We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cliveden Dining Room

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
The André Garrett Dining Room was originally the Drawing Room of the house and is a stunning south-facing spacious room which radiates with sunlight and looks out over the nineteenth-century Parterre, the gardens and River Thames. Its classical elegance and fine works of art give it an enviable touch of romance, and bring the history for which Cliveden is famous to life. Lunch and dinner are served here, offering classic English dishes combined with Cliveden's extensive cellar book. At lunchtimes, chose from the Market menu which offers tremendous value or from the more extensive a la carte selection. At dinner, enjoy award-winning modern classic English cuisine with dishes brimming with fresh
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$127
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
British, European
FEATURES
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
336
88
56
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
336
88
56
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu turbot macaroons petit fours bread beef mousse cobb salad potatoes truffle sandwiches filet market menu andre garrett special occasion cliveden house national trust
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 518 reviews
Reviewed today

In a setting as glorious as the Cliveden Estate, one hopes not to be disappointed by the atmosphere or the food. I needn't have worried... it is first rate on both counts. Those who remember the place as an exclusive, private members club may be...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Chingachgookparrot
Reviewed 4 days ago

The dining room is absolutely stunning complete with luxurious decor and crystal chandeliers. Our food was very unique and beautifully presented. We highly recommend trying this restaurant if you're ever in the area!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank mmrutland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have eaten here in both dlning room’s the down stairs dining is the best more intimate theTerrace is like being in a fish bowl at lunchtime if you are near the window .

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Chris D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The afternoon tea at Cliveden was just fabulous! A new menu, with the bottom tier made up of lovely finger sandwiches plus small egg+ cress brioches + chicken wraps. The middle tier was 4 x dinky delicious quiches + 2 of the best sausage rolls...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Sue_and_TonyR
FSMacedo, Manager at The Cliveden Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sue_and_TonyR Delighted to read your amazing feedback of our afternoon tea; It was a pleasure to read that your really enjoyed our newly launched afternoon tea Menu; and everything on offer We look forward to welcome you back, Sincerely, Francisco

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous lunch . Every mouthful of food was delicate and delicious . The twist on the rice pudding simply sensational ! Service was incredible and so informatively friendly Unrushed pleasure

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank AZALEA1965
FSMacedo, Manager at The Cliveden Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Azalea1965 Thank you for the amazing review; I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and both the food and service was incredible. Look forward to welcome you back very soon; Kind regards Francisco

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After my less than favourable review of the other restaurant on site, The Astor Grill, I’m pleased to leave a much better review of the Dining Room. Very friendly and efficient staff. Food was excellent. Yes it’s a bit pricey but given the surroundings and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank EscapedTheCity
FSMacedo, Manager at The Cliveden Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear EscapedTheCity Thank you for the lovely review! Please do not let your last experience at the Astor Grill; deter you of coming back as it is now better than ever! We look forward to welcome you back; Best wishes; Francisco

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our lunch here today. The dining room works very well - comfortable, with "comfortable" food prepared very well. Had the best chateaubriand ever. Obviously great setting with superb views. A great place for a leisurely lunch and great conversation.More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank TheGlobalGrownUp
FSMacedo, Manager at The Cliveden Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TheGlobalGrownup; Thank you for the amazing review; I am delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us; and had the best Chateaubriand ever! I am a bit bias; but I have to agree! We look forward to welcome you back; maybe afternoon tea next...More

Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

The venue in the great hall for afternoon tea is amazing. We were a small group celebrating a friend’s birthday and to our delight the staff were happy to play along with our surprise. They even welcomed my friend’s dog which was a relief. The...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JDbluesky
FSMacedo, Manager at The Cliveden Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JDbluesky Thank you for the overall great review of your afternoon tea with us; I am delighted that you found our team to be friendly and welcoming; but i note your feedback on the replenishment of the sandwiches and I will ensure we focus...More

Reviewed 6 January 2019

I have been here several times over the years. Whilst the staff were great, I thought the fare was at best average. Shell in the Portland Crab, and the saffron fondant potato was stodgy. Considering the price tag I was disappointed. All six of us...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Argonauticus
FSMacedo, Manager at The Cliveden Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Dear Argonauticus; Thank you for your review; I am sorry to hear of your disappointment on this occasion. Please do not let this deter you of coming back as we are launching our new menu with our new Head Chef and believe me when I...More

Reviewed 29 December 2018

We were a party of four, today. Overall satisfaction 100% The Dining Room is spacious and comfortable. Service was very good, although the young people doing the service seemed nervous. Management needs to cheer them up! We are foodies and we had a great time;...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Simon M
FSMacedo, Manager at The Cliveden Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Dear Simon Thank you for the overall very positive review; and I am delighted that the view did not disappoint. We look forward to welcome you back, Best wishes, Francisco

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Cliveden House
1,408 reviews
.02 miles away
CIM Moor Hall
144 reviews
1.02 miles away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
152 reviews
1.13 miles away
The Pines Hotel
66 reviews
1.23 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 12 nearby restaurants
Anong Thai
215 reviews
.88 miles away
Bel and the Dragon
745 reviews
.84 miles away
Afternoon Tea at Cliveden House
121 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 7 nearby attractions
Stanley Spencer Gallery
164 reviews
.87 miles away
Keg Craft Beer
39 reviews
1.83 miles away
Hitcham Dairy Ice Cream
88 reviews
1.89 miles away
Burnham Beeches
89 reviews
2.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mrscarolineswain
23 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HUNTERCHERTSEYSURREY | Reviewed this property |
I don't know why this has been sent to me. You can view the menu on line
0
Votes
Gwen B
8 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MaggieG02 | Reviewed this property |
Three of us had Chateaubriand, which on this day wasn't served as a two person dish as it usually is. It was really superb. Whatever you choose though I'm sure will be really delicious. Regards Margaret
0
Votes
DCtravler244
2 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Liztheclarke | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can - but as this is a National Trust (NT) property there is an extra charge unless you are a NT member.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing