We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#7 of 18 Bar in Widnes
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$22
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
70
18
21
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
70
18
21
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch steak pie salt and pepper chicken tiramisu sea bass onion rings mash pudding independent pub cosy pub lovely decor drinks menu car park staff were attentive three courses sharing platter
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 December 2020

I have just come home from having a meal here and all I can say I'm very disappointed, waited a while to be served,then waited for a while again once my food had come to the table Sea Bass and Muscles it was cold, I...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Nice venue but a disorganised booking system, no common sense used when people arrive a bit earlier and late guests seem to take preference I ordered a started but it took 15 mins for the staff to tell me it wasn’t available... then another member...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
The Dandelion Tavern, Marketing at The Dandelion Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Hi, thank you very much for your review, as we apologetically explained to you on Saturday evening due to you being early for your booking your allocated table still had diners finishing up their meals . As we state when booking we allocate a two...More

Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Went for dinner on the 12-12-20 booked and arrived 5 min early just ahead of another couple who also booked dinner for 2. We where told our table wasn’t ready yet and to stand at the bar. They however where seated straight away, we got...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
The Dandelion Tavern, Marketing at The Dandelion Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Hi, thank you very much for your review, as we apologetically explained to you on Saturday evening due to you being early for your booking your allocated table still had diners finishing up their meals . As we state when booking we allocate a two...More

Reviewed 10 December 2020

Came today with a friend (same household) and the food was second to none and the cocktails were even better. We had a lovely waitress called carrie who was very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Will be back again very soon.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 December 2020

Had a lovely meal and drinks in what I felt was a relaxed but safe covid secure environment. The staff are really lovely and friendly (staff that look happy in their work) they definitely make you feel at home. Best pub around here for miles...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Great food, lovely staff and a fantastic venue. Our little girl loved her Halloween goody bag too!! :-)

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 October 2020

Visited the dandelion for Sunday lunch yesterday. The food was lovely and received excellent service Reasonably priced as well Will return in the near future

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Came here on very busy Friday evening. A friendly young lady greeted us at the door and took us to our table and explained the menu and mask rules! We ordered the sharing board which may I add was absolutly AMAZING! Everything from start to...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 October 2020

I have eaten at the Dandelion tavern on several occasions now and have been satisfied every single time! Not just at the amazing food served, but the staff who serve you. They are always a delight to see. Always greeted with a friendly smile and...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 21 October 2020

The Dandelion was bad, table service! Half hour get 1st drink, Starters White onion & Parmesan soup was 5*, then an hour n half wait for mains , with no offer of drinks whilst waiting, Beef dinner, arrived looked good but, was luke warm, under-cooked...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
480 reviews
.79 miles away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill hotel
366 reviews
1.33 miles away
Premier Inn St. Helens South hotel
364 reviews
2.07 miles away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
588 reviews
2.08 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pesto Widnes
887 reviews
.98 miles away
The Upton Tavern
331 reviews
.87 miles away
The Observatory
811 reviews
.80 miles away
Upton Fish Bar
63 reviews
.89 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Victoria Park
253 reviews
1.59 miles away
Coach & Horses Rainhill
14 reviews
2.07 miles away
Widnes Market
95 reviews
2.13 miles away
DCBL Stadium Halton
8 reviews
1.85 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Cathprague17
29 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lelly57 | Reviewed this property |
HI,They serve an amazing Sunday lunch.£15 for 3 courses.Veg option.Delish.
0
Votes
Mobile50212729364
29 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Anne O | Reviewed this property |
dont know sorry not been on a sunday
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Dandelion Tavern
    How is The Dandelion Tavern rated?
    The Dandelion Tavern is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4