We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
100 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28560-4941 (Front St)
+1 252-514-0033
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 20:00
Tue - Thu 11:00 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 816: English reviews
Raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

After picking our friends from Connecticut up from the airport we decided to impress them by taking them to Persimmons to dine. We had a table of six and everyone's meal was excellent as was the appetizers. We dined outdoors (gotta love January weather in NC) so kudos as far as the atmosphere. However, Mandy, our server, was the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beaches17123
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Persimmons is nicely situated on the water near part of the marina. – it’s right on the Neuse River. There are tables outside for seating in warm weather. The restaurant has large glass windows so you can see outside from just about any seat – although tables by a window are coveted. The wait staff on three visits was friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank ConstantStar2016
Rolesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
245 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great food, great service and great ambiance. This was our first time at Persimmons and we couldn't have been happier. We started with the Fried Oysters. They were delicious. My wife had the Cuban sandwich. She loved it. It was a very healthy portion so we took half of it with us and I ate it that night for dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dinner was great, deck is great on water; unfortunately lunch and dinner deck bar menu is no longer available. During summer live music on the deck.

Helpful?
Thank Scott H
Amie H, Manager at Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! So glad you enjoyed your dinner with us! We are putting together a great live music list for this year and hope to see you there! More 

New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been there 3 times, twice for dinner, once for lunch. All three times we had trouble finding anything on the menu that looked remotely good to us. Its not local styled seafood and is a bunch of overpriced fluff. All 3 times we were disappointed in the food we bought. It was not good and twice it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank tugboat95
Amie H, Manager at Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your unpleasant experiences with us. We do strive to only provide local, fresh ingredients daily. I'm very sorry to hear that we did not offer anything of interest to you. We are always open to suggestions so please feel free to send me a message. More 

Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I ordered the shrimp and grits for lunch. Grits were not tender, shrimp was meh, flavor was strange with the cut tomatoes. The previous posted pictures from months ago of the same dish look better than the shrimp and grits dishes served at our table. The family members who ordered burgers were happy with their meal. Although their fries were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela T
Amie H, Manager at Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience with us. I will be passing along your concerns to our kitchen staff. I implore you to please consider giving us another chance. We strive to only be at our best on both lunch and dinner shifts. Thank you More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We traveled from CT to visit our daughter who lives here. We enjoyed Christmas Eve dinner with our family of 5. Our waitress was delightful and very knowledgeable of the menu and specials. Two of us tried the specials which did not disappoint and the other 3 ordered off the menu and said their meal was exceptional as well. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Amie H, Manager at Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us on Christmas Eve! We are so very glad that you had a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit the area! More 

Concord ma
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was all great! Food quality, service levels, room ambience. Terrific. The marble cheese cake dessert was amazing!!!

Helpful?
Thank NickMiller_Clarity
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food and service. Reservations made and was just great experience in ambience and service. Loved the waterfront scene with dining

Helpful?
Thank Tariq Q
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Persimmons is always a wonderful choice in Eastern North Carolina. Even though I live an hour away, it's worth the trip. Food is inventive, flavorful and varied. Lots of emphasis on local produce, meat and seafood. Excellent salads and vegetarian choices, too. Hard to beat the seafood dishes, in particular. The waterfront setting adds considerably to the experience and service... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChowHound28590
Amie H, Manager at Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience here with us. We look forward to seeing you in 2017! More 

Travellers who viewed Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$30 - US$30
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:30
Saturday
11:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28560-4941
    (Front St)
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  New Bern
  • Phone Number: +1 252-514-0033

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Oriental, North Carolina
6 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?