We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Thatch Inn

Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JH, England
+44 1647 24204
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good28%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We have driven past this place so many times but decided to go there last night for a birthday meal for my mum. I so wished we had stopped there before. What a delightful place. Run by the owners the atmosphere is friendly and efficient...More

Thank AMcG2014
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal with family on Friday evening, thank you. The service was great and the food delicious - with a special mention to the yummy crumble!

1  Thank catemmmett
Reviewed 24 November 2017

This is one of the coziest pubs to visit. The wood stove is great on a cold night and the food is amazing and freshly cooked. The service is great and so are so owners. This pub is a must

Thank C_L_Kenilworth
Lance M, Owner at The Old Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to make such kind comments. It's great to know the effort is worthwhile.

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Visited this friendly accommodating pub for my 60th Birthday supper🍾🍸 I found it on Google as needed somewhere between Cornwall and Devon for us to meet. They could not have been more helpful as I was unsure of numbers etc but there were loads of...More

1  Thank Sarah T
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here a number of times now and every time we just can't get enough of there food. It's beautiful. Good company and every dish is well prepared, tasty and much more. Well done guys. Can't wait for our next dish!

Thank dlsheppard
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here purely by chance as the cafe we normally stop at was closed due to a burst water main. They were doing the very best they could do with the influx. The food was excellent and so was the company.

Thank Hilary P
Management response:Responded 16 September 2017

Hi Hilary, Many thanks for your kind words. Yes a very busy day indeed but we just managed to stay afloat. Kind Regards Lance

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We pulled in for lunch on Friday 8 September to break our journey to Cornwall. Restaurant was very busy but we found a seat in the bar. There's not a massive choice on the Menu, but we only wanted basic pub food, so ordered ham,...More

Thank lindalowe70
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Very nice looking roadside thatched pub, inside quite plain. Disappointed with specials board, as half items were marked, SOLD OUT. My Chowder was reasonable, but my wife's salad was truly pathetic, most side salads we have had are better than this very poor withered main...More

3  Thank Mike B
Management response:Responded 9 September 2017

Hi Mike, I am so sorry that you had such a poor experience at the Old Thatch. As you suggest I suspect that we were on an unacceptable 'off' day, although I don't know when you came in as my staff are not aware of...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

A good test of a restaurant is when they have to cater for a large gathering. We had a pre-wedding family meal and the food and service was excellent. The pub was also very busy, so well done to them. The next day they provided...More

Thank Bodilly3
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Wanted to support our local pub. Garden was a great start, very nice and child friendly. Food was quite expensive for pub so had good expectations. My burger was very dry and had no salad with it, this is stated on the menu. No tomato...More

7  Thank Skellington V
PreviousNext
12345630
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Cheriton Bishop Hotels
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
248 reviews
3.88 miles away
Mill End Hotel
547 reviews
4.47 miles away
The Woodforde
3 reviews
4.48 miles away
The White Hart Hotel
313 reviews
4.51 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion
90 reviews
2.66 miles away
Fingle Bridge Inn
221 reviews
2.70 miles away
The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe
144 reviews
4.57 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Castle Drogo
755 reviews
3.72 miles away
Miniature Pony Centre
393 reviews
4.48 miles away
Moretonhampstead Motor Museum
142 reviews
4.62 miles away
Crackshots Paintball & Laser Tag
14 reviews
4.96 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sam G
10 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from G_Man619 | Reviewed this property |
Drove past a couple of weeks ago. Not looking busy so should get in easy enough.
2
Votes
Isabella J
1 August 2017|
Answer
Response from SimoneMarshall | Property representative |
WE are dog friendly inside and outside. We do request that dogs do not go in the flower beds. There is no dress code. Booking is recommended.
-1
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$21
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Cheriton Bishop
  • Phone Number: +44 1647 24204
  • E-mail
Description
A classic thatched country pub and restaurant, the Old Thatch Inn is in Cheriton Bishop, just off the A30, halfway between Exeter and Okehampton. Our basic menu is usually supplemented by a wide range of specials and utilises local produce wherever practical.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing