We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bugle Horn

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Hartwell ££ - £££ , British,
Oxford Road, Hartwell HP17 8QP, England
+44 1296 747594
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good31%
  • Average19%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (30 reviews)
“rump steak” (7 reviews)
“pies” (8 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oxford Road, Hartwell HP17 8QP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A popular gastro pub with decent food, not outstanding. An initial reluctance to accept the AA discount was disappointing but resolved eventually. Without the discount I feel the food would not justify the price. Overall, service was good and had we not booked in advance,...More

Thank Darren99999
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Darren. Thank you for the kind review. I apologise if we seemed replicant to take your AA card. We have a lot of discount cards that are used here and most are only allowed on certain days so possibly a little confusion in that!...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Awful customer service from the three staff we spoke to. Long wait for food which came out bit by bit. Ten minutes between my wife's and mine arriving. My wife's arrived cold, and was then very cold by the time they returned to the table...More

Thank Lewiisim
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi I'm so sorry to hear you had what sounds like an awful experience. I train my team to deliver great customer service and I'm disappointed to hear that we let you down. If possible would you be able to give me a call to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I ordered a main course salad featuring broad bean humus, avocado, pomegranate and feta for £8. The bar man asked "Would you like protein with that?" Now, that was a new one on me. He made grilled chicken or salmon sound most unpalatable. Anyhow, I...More

Thank Kirsty T
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Kirsty Thank you for your review and I'm extremely disappointed to read that we let you down on this occasion. The whole food salad comes in two sizes, a small or large. I apologise if you received the wrong size as it sounds like...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate dinner at the Bugle Horn on the recommendation of a local colleague of my husband. Our dinner here was our favorite of everything we tried during our England trip. The steak and mushroom pie with vegetables was amazing. The outdoor seating on a...More

Thank RoadtripMommyOf4
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thank you so much for your kind review, we are glad to hear you loved our steak pie. It's one of our favourites too Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip The Bugle Horn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed my lunch here with my parents. The food was good. My only disappointment was outside in the garden there were a lot of fag butts and as there was no bacon to go with my chicken bacon & lettuce we asked if...More

Thank Vanessa M
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Vanessa Thank you for your kind review. I'm sorry to hear we had run out of bacon and I'll have a chat with my managers about not giving you some sweet potato fries without having to charge you. Thank you again Anna

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this Pub yesterday evening. We were a very large party of 25 there for a celebration. It was a very nice evening as the weather was good and there were many people in the garden. The bar service was very slow and they...More

Thank BucksTraveller-7
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for your review and I apologise that we let you down on this occasion. We did have an additional 2 members of staff on to serve your party however the weather caught us a little by surprise as it was meant to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

... shame that the baked brie with deep fried camembert didn't come with camembert, and that the brie had boiled over, or had been done in the microwave so it was hard. Also that they had no Waghu burgers, so ordered the sliced venison, which...More

Thank Diana H
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Diana Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and I apologise on this occasion we let you down with our food. I will pass on your comments to my kitchen team and we will work on this feedback in improving...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at a very busy time on a glorious afternoon and found the staff were quick and friendly despite being stretched. Enjoyed an amazing veggie burger in lovely surroundings, will definitely go again. Thanks Sophie and Kyle for looking after us.

Thank Trustworthy101
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for the lovely review. I'll be sure to pass on your thanks to Sophie and Kyle

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off here on the way to Aylesbury for a quick bit to eat. Friendly staff and the food came quickly which was impressive for a Friday evening at eight o'clock. I had ham, egg and chips and my fiancée had a whole food salad....More

Thank Warwick B
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to my team Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 21 June 2017

Good service, good food. But our table was near the track to the loos, so there was a constant traffic of anxious peopleMore

Thank Vinnie348
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Vinnie, Thank you for your high star rating! next time you would like to dine with us, feel free to give us a call before hand so that we can reserve a table in a different section of the pub to give you a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hartwell House
246 reviews
.08 miles away
The Jeera
86 reviews
.44 miles away
New York Deli
65 reviews
1.77 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hartwell House Spa
61 reviews
.08 miles away
The Bell - Stoke Mandeville
28 reviews
2.36 miles away
Orchard View Farm
68 reviews
3.22 miles away
The Bucks Goat Centre
160 reviews
2.89 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bugle Horn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell HP17 8QP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Hartwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1296 747594
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Bugle Horn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing