We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spouter Inn

218 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2123
+1 252-728-5190
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“crab cakes” (97 reviews)
“seafood” (72 reviews)
“french silk pie” (12 reviews)
Open Now
11:15 - 21:00 Hours
American, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
££ - £££
218 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2123
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

It was our second meal at Spouter Inn. The first was years ago and we remembered having a good meal so decided to return. It was even better than we remembered! Wife loved her ahi tuna, crab dip app was great, and my blackened flounder...More

Thank Marc M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Spouter Inn is our first choice in Beaufort, Wonderful selections, fresh seafood, nice salad, tasty soups. Service is good. Suggest eating on the covered deck if possible, excellent view of Taylors Creek and boat traffic lazily cruising by. Have even seen the ponies on...More

Thank 24mfoster
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just ate here again and amazingly the appetizer crab cakes were even smaller than my visit in July. Wtf? We complained and got a very odd explanation from our server who seemed to think we didn’t know the difference between appetizer and full size cakes....More

Thank trav226
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have never had a poor time or experience at Spouter's! This great local water side restaurant in Beaufort has always been consistent in delivering great food, excellent service and a fabulous view. Highly recommend for lunch as well as dinner . We love sitting...More

Thank JacksonRandall
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Made it our first stop for dinner this year. It did not disappoint. Stuffed flounder was superb as was the Mahi Mahi. Had to eat inside so it was quite loud. Had peanut butter pie for dessert. Outstanding.

1  Thank Denny319
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch here for the 2nd time. The food was delicious and the service was great. We sat outside on the water both times and enjoyed the beautiful views. Awesome.

1  Thank Leila A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch today, it was very good! The homemade salad dressings are really good. I had the blackened Mahi over house salad and Spouter chowder, nice piece of fish, cooked perfectly, chowder was out of this world. The wife got a crab...More

1  Thank c21wil
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My grandloves and I spent three days on Emerald Isle. We spent a day at Cape Lookout and ended it at Spouter Inn. We had a fantastic meal, with a fantastic water view, and fantastic service!! Our server was Frank! He was nice, knowledgeable, and...More

1  Thank Teresa C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We sat Outside on deck. (+)Fantastic view. Almost perfect setting. (- ) No seafood in seafood gumbo. Should be veggie gumbo (+)steak was cooked exactly as ordered. Filet itself was below average. (-) grouper was really soggy. Too bad because it was fresh. Really soggy....More

Thank Stfteamllc
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Sure wish I would have gotten a picture but the food was so good it didnt last long. The french toast was a load of food for the price and it was a great meal. We also had the buster's hideout which was amazing, much...More

1  Thank Travis C
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Harborside Suites
7 reviews
.23 miles away
Beaufort Inn
290 reviews
.26 miles away
Inlet Inn
297 reviews
.28 miles away
Bask Hotel at Big Rock Landing a Trademark Collection Hotel
310 reviews
2.63 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
City Kitchen
207 reviews
.60 miles away
Aqua Restaurant
437 reviews
.17 miles away
Beaufort Grocery CO
637 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Island Express Ferry Service
760 reviews
.32 miles away
North Carolina Maritime Museum
778 reviews
.08 miles away
Beaufort Historic Site Old Burying Ground
356 reviews
.18 miles away
Beaufort Historic Site Visitor Center and Museum
134 reviews
.16 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lance E
12 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from LoriJoBaas | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is a kids menu
15 June 2016|
Response from LoriJoBaas | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately, because there is not an outside entrance to the patio, pets are not allowed. :(
John P
12 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Eddie H | Reviewed this property |
Yes. They definitely take dinner reservations and I assume lunch and brunch as well. Great local seafood, prime rib, breads and desserts. Enjoy!
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$9 - US$29
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
11:15 - 21:00
11:15 - 21:00
11:15 - 21:00
11:15 - 21:00
11:15 - 21:00
11:15 - 21:00
11:15 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 218 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2123
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Beaufort
  • Phone Number: +1 252-728-5190
  • E-mail
Waterfront dining in Historic Beaufort, North Carolina. Recently renovated, ahhhmazing views, covered waterfront deck! Bar & Lounge with waterfront views & full menu service. A beautiful setting to relax,enjoy a great meal and true southern hospitality! Serving FRESH LOCAL CARTERET CATCH and CERTIFIED ANGUS BEEF. Our in house BAKERY provides fabulous desserts, breads, special orders and retail/take out service. Dinner reservations recommended and accepted by telephone only. CALL FOR OFF SEASON HOURS
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing