We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Horse

Is this your business?
££ - £££, British,
1 Market Square | Eaton Bray, Dunstable LU6 2DG, England
+44 1525 220231
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good25%
  • Average5%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (9 reviews)
“sunday roast” (7 reviews)
“steak” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Market Square | Eaton Bray, Dunstable LU6 2DG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018

Very lovely staff, beautiful old pub and great value! We had a lovely dinner on a Saturday evening. Nice atmosphere - will definitely be back!

Thank Phil M
Tom-Dunnell, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments we look forward to seeing you on your ret

Reviewed 5 March 2018

We had lunch at the White Horse on 4 March 2018 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our table was perfectly set up with our bottle of champagne on ice. I had the Sunday lunch, gammon and sirloin and my wife had the beef smoked bacon...More

Thank eww9
Tom-Dunnell, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your kind comments its nice to know that our valued clients appreciate what we do. We know it was a special occasion and are so pleased that your plans worked out well.

Reviewed 18 January 2018

First time I visited with extended family for lunch. We were warmly greeted, offered various places to sit & attended too. The service was very attentive, food was very good, lovely ambience & atmosphere. Recommend to friends & family. Will definitely visit again.

Thank Jan W
Tom-Dunnell, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hi Jan, Thanks for your glowing review it's so nice for all of us to see that we got it right. Looking forward to seeing you all again. Tom

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink. We only had our visas and on us & the second round the payment didn’t go over £5. They wanted us to pay £5 which I refused & I offered to pay a 50p surcharge charge and it was...More

1  Thank Carla S
Tom-Dunnell, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review our pub restaurant which is particularly relevant as you told our manager CK that you work in the industry. Further to your comments I would like to add what I witnessed as events unfolded. There is no way...More

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

I took my staff out for a business lunch. The food was good and the beer excellent. I accidentally dropped my wedding ring and when I came back two days later they had it safe behind the bar. Great service and honest, caring staff. A...More

Thank PeterEdwards17
Tom-Dunnell, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hi Peter, Thanks for taking the time to tell members of the community about your positive experience. We love to hear that we get it right. Kind regards Tom

Reviewed 16 October 2017

me and my partner love our local pub, supurb food , fantastic staff just bit puddled as to why more from the village do not use it, keep up the good work tom in our eyes doing a great service

3  Thank david b
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This is a lovely independent pub/restaurant which serves great food. We visited September 2017 for lunch. My wife had the Bunkers sausage's with Bubble and Squeak and me, chicken BBQ sauce and Bunkers sausage with lyonnaise potatoes. We assume the sausages are from a local...More

1  Thank 242chris999
A TripAdvisor Member
94
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

I don't often write bad reviews but I can't help myself after visiting. We went with friends on a Friday evening expecting a traditional local pub with a friendly atmosphere and reasonably priced drinks. The pub was almost empty at 8pm in the evening with...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tom-Dunnell, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello and thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your experience. I am a little confused as to why a member of the Tripadvisor community would post an anonymous comment but I suppose you have your reasons and I...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch all the way from Norfolk. Brilliant pub. Exceptionally friendly staff. Great food. Pleasant atmosphere. How a country pub should be. Lots to do around here too. Large beer garden. Well maintained. Would highly recommended.

Thank Lisa W
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

I visited with my family as we were passing through the village. The service and atmosphere were good. I wasn't blown away by the food though. I had sausage with bubble & squeak. The sausages tasted very cheap. I'm unsure if they had been deep...More

Thank Chloe J
Tom-Dunnell, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi Chloe, and thanks for taking the time to review our lovely pub restaurant. I'm surprised that you didn't like the sausages as they are prepared by our local butcher (D&E Hines) to a recipe that is held in great regard by most who live...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Dunstable
Bellows Mill
48 reviews
1.05 miles away
Kitt's Inn Motel
5 reviews
2.78 miles away
Redwings Lodge Dunstable
203 reviews
3.12 miles away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
452 reviews
3.30 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Heirloom Cafe
7 reviews
.78 miles away
Cafe Massala
120 reviews
.71 miles away
Squirrel Licker's Arms
26 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Mead Open Farm
473 reviews
1.66 miles away
Dunstable Downs
557 reviews
2.41 miles away
Ivinghoe Beacon
117 reviews
2.60 miles away
Pitstone Green Museum
16 reviews
3.84 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Barclayman
22 October 2016|
Answer
Response from justwho | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is
1
Vote
eilssaunders
15 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Tom-Dunnell | Property representative |
I'm afraid that we are unable to take bookings on-line at the moment but you can easily book by telephone on 01525 220 231
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$36
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Market Square | Eaton Bray, Dunstable LU6 2DG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Dunstable
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 220231
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing