We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
447
168
69
38
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
447
168
69
38
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews linguine burger sea bass pudding fish and chips afternoon tea stayed here room was spotless on arrival evening meal lovely place sunday lunch food was lovely lovely evening conservatory wallpaper toiletries
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing experience from start to finish, check in was swift, informative and friendly! Manager with dark hair, told us all about the property and was really friendly, which showed with the rest of the staff. The cocktails were flowing - you must have a margarita!...Service in ALL aspects of the hotel was perfect, not too intrusive but spot on. We have nibbles, pigs in blankets, Camembert which was lovely and then Chicken Skewer which was so tasty! Rooms were comfortable and the extras were lovely. Can I also mention that the live music is fantastic, we were recommended this hotel/restaurant due to the live music and it did not disappoint! Can't wait to come back already!!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, Marketing at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we will share with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many Thanks, The Flat Cap Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fab experience! Saturday night, great atmosphere, fabulous service all the way through the journey. Really attentive staff, who’ve clearly been trained well! The restaurant itself is beautiful, live music was amazing! Now for the food, it was all presented perfectly, I had Camembert to stare...which was perfect, with rosemary and garlic! Then I had the satay chicken skewer - it was amazing! Can’t wait to come back and try the bottomless and Sunday lunch! My new favourite place!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, Marketing at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we will share with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many Thanks, The Flat Cap Team

Reviewed 13 April 2022

Service from our waiter Harvey was excellent. Quality of food very mixed. My wife had chicken parmigiano. The chips with it were cold but very quickly replaced. The chicken dish unfortunately was very greasy and my wife only ate part of this. It turned out...that it was deep fried not pan fried. We flagged to Harvey who offered a complementary dessert.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, Marketing at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent visit to us. We take all feedback on board, we will share with Harvey your comments. We are sorry to hear there were a few minor issues that were resolved on the...More

Reviewed 4 April 2022 via mobile

Lovely Sunday roast, attentive service, fantastic kids menu & lovely drinks and music. Last time we came to the Vicarage about a year ago, we were disappointed with the service and food but wanted to try it again. We booked for a Sunday roast a...couple of days before with 4 adults and 2 children. We were served quickly and attentively by the brunette waitress with curly hair (didn’t get her name but she was lovely and smiley) and the children were well catered for with great sized portions. All in all, great service, clean tables, fantastic music and lovely cocktails. Nothing was too much trouble. It’s on the pricier side for a Sunday roast but was lovely quality food. We will be back, thank you!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, General Manager at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback and trying us out again. We will share with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many Thanks, The Flat Cap Team

Reviewed 4 April 2022

Visited on a Sunday, a group of 4 of us. Things were a bit slow to start but nothing unreasonable throughout the starters. When it came to mains everything just fell apart, ordered a vegetarian roast that had two different types of meat on it....Takes an extremely incompetent chef to not understand what makes a vegetarian dish vegetarian. After being promised a completely fresh veggie meal, all they did was take the meat off and send the same food back out, the potatoes were already cut and the nut roast was missing a bite. So after sending it back again it was returned with the same plate and the promise that all the food was fresh, it wasn’t but as it had been 10 minutes since everyone else had started eating and we just wanted to eat. The food was average and the chef clearly doesn’t have an understanding of the ingredients that go into their menu. Now onto the service, Heidi our main server is the only person in this place that can do their job, in fact she excels, and has to work three times as hard as anyone else to pick up the slack around her, of which there is a lot of slack to pick up. Rounds of drinks were ordered and only some showed up. Someone cleared away half the plates and then never came back again. We were promised fresh cutlery after the chefs contamination job, never showed up, asked for some cutlery again, never showed up, fortunately had leftover cutlery on the table from the starters that was never cleared so we could actually eat before the food went colder. After the horrendous service and receiving contaminated food because the chef can’t read their own menu and doesn’t understand basic allergen information, the management had the audacity to charge us full price for that meal. Just, utterly shambolic service from top to bottom, except for Heidi who deserves a raise for carrying this place on her back.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, General Manager at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2022

