We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

££ - £££, British,
122 High Street, Amersham HP7 0ED, England
+44 1494 727079
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (6 reviews)
“fish cakes” (9 reviews)
“custard” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
122 High Street, Amersham HP7 0ED, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We used to visit this pub a lot, it's beautifully set in Old Amersham, charming place especially in summer its back garden is secluded and quiet. It has been redecorated and the decor has changed, everything seems to be perfect apart from one thing that...More

Thank iwona1d1s
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table for 2pm at this Busy Sunday venue. Pros: the pub is cosy and in the wonderful Old Amersham town so we suppose a lovely drive out. The roasts are large with big Yorkshire puddings and served on rectangular plates. we can...More

1  Thank nham16
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited fairly early on Sunday and ordered quickly. We waited for 50 minuets while others who had ordered after us were being served. The food was at best below average and I thought the mashed potato was instant. There seemed to be a problem...More

1  Thank h00ghie
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A casual lunch with an old chum .... ... a really nice experience on entering the Pub ... nice places to sit , attractive decor and when we went through to the restaurant area ... it all promised much. its a bit of a pity...More

1  Thank Strummer07
TheSwanAmersham, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Strummer07 Thanks for taking the time to review your experience. It great to see you liked the decor of the bar area and restaurant. It was however disappointing to learn that the quality in the food was not up to standard. The fishcakes have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off on a Sunday with small child very clean , no load music , lovely roast dinner Only negative had roast dinner the amount of veg with only two very small roast potatoes needs looking into other than that a great meal the meat...More

1  Thank Steven M
TheSwanAmersham, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Steven M Thanks for taking the time to review your Sunday Lunch visit with us yesterday (19/11/2017). It is great to see you enjoyed the atmosphere, the look of our pub and your roast dinner. It is disappointing to learn that your meal didn't...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for lunch with friends and had enjoyable food and great service. What a difference great service makes to a meal!! Our waitress Melinda was a star, did a great job and made us thoroughly welcome. Well done!More

Thank patrickzero
TheSwanAmersham, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Patrickzero Thanks for taking the time to conduct a review. We strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience on this occasion, and the service you received from Malinda. We look forward to your next visit...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The last time we visited was in August and we had an amazing meal upstairs. We went back last week and the standards were just not the same. Seated downstairs, and the ambiance and setting was not the same with bright lights and sat on...More

Thank Ps2367567
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Reviewed 31 October 2017

I am lactose intolerant and the waitress was only too helpful if speaking to the chef to adapt a dish to suit my needs. Huge portions and all very tasty. Easy to book on line. Front of house were a bit moody, but didn't really...More

Thank Lizi E
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Lizi we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day! Hopefully see you again soon Robyn

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Took a spontaneous trip to Amersham and ended up at The Swan. Good pub food, exceeded our expectations, chicken & leek pie especially tasty. There is a massive selection, even on a Sunday (including roasts). Our service was outstanding - our server Lydia was professional,...More

1  Thank Andrew G
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Andrew G, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Robyn The Swan, Amersham

Reviewed 20 October 2017

We last visited in June, when the food was good but the service left a lot to be desired. So I felt honour bound to write this review, because I visited with a friend in October and had excellent service and delicious food. It was...More

Thank JaneMay
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Jane, thank you so much for the positive review! We are glad to hear that you gave us another chance! Kind Regards Robyn

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Artichoke Restaurant
810 reviews
.25 miles away
Village Mangal
470 reviews
.78 miles away
Gilbey's - Old Amersham
480 reviews
.26 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Amersham
464 reviews
.30 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Amersham Museum
63 reviews
.19 miles away
Amersham Memorial Gardens
20 reviews
.02 miles away
St Mary's Church
20 reviews
.22 miles away
Red House Spa
19 reviews
.25 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amapola61
4 January 2015|
Answer
Response from David B | Reviewed this property |
If people who experienced 'The Swan' on Christmas day and are looking for a refund, maybe they should check their card statements first. I have yet to see any deductions. May help a little...
0
Votes
Amapola61
4 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kim B | Reviewed this property |
Contact us We want you to get the information you need as quickly as possible, so here's how to find exactly the right person to answer your query: Company address: Mitchells & Butlers plc 27 Fleet Street Birmingham  B3... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 122 High Street, Amersham HP7 0ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Amersham
  • Phone Number: +44 1494 727079
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing