We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Thatch Inn

Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JH, England
+44 1647 24204
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good29%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“kedgeree” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here purely by chance as the cafe we normally stop at was closed due to a burst water main. They were doing the very best they could do with the influx. The food was excellent and so was the company.

Thank Hilary P
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi Hilary, Many thanks for your kind words. Yes a very busy day indeed but we just managed to stay afloat. Kind Regards Lance

Reviewed 1 week ago

We pulled in for lunch on Friday 8 September to break our journey to Cornwall. Restaurant was very busy but we found a seat in the bar. There's not a massive choice on the Menu, but we only wanted basic pub food, so ordered ham,...More

Thank lindalowe70
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice looking roadside thatched pub, inside quite plain. Disappointed with specials board, as half items were marked, SOLD OUT. My Chowder was reasonable, but my wife's salad was truly pathetic, most side salads we have had are better than this very poor withered main...More

2  Thank Mike B
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mike, I am so sorry that you had such a poor experience at the Old Thatch. As you suggest I suspect that we were on an unacceptable 'off' day, although I don't know when you came in as my staff are not aware of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good test of a restaurant is when they have to cater for a large gathering. We had a pre-wedding family meal and the food and service was excellent. The pub was also very busy, so well done to them. The next day they provided...More

Thank Bodilly3
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wanted to support our local pub. Garden was a great start, very nice and child friendly. Food was quite expensive for pub so had good expectations. My burger was very dry and had no salad with it, this is stated on the menu. No tomato...More

5  Thank Skellington V
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped of a The Old Thatch Inn on the way to our holiday in Cornwall. The food was perfectly ok but I felt that the menu choices were a bit limited. Plus all the 'triple cooked chips' were more like wedges and were heavily...More

2  Thank kmoss58
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We can't praise the staff at the Old Thatch enough. My wife and I got married mid week at Higher Eggbeer (down the road) and enquired about the pub providing a few sandwiches along with tea and coffee for our big day. Lance, Simone and...More

Thank Andrew M
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch on nightmare return journey from Cornwall. Good pub food, burger, fish and chips - all pretty good quality. Kids loved the puddings waffles with ice cream and popping candy. Very nice service.

Thank Lonlux5
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We visited the pub on our way back home from Cornwall, we had an extremely warm welcome when we arrived, the service was quick and the staff were very friendly. The menu had an excellent wide choice of food from squid rings to halloumi salad,...More

1  Thank Fran P
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Had a lovely meal last night, menu was varied and catered for all palates. Service was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend the lovely homemade mango cheesecake for dessert, and the delightful beer garden was a tranquil haven.

Thank gillbaker2017
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion
87 reviews
2.66 miles away
Fingle Bridge Inn
208 reviews
2.70 miles away
Walled Garden
77 reviews
3.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Castle Drogo
729 reviews
3.72 miles away
Moretonhampstead Motor Museum
135 reviews
4.62 miles away
Crackshots Paintball & Laser Tag
14 reviews
4.96 miles away
Stover Golf Club
13 reviews
4.67 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Isabella J
1 August 2017|
Answer
Response from SimoneMarshall | Property representative |
WE are dog friendly inside and outside. We do request that dogs do not go in the flower beds. There is no dress code. Booking is recommended.
0
Votes
julieanddavidmccoy
23 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SimoneMarshall | Property representative |
Hi, Yes it is advisable to book. Please call 01647 24204 to book your table.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$27
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Cheriton Bishop
  • Phone Number: +44 1647 24204
  • E-mail
Description
A classic thatched country pub and restaurant, the Old Thatch Inn is in Cheriton Bishop, just off the A30, halfway between Exeter and Okehampton. Our basic menu is usually supplemented by a wide range of specials and utilises local produce wherever practical.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing