We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£25 - £45
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (119)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
81
15
8
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
81
15
8
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sorbet halibut roast lamb sausage rolls sunday lunch community pub private dining room shropshire gold lovely quality great beer enjoyable lunch drinks menu waiting on staff the portion size main course great pub excellent food
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I visited on a Saturday lunchtime. It was our first visit, and we were aware of the White Lion having a good reputation. We were greeted warmly and offered to sit in any area. In fact we were treated warmly throughout our...visit, and enjoyed the relaxed and unrushed time we had hoped for. We dined from the daily menu, and our choices for all three courses resulted in delicious food. The arinicini and the salmon fishcake were particularly special.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Limited menu today. Took my family for an Easter treat. Never again. Very expensive, just under £300 for 11 of us, of which 1 was a child's meal,another was just a starter. Over cooked burgers and scampi. Very dry, scampi virtually none existant after over...cooking.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The White Lion Hankelow, General Manager at The White Lion, Hankelow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Sharon, I am so sorry you were not satisfied with your meals I believe our General Manager did speak with you on the day but once again apologies you did not enjoy the food. I am sorry you feel that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall a great experience, nice relaxed lunch time meal, the only negative was having to ask for chips that should have been served with one of the meals, which was rectified quickly. Service was great, will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The White Lion Hankelow, General Manager at The White Lion, Hankelow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ken, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. Apologies we missed the chips but are glad we got it all sorted for you. We look forward to seeing you again at The White Lion. Regards Sian

Reviewed 17 March 2024

Very disappointed. Thought it was somewhere special to go. Arrived at 12.30 ate at 2PM. Had sharing roast for 3. Meat was ok if you like it rare. Little veg for 3. Other visitors were served well before us even though they arrived well after...us. Don't push your sharing roast if you can't deliverMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The White Lion Hankelow, General Manager at The White Lion, Hankelow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with your visit and we have passed your feedback onto the relevant departments. This is not our usual standard and as you say other guests had no issues...More

Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

Excellent food and service highly recommended. We drink here a lot and attend the quiz night which us great fun. Great area for waking too

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The White Lion Hankelow, General Manager at The White Lion, Hankelow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ian, Thank you for your 5 star review we are so pleased you enjoy The White Lion, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards Sian

Reviewed 25 February 2024

We booked as a table of 12 with 2 high chairs at 2pm. We arrived and were told our table wasn’t ready yet and to take a seat at the bar, all good we understand! Half an hour later we were still there and had...to go up to the bar to ask if our table was ready to which they replied ‘they are paying their bill now’. Ten minutes pass and we were taken to our table. No cutlery, no menus, 1 high chair and no offer of further drinks. We then had to order more drinks at the bar to which our water was forgotten. And also ask for menus then further again ask for children’s menus. We then asked for another high chair, as booked, to which we got the response ‘ they’re being used at the moment, my manager said I can’t kick babies out of chairs.’ - we think she was trying to be funny but given she was clearly flustered it didn’t come off that way 😂 Twenty minutes later and we had to go to the bar again to ask if someone could actually take our order… and ask for our jug of water again. We ordered and 40 minutes later, three screaming kids, starters arrived. Lovely food! After clearing our table, it was a further hours wait for our mains! And again, no offer or further drinks and we had to order from the bar. Table at 2pm and at 4.05pm we still hadn’t eaten, no apology or explanation of time delays. Tables not cleared, no offer of dessert even for the kids to which we had to order at the bar. 20 minute wait for the bill. Food was lovely though, and I understand the service industry having worked in it myself but perhaps a bit of acknowledgement of the wait times would have helped us feel a little bit less upset. A meal out is a once in a blue moon luxury these days, especially for an occasion such as my son’s birthday! And we just felt forgotten about. This was our first bad experience at the white lion, every other time has been amazing! Perhaps just an off day, but otherwise disappointing end to my son’s birthday weekend.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The White Lion Hankelow, General Manager at The White Lion, Hankelow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you for leaving a review and We are so sorry to hear of your experience. I will be in contact directly to discuss further and try to make amends for your disappointment. Regards Sian

Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

This could have been an amazing experience but was let down by being led to a dirty table, our order not being taken and no sauce for the steak. On arrival the service was great until we were left at the table without wine for...20 mins so went to the bar to order. The starters were nice but a little basic and needed some pizazz. Mains were good but steak had no sauce which meant it was a dry plate of food, you can’t serve a steak without a choice of sauces. The steak was actually delicious so had a sauce been available it would have been great. Fishcakes are huge, tasty, and filling. Wine was great too. This could be an amazing place to dine with a few tweaks.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The White Lion Hankelow, General Manager at The White Lion, Hankelow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

We are so sorry you did not have the best experience and as you say some small mistakes clearly let us down. I have passed your comments onto our Chef and front of house team. We are working hard on training what is a very...More

Reviewed 29 January 2024

I came to the White Lion with friends for dinner on Burn's Night. The evening was excellent with great food and drink and company. I chose the black pudding starter, followed by Haggis and then Cranachan. The White Lion goes from strength to strength and...simply mellows as time moves on.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The White Lion Hankelow, General Manager at The White Lion, Hankelow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Hi Nigel, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you had a great evening it certainly has had some fantastic feedback. We have many more events planned this year so keep your eye out on our social media pages. Thanks again GM

Reviewed 17 December 2023 via mobile

An enjoyable Christmas meal with friends and a comfortable bed in a well-appointed room with character and charm. Good breakfast too. This is a community-run establishment and deserves support.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2023

Had a really good evening with family . The food was delicious and we all had different. The service was excellent. Very relaxed atmosphere would definitely visit again .

