
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived expecting a relaxing early evening meal. Served the wrong rose, one of our meals was a plain caesar salad with no additions, got to the end realised there were no anchovies, a basic, when a mild complaint was made and some recompense requested we were met with a rude and aggressive attitude from the bar staff, to get anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Maureen, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve Thank you for your feedback More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lettuce, bacon, cheese and dressing ok but eventually discovered there were absolutely no anchovies. Disappointing so decided to point this out only to be greeted by rude, aggressive and pathetically posturing staff. Thankfully the duty manager resolved the issue sensibly with an appropriate reduction equivalent to the price of extra ingredients that could have been added to the basic dish.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrismilsom11
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Hi Chrismilsom11, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I can assure you I will be speaking to the team member that was rude to you that evening I apologise for the experience you had with us More 

Aylesbury, Bucks
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived at the bugle horn at about 4pm on Sunday afternoon, really looking forward to a roast dinner, we were advised the only roast left on the menu was the beef, of which we ordered 2 of. We had a table outside and waited for at least half an hour before we decided to investigate where our food was.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marnie1972
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Hi Marnie1972, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this with you. Please reach out to us at 441296747594 at your earliest convenience to discuss how we can turn your experience into a... More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub had a pleasant enough atmosphere and helpful staff. The food was regular pub fare and not very interesting.

Helpful?
Thank Iknowitalianfood
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Hi Iknowitalainfood Thanks for taking the time to write a review for our pub, we really appreciate all feedback we get. We hope to see you again soon we will be launching a new menu in June and hopefully you will find our food to be a little more exciting. Kind Regards Dan More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was ok although one meal didn't come as ordered and had a long wait for a portion of chips. Wouldn't recommend the coffee, it was a real disappointment. Although we drank less than half of it and remarked to the staff member serving us that it wasn't up to scratch it was still charged for.

Helpful?
Thank JoAyl
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Joayl, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve, and we humbly ask for the opportunity to make this right. Thank you providing this information... More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Bugle Horn as a birthday treat for a family member. We've eaten here a number of times and do find it to be hit and miss. On this occasion it was definitely more of a miss than a hit! We sat in the restaurant but we were asked by the waitress if we'd mind moving through to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roosty15
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Your feedback will be used as part of our on-going training with the team to improve future visits. We are sad to hear that your recent visit wasn't up to standard but would like for you to give us another try to turn this experience... More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We always love meeting for lunch here - the food is reliably enjoyable, the ambiance good. Today was cold so it was great walking into a lovely warm pub with fires roaring! As usual the food was good but if you ask about service I feel it's non - existence - their service consisted of taking the order at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Linda S, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Bugle Horn! I would like to explain that we have two areas of our pub, one is a full table service in our restaurant area, the other is bar service. if you would prefer to be seated in our service area, we would advise booking in advance on... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sadly we were a little let down on our recent visit. The place looks great and it was busy enough but it think this was a hindrance. We were sat straight away and our order was taken fairly quickly too. Unfortunately that was about as good as it got. We ordered drinks first and then or food soon after. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank eatenmess
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Eatenmess, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. If you are willing to give us another chance, please contact us at 01296 747594 so we can... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After going for a long walk with our dog we decided to stop in for a bite to eat. The garden was a great size! The waiter even brought a bowl of water for my dog! I had the 28 day aged beef which was fantastic and my partner had the hunters chicken! Portions are a little on the small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamilli H
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Jamilli, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We hope to see you soon! Thank you for the 5* Rating!! Bugle Horn More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Slight hiccup with waiting for our drinks and placing a food order; and the delay meant that people arriving after us actually ordered the food we wanted and it ran out. So after some of us asked for our third choice we managed to place our order. We had free drinks as an apology. The food was delicious and well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Antellaz
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this review

Antellaz, thank you so much for the positive review! We will take your feedback and use it within our training for our team members. We sincerely thank you for the positive review, and look forward to seeing you again soon! The Bugle Horn More 

Travellers who viewed Bugle Horn also viewed

 
Weston Turville, Aylesbury Vale
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury Vale
 
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury Vale
Dinton, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Bugle Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell HP17 8QP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Hartwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1296 747594
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Bugle Horn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bugle Horn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?