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent visit to us. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and we will be discussing as a team to ensure this doesn't happen for any of our...More

Reviewed 4 April 2022 via mobile

Fantastic mid week meal! The only place to have ambience and a great team. The lady manager was great very hands on looking after the team. It was a fabulous welcome. The food was lovely, all presented excellently. The duck was so flavoursome. Service spot...on, by a young boy who’s name I really wish I got. Thank you for a wonderful experienceMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, Marketing at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback, I will share with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many Thanks, The Flat Cap Team

Reviewed 2 April 2022

I would not recommend anyone to stay at this “hotel” on the basis of “any issues will be ignored”. That and the plumbing in our room didn’t work and you couldn’t flush the toilet. As well as depending on what room your put into you’ll...be woken up by bottles being thrown into the bins. After we complained and moved into a different room we were put in a room next to the bins ! And that was after I had a call before my stay to upsell, offering me an “executive room” at an extra £35 per night with all these great extras!! The toilet didn’t work and we had to use the public toilets until another room was ready and half of the “extras” promised on the phone were not in the room and the ones that were weren’t replenished the following day. After a rather unpleasant call with the General Manager when I had returned home (we were ignored and never contacted whilst there even though we returned to reception various times) she agreed to refund 1 x £35, to date no refund ever received. I had requested 3 x £35 as I felt that fair given I had not received neither the “extras” nor a toilet that worked (which most basic rooms have!). I did not think this was unreasonable and I thought quite fair and justified, the GM did not. Appalled by the lack of customer service at this hotel, never experienced such a unprofessional conversation with a GM, with an attitude of disinterest in the problems experienced. Yet I’ve had to pay for this awful stay and at an upgraded fee!!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, General Manager at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking your time to share your review with us. The toilet was only made aware to us that it was out of action on the last day of your stay and at which point we moved you to a new...More

Reviewed 30 March 2022

We stayed in the hotel which was amazing very clean and perfect for an overnight stay. We had the steak deal, 2 rump steaks and a bottle of wine for £25 great deal! Service was spot on, all the staff working really hard with smiles....Food was really flavoursome and The restaurant is brilliant, great atmosphere! Keep this up, we can’t wait to return for a weekend, as you offer so much!!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, Marketing at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we will share with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many Thanks, The Flat Cap Team

Reviewed 29 March 2022 via mobile

Absolutely amazing experience. Mother’s Day was amazing, the staff from the managers, the food was spot on you could tell everything was homemade. The roast was to Die for especially with the celeriac purée made even better with a bowl of cauliflower cheese. Thank you...so much, the gift for mum was so throughtful!!! 10/10 well done, I’ll be back again and again!!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, Marketing at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we will share with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many Thanks, The Flat Cap Team

Reviewed 28 March 2022

Room was clean.Stayed for two nights Breakfast was cold and very small portions. Would not stay there again if i.was in the area.Had to ask for tea or coffee and cutlery.at breakfast.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Charli M, General Manager at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent visit to us. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and we will be discussing as a team to ensure this doesn't happen for any of our...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
291 reviews
.03 miles away
De Vere Cranage Estate
1,658 reviews
.57 miles away
Chimney House Hotel
875 reviews
3.86 miles away
Travelodge Northwich Lostock Gralam
416 reviews
5.85 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
De Vere Cranage Estate
195 reviews
.56 miles away
The George & Dragon
627 reviews
.37 miles away
Don Alberto
369 reviews
.41 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Beer Emporium Bottle Bank
47 reviews
.43 miles away
Woodside Golf Club
10 reviews
1.35 miles away
Delta Force Paintball Holmes Chapel
146 reviews
1.87 miles away
Red Lion Goostrey
38 reviews
1.95 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
janetfal
21 July 2020|
Answer
Response from 577RichardF577 | Reviewed this property |
Yes.
1
Vote
johnburtonactor
23 June 2019|
Answer
Response from | Property representative |
Hi Thanks for your enquiry. Checkin is from 2pm.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms

The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4