We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Benihana

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
920 Merchants Concourse, Westbury, NY 11590-5199 (Old Country Rd)
+1 516-222-6091
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 14:30
16:30 - 22:00
Fri 11:30 - 23:00
Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My daughter loves eating here. The show is fun and good is good. Lunch is the best deal, pay about 1/2 price. It may be a smaller portion but you get tons of food. Get the fried rice and add some mustard sauce- yummy!

Helpful?
Thank natashar222
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well the atmosphere was not cozy..ok! But the service was the worth service ever.the waitress stood behind us..rushing us ...absolutly terrible.she gave us NO time to even pick what we wanted to eat.no explanation!t Terrible...I wanted to give as little tip as possible..no way..she told us..either 18,20 or 22 %..bummer!awful experience..by the way the food was ok but cold!

Helpful?
Thank Jutta C
Benihana M, Brand Communication at Benihana, responded to this review

Jutta, we're sorry to hear this as it shouldn't have happened. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. Your feedback will be shared with our Guest Relations team for improvements. More 

Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was just okay, nothing special. Even with our reservation, we were told the wait would be about 30 minutes. (What is the point of a reservation if you still have to wait 30 minutes?) Luckily, we were seated after 15 minutes. Ordered the Red Plum Sake Sangria. It was okay but had no/very little alcohol. The chef was okay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I don't like the whole idea, throwing food at you like you're a seal at a zoo. A few times I wanted to throw some back. The whole concept is stupid if you ask me. You're also eating in the order that they choose to throw it to you. Ever since I dined there I hand my Rottweiler his biscuit,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Billy G
New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Benihana is just as good as it has always been. The key tip is to always go for lunch and ask for extra garlic butter. You will thank me later.

Helpful?
Thank itsthetravelguy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Benihana has a great lunch special that you can get for $10 to $15. It includes soup, hibachi vegetables & fried rice. It's always good & easy on the pockets

Helpful?
Thank Monica S
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Staff was nice, food was very good enjoyed my birthday there. However the service was slow at times and made them seem under staffed otherwise very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Olivia G
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Although this place is supposed to be an authentic Japanese Hibachi restaurant, it's not. For one thing all the cooks are Hispanic, although they do posses hibachi cooking skills. The people making the sushi at the sushi station were also Hispanic. The waiter was Hispanic as well. So other then the overpriced restaurant having a Japanese title, there is nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank wildtom65
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I stopped in with a few business partners and were promptly seated and given great service. The food and atmosphere were great and staff super!

Helpful?
Thank Manuel S
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Was in the area for another event and planned thisDinner in connection. We made reservations a few days before and boy are we glad we did! Place was PACKED! We waited in the bar area , reservation was for 7 , was seated by 720 which was great, as we heard from people sitting with us they were waiting over... More 

Helpful?
Thank SKJet

Travellers who viewed Benihana also viewed

Carle Place, Long Island
Westbury, Long Island
 
Manhasset, Long Island
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$30 - US$30
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 14:30
16:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 14:30
16:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 14:30
16:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 14:30
16:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 920 Merchants Concourse, Westbury, NY 11590-5199
    (Old Country Rd)
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Long Island  >  Westbury
  • Phone Number: +1 516-222-6091
Description
Prepare for a dining experience unlike any other. Watch as your personal chef performs the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Listen as razor-sharp blades slice through tender steak and juicy chicken. Take in the aroma of sizzling shrimp, lobster and savory vegetables. Or visit our sushi bar, where your sushi chef will prepare fresh nigiri, sashimi and specialty rolls, all with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Benihana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?