We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Following the latest Government announcement, we will be temporarily closing our doors from Thursday 5th November until Thursday 3rd December. Please visit our website to keep up-to-date with the latest reopening information. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$16
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
318
237
123
100
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
318
237
123
100
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry salmon fish and chips travel lodge alton towers chain pub family pub play area evening meal pleasant staff food was lovely car park travelodge rotisserie
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 November 2020 via mobile

Avoid at all costs! Waiter who seated us had hygiene problems, the whole bar and food area smell of body odour. Waitress couldn’t be bothered to serve us told us we all had too much to drink! Half of our party was still under the...More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2020

Hi Charlie, Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry you feel this way, Firstly you never mentioned any issues with your food when dining with us, if you did we would have rectified this for you. You were refused service after necking several double gins,...More

Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

We were staying at the travel lodge next door and booked a table in the Stepping Stones. The food and drink was spot on and the staff very friendly and attentive. Would recommend and the Covid regulations were adhered to although did feel a little...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Hi Steve Thanks for the great feedback We hope to see you again in the future :) Regards Paul, Tina and The Stepping Stone Team

Reviewed 29 October 2020

We recently visited the stepping stones whilst staying at the Travelodge across the road. The service was excellent even under the current pandemic, staff were friendly and willing to go above and beyond to make our visit relaxed. The food was lovely. Would highly recommend...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2020

Hi Betty, Thanks for the great review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and will pass your feedback onto the team, Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Paul, Tina and The Stepping Stones Team

Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

We have been twice now this week. No problem at all. The staff were lovely and friendly. Food was a limited menu but still plenty to choose from. I would eat here again.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2020

Hi Nikki Thanks for the great review, Thanks for the great feedback We hope to see you again soon Regards Paul, Tina and the Stepping Stones Team

Reviewed 9 October 2020 via mobile

It’s a nice place, we came here after visiting a few other establishments around the area and thought the was the nicest place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff were all very good without any problems,the food was ok as well.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2020

Hi Thanks for your review, Happy Anniversary, really pleased that you chose us and everything was good. Hope to see you again soon Regards Paul, Tina and The Stepping Stones Team

Reviewed 9 October 2020

Genuinely good staff. Table service was quick and friendly. Fish and chips spot on and the beer was good too.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2020

Hi Tom Really appreciate the great feedback and we are really pleased that you enjoyed dining with us. Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Paul, Tina and The Stepping Stones Team

Reviewed 16 September 2020

Service, staff, attitude to customers and the whole experience of present restrictions was absolutely fantastic..

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Hi Robert Thanks for the great feedback, we hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Paul, Tina and The Stepping Stones Team

Reviewed 5 September 2020 via mobile

We nipped in as we fancied a cheeky drink and a pudding, unfortunately slightly disappointed with our puddings, my friend had the cheesecake and when it arrived the biscuits on the top were soggy, and I had a melt in the middle pudding, was slightly...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Hi Amy Thanks for your review, I am sorry that the cheesecake wasn't up to our usual great standard and I am sorry we ran out of cream. Hope to see you again soon Kind regards Paul Dalrymple General manager

Reviewed 4 September 2020 via mobile

After a long day at Alton towers this was the perfect place to come to! Our waitress (didn’t get her name really sorry) was absolutely lovely and friendly and gave directions on where to find breakfast the next morning. All your staff were polite and...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2020

Hi Thanks for your great review, We have a great team here at the Stepping Stones and they all work very hard so its always nice when they get the recognition they deserve we really do appreciate it. I am pleased you enjoyed dining with...More

Reviewed 30 August 2020 via mobile

Myself and my son are staying at the travelodge next door so popped in to see if we could get some food. Seated straight away, and from sitting down to having our food in front of us was within half an hour. Food was delicious,...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
TheSteppingStones, General Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Hi Thanks for the great review, we are really pleased you enjoyed dining with us. I will pass on your feedback to the team and hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Paul, Tina and The Stepping Stones Team.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
603 reviews
.06 miles away
The Station Hotel
379 reviews
.64 miles away
Callow Hall Hotel (The Hive 2019)
353 reviews
.81 miles away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
942 reviews
3.55 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lamplight Restaurant
440 reviews
.81 miles away
Cafe Impromptu
305 reviews
.75 miles away
The Royal Oak Hotel Restaurant
271 reviews
.73 miles away
Anayas Bombay streets
399 reviews
.78 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St Oswald's Church
60 reviews
.53 miles away
Ashbourne Tunnel
129 reviews
.53 miles away
Ashbourne Taxis
9 reviews
.15 miles away
Maison Du Biere
14 reviews
.69 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Leanne1898
27 March 2018|
Answer
Response from laulaura | Reviewed this property |
we went there around 8ish and they still served food. you should be OK.
0
Votes
Google Translation
angelaB2583VK
6 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from JANET B | Reviewed this property |
Mappleton restaurant that is dog friendly, whatever its size, is the Okeover Arms, if the Stepping Stones outdoor area is not suitable due to weather or temperature conditions.
1
Vote
Robert W
22 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Grace M | Reviewed this property |
What did they say? I find that even as a regular I am greeted with sour faces and bad attitudes. I think the staff need to be provided with more well-being and support if the job is so bad they take it out on customers.
-2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stepping Stones
    How is Stepping Stones rated?
    Stepping Stones is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 3.5
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 4