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The White Lion Hankelow, General Manager at The White Lion, Hankelow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Hi Cheryl, Thank you for your review and apologies for th Elat reply we have had a few technical difficulties. We are delighted you had a great evening with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Gm

Reviewed 11 December 2023

We had been to this pub in September earlier this year, and had a lovely time. So, thought that as a special treat for my mum, we would bring her here for a Christmas lunch. Now, obviously it being just two or so weeks out...from Christmas, I booked this several weeks ago, and called and checked that we would be able to order off the Christmas menu, as well as the normal menu, as the website wasn't clear. The gentleman we spoke to was very reassuring and confirmed everything. When we arrived, the relatively small car park was half taken over with a Christmas fair, which meant we had to park on the grass of the village green opposite. So had many other cars, and it was pretty grotty and dirty. Not the best idea with such a busy Sunday, I would have thought, but still it was what it was. We were shown to our table, which was in a lovely little alcove area. This place really does have some lovely decoration and details - it was warm and welcoming. The place has a great atmosphere too, really nice. We were asked what drinks we wanted before we had even sat down, and asked for a couple of minutes to decide...25 minutes later and our table was finally asked for a drinks and food order. I had asked for their Christmas menu (having previously rang to check we could order from it) and I was told that they weren't serving the Christmas menu today, just the normal Sunday menu. This was very disappointing, as I did chose this venue over others, because of the Christmas menu. :( The food and drinks arrived at the same time, and we started to demolish what looked like two lovely roast beef dinners and a roast turkey dinner. But, the sprouts were not just under-cooked (I like them undercooked) but they were verging on raw. Totally inedible. The green beens weren't much better, but could just be eaten...the beef was so sinew-ridden that it became a chore to cut it and try and find the meat from the ligament. It was disgusting. The beef was so tough and of a poor quality, that I ended up having to cut my mum's meat up to try and get her some meat to eat. She is by no means an old lady who needs her meat cutting up...and I struggled with hers. The table-check happened at the end of the meal, and I complained, and the staff were very attentive in listening and when the bill came one of the meals was taken off the price, which was kind. We were brought the dessert menu but then had to wait another 25 minutes for someone to come and take our dessert order. The gentleman that took the order bought them over about 15 minutes later and when placed the cheese and biscuits in front of me said, that he knows the person in the kitchen has given me the wrong cheese, but that he couldn't remember what I had said. So instead of checking with me, he brought out an order which he knew was incorrect. He did offer to then go and get me the right cheese. But really... But at this point, we had been in the pub for nearly two hours and has one drink and two courses. Both of which were wrong or not very nice to eat. We just wanted to leave. I was so disappointed for my mum, as this was her Christmas meal out with us before we leave the country for a while. I have to say that all of the staff were very nice, but the service was slow and the food was just not very nice. Our expectations of the place were not met, and whilst it was probably because they were so busy... it is not to be surprised on one of the weekends in the lead-up to Christmas. Disappointing and would be wary about going back.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023

Lovely Sunday dinner, turkey and all the trimmings, even Xmas crackers, great service, just right and enjoyed with visiting family.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Cosy pub, very welcoming, and as good as a Sunday lunch you can get. Serving staff very attentive. Highly recommended

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

Fantastic venue refurbished with care. Friendly and efficient team. Food brilliant and suitable for children too which is a great bonus. We’ve eaten here a few times now and will be back! Thanks team White Lion! :-)

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2023

Beautiful cosy pub with friendly and attentive staff. Fast service and lovely food. Will definitely be back :)

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Crewe Nantwich Hotel
693 reviews
4.45 miles away
The Crown Hotel
528 reviews
4.52 miles away
The Cheshire Cat
312 reviews
4.58 miles away
Warner Hotels - Alvaston Hall Hotel
4,199 reviews
5.73 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Lord Combermere
601 reviews
1.32 miles away
The Swan Inn
561 reviews
3.31 miles away
Garden Kitchen
6 reviews
3.50 miles away
Bhurtpore Inn
322 reviews
3.93 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Overwater Marina
33 reviews
1.23 miles away
Cholmondley Pageant of Power
38 reviews
2.53 miles away
BeWILDerwood Cheshire
339 reviews
3.27 miles away
Audlem Lass Boat Service
34 reviews
1.31 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Lion, Hankelow staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE WHITE LION, HANKELOW, Crewe - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The White Lion, Hankelow

The White Lion, Hankelow is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5