We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mt Fuji Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
296 Old Route 17, Hillburn, NY 10931
+1 845-357-4270
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 16:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 22:00
Fri 12:00 - 23:00
Sat 16:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
Macon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The view of interstate 87 is spectacular from top of the mountain. Our hibachi chef did his best to give us a show while cooking. Talk about multitasking. I ordered the most expensive steak on the menu but it was disappointing. The meat was tough and tasteless. To be honest my Mom did not like her food either. Expensive, one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mt. Fuji has a lot of potential to improve. It's in a beautiful secluded location, but it needs a major overhaul. The food and drinks are good. And the view is spectacular during the fall.

Helpful?
Thank KateAlways
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for this, Kate. It sounds like you had a great time coming to visit us for a meal. We only hope that we can impress you even more next time you're here. All the best, Mt Fuji Japanese Steak House - Hillburn More 

Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Everyone was very nice and it was entertaining. The sushi was excellent. The hibachi meal was very good, except the chicken was so bland. The scallops and steak were all excellent, so the chicken was a disappointment. Dessert was loved by all. It is a lot of food!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie D
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Jacquie, thank you for visiting and offering kind words about your experience! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you back again soon. All the best, Mt Fuji Japanese Steak House - Hillburn More 

Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

the food was not as good as I expected. The venue is pretty and unique but food overcooked and smothered with too much sauce. The sushi was good and hibachi. For a wedding it is unusual. you move around from upstairs, outside to upstairs then downstairs. Main meal did not come out till 9 pm a bit late to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisjer123
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

A nice way to end a day of shopping the outlets. The place is up the mountain with beautifully done garden and surroundings. Servers wear traditional costumes, you'll feel you're actually in Japan.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pnyorker
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Pnyorker, we're ecstatic that you had such a great experience here with us. Next time you're in the area for any reason, we'd love to have you back again. All the best, Mt Fuji Japanese Steak House - Hillburn More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Every year when we go to renfair we stop for dinner here. It has always been great. Tonight the chef got the orders wrong. The food was poorly seasoned and the seating was much closer like they added chairs as an afterthought. I guess next year we will be headed somewhere else

Helpful?
1 Thank Deane M
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Deane, please don't stop coming to see us from a one-off bad experience! If you ever have an issue with your order, please let a manager know and we'll do everything we can to make it up to you in the moment. We'd appreciate it if you emailed us at nancy@mtfujirestaurants.com -- we would love the opportunity to win back... More 

Bloomingdale, NJ
Level Contributor
254 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016

If you've been to one you've been to all. This is no different, except for the spectacular view. This place is huge, with a bar and dance floor. The food is fresh and delicious and the "chefs", who all graduate from the same training I guess, entertain the kids with tossing up shrimp tails and catching them in their toque--just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Carolyn, thank you for always thinking of us when you want to enjoy a view with your meal. We're happy to hear the chefs always do their part in entertaining as well as making some delicious food for you and your and dining companions. Of course, we look forward to having you back next time you're able to visit. All... More 

Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

We went to Mt. Fuji to celebrate my daughters 16th birthday. My grandmother came along and was so excited because she had not been there in many years. Arrived and were seated right away. Hibachi chef was entertaining and the food was very good. We pretty much has everything, chicken, shrimp, scallops, steak. The dragon and cake came out for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 777maxtech
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for thinking of us when choosing a place to celebrate your daughter's birthday! We always loving taking part in peoples' special days, and this is certainly no exception. Even with the changes over the years, we hope you still love the experience we have to offer and also that you'll be back next time you have... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2016

We were there for dinner and were told that we would have a 1 hour wait for a table, and a 2 hour wait for a hibachi table. We opted for the regular table and were seated in about 15 minutes. The service is excellent and the food is also great - with authentic Japanese dishes. Although the chef did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jinny038
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you had a great time, despite the wait and not being able to sit at the hibachi table. Thank you so much for giving us a shot, and for writing us this wonderful review, Jinny. You'll have to come back so you can get a chance to take in the full hibachi experience! All the... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

For a Buffett, the selection was actually very good and the quality is good. They have a mixture of Japanese and American selection. I would have liked to see more Japanese selection though, but it's a good place and highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank jonjoncapy
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, Jon. We're pleased to hear you really enjoyed our selection. We'd love to have you back again soon to get the chance to impress you even more. All the best, Mt Fuji Japanese Steak House - Hillburn More 

Travellers who viewed Mt Fuji Restaurant also viewed

Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
 

Been to Mt Fuji Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$35 - US$42
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
16:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 296 Old Route 17, Hillburn, NY 10931
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Hillburn
  • Phone Number: +1 845-357-4270
Description
At Mt. Fuji Japanese Steakhouse you can enjoy a flaming presentation of hibachi artistry by our master chefs. Our master chefs perform theatrical shows and prepare your dishes before your eyes. Do you prefer a more traditional dining experience? We also offer the finest sushi and authentic Japanese dishes in Hillburn. Join Mt. Fuji Japanese Steakhouse for an unforgettable dining experience. We offer two locations with breathtaking views. Whether you visit our Hillburn or Hasbrouck Heights location, you'll receive the same high-quality service and cuisine at both locations. Welcome!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mt Fuji Restaurant and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Elizabeth, New Jersey
7 months ago
Rockland County NY
7 months ago
Neptune City, New Jersey
8 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mt Fuji Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?