We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Artisan Gourmet Market

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 E Market St, Suite A, Black Mountain, NC 28711-9320
+1 828-357-5500
Website
Today
08:00 - 19:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 15:00
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 19:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Last week we attended The Artisan's weekly wine tasting and were very impressed with the salmon dinner. Salmon was moist and vegetables and reduction were delicious. Wine choices were also delicious. We loved sitting outside in a relaxed atmosphere with friends sharing a bottle of the featured wine at sale price with no corkage fee. New owners are very friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley S
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

I was disappointed with my visit for breakfast. It is unlike this place and I think it was just an off day. I will give them another try. The BLT was mainly bread with 2 thin slices of bacon and the tea was very weak and almost flavourless.

Helpful?
Thank MichaelBMT
Denise S, Owner at The Artisan Gourmet Market, responded to this review

Michael, We are new owners of the Artisan Gourmet Market and Cafe and appreciate your feedback on your experience. We were glad to hear that you would be coming back, because we expect to make many improvements to menu items, service, and the customer's overall experience at the Artisan. We are also in the process of training a number of... More 

Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Any foodie in the Black Mountain area knows that the one-stop shop for ingredients is the Artisan Gourmet Market. Hard-to-find ingredients, advice on preparation, and an old-school style butchery with carefully selected offerings in beef, lamb, pork, and seafood. Kurt knows the meat, and can make specific recommendations, and he's sourced most of it locally and from trusted suppliers. Perhaps... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank davidbillstrom
Indian Trail, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2015

I stop by the Artisan every time I drive through Black Mountain. They have great coffee, food and service. Their store has a large selection of wine meats and gourmet foods. Try it you will love it! Scott H.

Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyH1985
Emily B, Owner at The Artisan Gourmet Market, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind review! Knowing we serve well over 30,000 people per year (and we are just a small family cafe) it is always nice to have someone like yourself make it a point to stop by and join us for a visit. See you real soon! More 

Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2015

I visited here with my family and it was the best restaurant experience I have ever had. Their food was incredible! The staff was very friendly and made us feel right at home, while still being professional. We asked the owner what we should try and she recommended the crepes. We tried the fruit crepes and they were BY FAR... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JudgeJohnson
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Was a highly recommended spot in black mountain, my boyfriend and I went for a date. Impressive wine shop and marketplace on one side, lovely cafe on the other. We went on a Sunday for brunch, was pleasantly surprised by the large euro breakfast menu. So many crepes and omelets to choose from! We watched the chef make our crepes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
158 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Had a quick lunch here--half a sandwich and soup. They were good, but just average. There are tables outside but they face the parking lot. Thought the price was a little high too...

Helpful?
Thank 1jane
Emily B, Owner at The Artisan Gourmet Market, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to give us your thoughts. Admittedly, we have parking all around the entire building with the major parking in back. We chose to put our seating in front, facing the beautiful mountains and created as best we could a garden patio space. While we wished we could provide meals at lower prices, we are pretty... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Quaint setting in small storefront, no newspapers at breakfast, asked and was told no there was none. Ordered toast and got one piece, cold. Crepe hard on bottom. If you install a kitchen hood you can have a grill, fryer etc.. Big fish little pond.

Helpful?
Thank johnrogin
Emily B, Owner at The Artisan Gourmet Market, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping by. We work hard each day to bring our guests and customers a great experience. Not sure the title MICROWAVED describes anything we do. All crepes and omelettes are fresh made to order, crisp crepes for our savory and soft for our desserts. Microwave in back kitchen is used to warm some things, but never to... More 

Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Our favorite stop after early church for coffee and pastries. Cozy, nice and quiet, inside or out. Afterwards, nice to pick up fresh meats for Sunday night supper. Super staff, too!

Helpful?
1 Thank Justcallmescout
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Very average food. Very unfriendly and pretentious staff. I had a BLT and cup of corn chowder. Very little bacon. Soup was thick potato soup with corn.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pam W

Travellers who viewed The Artisan Gourmet Market also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Artisan Gourmet Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Cuisine
American, Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 15:00
Monday
08:00 - 19:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 19:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 19:00
Thursday
08:00 - 19:00
Friday
08:00 - 19:00
Saturday
08:00 - 19:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 E Market St, Suite A, Black Mountain, NC 28711-9320
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Mountains  >  Black Mountain
  • Phone Number: +1 828-357-5500
Description
The Artisan, where shopping is a sensory experience! From the smell of freshly brewed coffee and the visual appeal of local artwork on the walls, to the excitement of shopping for gourmet foods or relaxing by the fireplace with a glass of wine. What our customers come for:- Friendly staff- Great breakfast omelettes, pastries, lunch options- Sandwiches, soups, desserts- Espresso based drinks by trained baristas made with locally roasted beans. 100% fruit smoothies made to order. Fresh meats and seafood, deli with prepared foods to go, extensive wine department and local products. Free wine tasting Thursday evenings from 5-7- Free wifi. A great place to meet friends.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Artisan Gourmet Market staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?