We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
+44 19467 26229
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 237: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We went for lunch, which was totally unexpected. Our lunch was great. And pudding too. And the ale. All very tasty indeed. Dogs allowed too. My only gripe is that the young girl serving my husband wasn't capable of answering questions about ingredients and allergies. I suffer with life threatening allergies and she grunted at my husband and said she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lottie R
Will_Ritson, Owner at Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, and I'm glad you enjoyed the food and drink. I'm sorry that the new staff member had not been properly trained, this has now been rectified. Our menus do show the relevant allergy warnings and it should of course be easy for the bar staff to check directly with the chefs in case of a... More 

North West
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

worth the trek along Wasdale lake. Been twice this year and the food is large portions and all home made. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestJohno69
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

Ate in the bar not restaurant wide choice on menu I had the steak pie quite a large portion great after walking all day on the fells one down side this dogs are allowed inthe bar that,s OK but they are allow to sit on the seats at the tables and be fed off the seats this is not very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kevin d
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

Like a prisoner, you are limited as to where you can eat in the Wasdale area. The use of frozen heated up food seems to prevail in this village. Simply put, they cannot cook here. I was stopped by tourists whilst walking my dog around Wasdale village and asked where to eat here? I said to eat in Eskdale as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise S
Will_Ritson, Owner at Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn, responded to this review

It is not true that we serve frozen food, and certainly not "heated up frozen dog food". All of our food is freshly prepared and cooked on the premises. Bread is either cooked on the premises (rolls) or delivered fresh 6 days a week (loaves). Many of the desserts (including the cheesecakes) are made on the premises. The chips that... More 

Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Started our walk from the car park near the pub and finished at the pub. Very busy, good quality food at sensible prices and a good selection of drinks. We had to sit outside as it was so busy but as the weather was fine it wasn't a problem. Views of the surrounding area are superb.

Helpful?
Thank Pete S
Cheshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

After a day walkingin Wasdale, or if you are staying in the nearby B&Bs or camps, Ritsons Bar at the Wasdale Head Inn is the only real show in town and is built to cater for the type of clientele it will get - campers, walkers, weekenders etc. The Bar serves good honest british favourites in large portions to fill... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peems
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

We camped in the tiny camp field next to this pub, so took the opportunity to enjoy a meal in this restaurant following our descent. The restaurant was busy, good choice of food on the menu and portions were large.

Helpful?
Thank Thisisour0pinion
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Husband was delighted with lamb stew which he said was chunky and very tasty especially the Rosemary dumplings. Worked very with Ennerdale Brewery's 'Darkest' a locally brewed porter. My 89 year mam found the seats (pews) a little uncomfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

I was very disappointed with the food here. I decided to walk from the campsite at Wasdale and get some lunch. The portion size was big but the food was not nice. The chips were standard oven chips and a little hard and the scampi was very watery. Whilst I was waiting for my food the people behind the bar... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vixie84
Will_Ritson, Owner at Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. Our chips are made from fresh potoaoes and are fried on the premises, they are not oven chips. We always offer a replacement or full refund to anyone who is not satisfied with their food, had you mentioned the issue at the time we could have done this for you too,... More 

Upholland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We ate here as it is the only place in the area. The food was lovely, very good portions and the service excellent. Prices are very good. However, a very big negative. Dogs everywhere. We only stayed for about an hour, in that time there were three dog fights. Why do people think it is acceptable to let their pet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
Will_Ritson, Owner at Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, and I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with dogs. Many walkers have dogs and the majority (of both owners and dogs!) are considerate and well behaved and appreciate being allowed in after a day on the fells. That said, it is unfortunately the case that some dog owners allow their pets to behave... More 

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn also viewed

Holmrook, Seascale
Nether Wasdale, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Troutbeck, Lake District
 

Been to Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19 - US$37
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Wasdale Head
  • Phone Number: +44 19467 26229
Description
The world famous Ritson's Bar and Residents' Bar provide a warm welcome for thirsty, hungry and walk-weary guests, 365 days of the year!

Ritson's Bar is named after the first landlord, Will Ritson - huntsman, wrestler, farmer, fellsman, guide, raconteur, and the first "World's Biggest Liar". Today the bar is where everyone congregates after a day on the fells, to talk and enjoy the good wholesome bar meals and real ales. In winter most keep warm beside the log burning stove, the garden and beckside tables gaining in popularity as the summer approaches.

The Dining Room provides for the heartiest appetite but in a style that has won many awards, and with particular acclamation for breakfast. Service is relaxed and dress codes are informal. High standards of cuisine are maintained.

We specialise in Herdwick lamb & mutton when available.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?