We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mt Fuji Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
296 Old Route 17, Hillburn, NY 10931
+1 845-357-4270
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Sun 16:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 22:00
Fri 12:00 - 23:00
Sat 16:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 165: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would recommend this place to anyone. Great food, Great Staff. I have taken my mom there for her B-day. We will be back again for her 89th B-day. So whatever you are doing to keep this place great keep doing it.

Thank Lisa O
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Lisa, thank you so much! We're always happy to celebrate special days with our guests, and we're looking forward to that next birthday party. Again, we appreciate your patronage and we hope to see you again sooner rather than later. Until then, Mt Fuji Japanese Steak House - Hillburn More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I thought it was pretty cool here, went here two times. Sushi Made me sick though a day later..... made most of the food right at your table!

Thank alice h
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit here, Alice. That said, we're sorry to hear that you felt sick the next day. It can be difficult to gauge the cause of food borne illness as it can show up within hours or days of consuming something. In addition, we want to assure you that we follow all food... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

We had a birthday party at the Views. Honestly, I figured since it is a buffet I didn’t expect anything great. However, the food was very fresh and delicious. There were a lot of choices, even for the kids! The food presentation was great as well. Our party was a surprise and the manager at the Views, Bruce, was very... More 

Thank lovenewyork1993
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The view of interstate 87 is spectacular from top of the mountain. Our hibachi chef did his best to give us a show while cooking. Talk about multitasking. I ordered the most expensive steak on the menu but it was disappointing. The meat was tough and tasteless. To be honest my Mom did not like her food either. Expensive, one... More 

Thank Elizabeth G
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Elizabeth, while we're disappointed that your food didn't live up to expectations, we're glad that you came to leave us some honest feedback here. Even if the view and service are excellent, the food still needs to match up to that as well! If you ever do make it back to see us, we hope we can impress you across... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
157 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2016

Mt. Fuji has a lot of potential to improve. It's in a beautiful secluded location, but it needs a major overhaul. The food and drinks are good. And the view is spectacular during the fall.

Thank KateAlways
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for this, Kate. It sounds like you had a great time coming to visit us for a meal. We only hope that we can impress you even more next time you're here. All the best, Mt Fuji Japanese Steak House - Hillburn More 

Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Everyone was very nice and it was entertaining. The sushi was excellent. The hibachi meal was very good, except the chicken was so bland. The scallops and steak were all excellent, so the chicken was a disappointment. Dessert was loved by all. It is a lot of food!

2 Thank Jacquie D
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Jacquie, thank you for visiting and offering kind words about your experience! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you back again soon. All the best, Mt Fuji Japanese Steak House - Hillburn More 

Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

the food was not as good as I expected. The venue is pretty and unique but food overcooked and smothered with too much sauce. The sushi was good and hibachi. For a wedding it is unusual. you move around from upstairs, outside to upstairs then downstairs. Main meal did not come out till 9 pm a bit late to eat... More 

Thank chrisjer123
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

A nice way to end a day of shopping the outlets. The place is up the mountain with beautifully done garden and surroundings. Servers wear traditional costumes, you'll feel you're actually in Japan.

1 Thank Pnyorker
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Pnyorker, we're ecstatic that you had such a great experience here with us. Next time you're in the area for any reason, we'd love to have you back again. All the best, Mt Fuji Japanese Steak House - Hillburn More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Every year when we go to renfair we stop for dinner here. It has always been great. Tonight the chef got the orders wrong. The food was poorly seasoned and the seating was much closer like they added chairs as an afterthought. I guess next year we will be headed somewhere else

1 Thank Deane M
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Deane, please don't stop coming to see us from a one-off bad experience! If you ever have an issue with your order, please let a manager know and we'll do everything we can to make it up to you in the moment. We'd appreciate it if you emailed us at nancy@mtfujirestaurants.com -- we would love the opportunity to win back... More 

Bloomingdale, NJ
Level Contributor
255 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016

If you've been to one you've been to all. This is no different, except for the spectacular view. This place is huge, with a bar and dance floor. The food is fresh and delicious and the "chefs", who all graduate from the same training I guess, entertain the kids with tossing up shrimp tails and catching them in their toque--just... More 

Thank Carolyn B
Nancy F, Owner at Mt Fuji Restaurant, responded to this review

Carolyn, thank you for always thinking of us when you want to enjoy a view with your meal. We're happy to hear the chefs always do their part in entertaining as well as making some delicious food for you and your and dining companions. Of course, we look forward to having you back next time you're able to visit. All... More 

Travellers who viewed Mt Fuji Restaurant also viewed

Hasbrouck Heights, NJ

Been to Mt Fuji Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$35 - US$42
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
16:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 23:00
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 296 Old Route 17, Hillburn, NY 10931
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Hillburn
  • Phone Number: +1 845-357-4270
At Mt. Fuji Japanese Steakhouse you can enjoy a flaming presentation of hibachi artistry by our master chefs. Our master chefs perform theatrical shows and prepare your dishes before your eyes. Do you prefer a more traditional dining experience? We also offer the finest sushi and authentic Japanese dishes in Hillburn. Join Mt. Fuji Japanese Steakhouse for an unforgettable dining experience. We offer two locations with breathtaking views. Whether you visit our Hillburn or Hasbrouck Heights location, you'll receive the same high-quality service and cuisine at both locations. Welcome!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mt Fuji Restaurant and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Elizabeth, New Jersey
9 months ago
Rockland County NY
9 months ago
Neptune City, New Jersey
9 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mt Fuji Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?