We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Bowling Green

££ - £££, British,
East Bank | Winster Peak National Park DE4 2DS, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DS, England
+44 1629 650219
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (8 reviews)
“scampi” (8 reviews)
“curry” (7 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
East Bank | Winster Peak National Park DE4 2DS, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An excellent range of quality pub grub, well cooked and served, drinks were fine too. Shame its only part time.More

Thank Peter B
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your comments, and we note your disappointment that we open restricted hours. Would that we could be open 24/7 but not only economic but also health reasons prohibit this I am afraid. We try to cater for a need rather than create a...More

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

I pre booked a table for 12 on a Sunday lunch & not one person in the party had a bad word to say, great home cooked food !! All would definitely eat here again if we are in the area. Thank you for taking...More

1  Thank jojowoolybak
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your very kind comments are really appreciated, by us as owners and our staff who avidly read the reviews too. The "British" way of not commenting when all is ok seems to be under threat from TripAdvisor where people take the time and trouble to...More

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Very busy and plenty of reserved tables in glorious sunny bank holiday weekend. We were spotted by I think the charming owner and she instantly checked with the kitchen to see if we were good - which we were. Sat down in the main bar...More

1  Thank Diver1460
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thanks for your comments Diver1460 - clearly we are very pleased to receive such a review; and our staff are similarly grateful to you for taking the time to post a record of your experiences here. Pleased that you found our beer to your liking...More

Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

We pitched up at the pub with no table booking, looked at the menu and asked the team if we could book a table. The team were great. Sorted us out with menus and got us seated. The lunch experience was good. A mixture of...More

1  Thank Chris H
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

What a great review! Thanks Chris H for telling us that we ticked the boxes, and of course the weather was great too. We will always try to look after everyone but cannot guarantee to be able to take on all-comers on the day, so...More

Reviewed 15 May 2018

We try to get down to stay in nearby Birchover on a fairly regular basis, and although the village boasts two pub restaurants of its own, we always prefer to eat a couple of times at the Old Bowling Green in Winster. We love the...More

1  Thank PVWright
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and we appreciate your comments and are pleased that you find us a friendly place to visit. We do try our best and it is always rewarding to read that we have achieved a success...More

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Simple pub food done very well! Great local atmosphere. Definitely would go again! Tasty food, good beer and wine.

Thank DrandMrsT
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Appreciate your comments, look forward to seeing you again. best wishes David, Marilyn and Staff

Reviewed 15 April 2018

A group of us went on a Saturday night. We were made very welcome by the staff and owners. I had the home made pea and ham soup it was very good. All the meals were very good and well presented. A high standard of...More

1  Thank retiredDerbyshire
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your kind comments, it really does make it all worthwhile to read that we have achieved a high level of satisfaction. Marilyn will be delighted to read that you enjoyed her speciality soup enough to make special mention of it, thanks. Hope...More

Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

A fantasist village pub that we visited twice during our stay. Friendly staff, good beer and warm fire. On our last night in Winster (weds) the owners provided a selection of hot nibbles for everyone with no charge which was a nice touch. Would definitely...More

Thank ajstar42
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thanks AJSTAR42 pleased to learn that you found us a pleasant place to visit. Please don't mention the fact that we offer complimentary nibbles on a Wednesday evening; we don't want to get overwhelmed by hungry drinkers! As you found out we serve meals on...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely pub, lovely staff and lovely lunch! Just lovely! Sunday roast was delicious, but the stem ginger pudding was out of this world! Great value too!

Thank Rachael L
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Really good to read that you enjoyed your visit, and your Sunday kunxh... Maybe we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Thanks David, Marilyn and staff

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

So happy whenever we visit, but this visit topped them all! I had booked for a table of 6 to dine on Saturday night for my birthday and discussed vegan options over email with the very kind Marilyn, who answered all of my questions. The...More

Thank J P
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thanks JP - so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday and even Marilyn's singing too! It was a pleasure to cater for you and your party and we look forward to you all visiting again soon. David , Marilyn ( soprano - classically trained.. )...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Winster Hotels
Premier Inn Matlock
503 reviews
2.90 miles away
The Peacock at Rowsley
530 reviews
3.41 miles away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
418 reviews
3.49 miles away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
450 reviews
3.51 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Druid Inn Birchover
387 reviews
1.06 miles away
The Miners Arms
152 reviews
2.04 miles away
The Flying Childers Inn
32 reviews
2.34 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Vintage Adventure Tours
120 reviews
.27 miles away
Druids Caves
44 reviews
1.08 miles away
Peak Rail
95 reviews
2.31 miles away
Whitworth Park
65 reviews
2.41 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
victoriadaniel30
29 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DavidB_and_MarilynB | Property representative |
Thanks for your query - yes we are dog friendly in parts of our pub; always worth making a reservation though. Hope this helps David & Marilyn
1
Vote
Margaret S
26 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from DavidB_and_MarilynB | Property representative |
No sorry, there is a B&B opposite us, contact us for details should you still need somewhere.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$21
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: East Bank | Winster Peak National Park DE4 2DS, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Winster
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 650219
  • E-mail
Description
15Th Century country inn, grade 2 listed, private ownership and resident chef/owner since 1990. Range of local beers, extensive wine list. Award winning kitchen under personal supervision of owner. Situated in the centre of an historic conservation village with a car park to the rear. Opening hours vary so worth checking before visiting, closed every Monday & Tuesday and lunchtimes except Sundays. Kitchens are closed if the owner is away. Usual hours - kitchen Thur/Fri/Sat 6pm to 8.30pm; Sun lunch 12 noon to 2.30pm. Booking recommended. Bar open Wed evenings too - and all day Sunday from 12 noon till around 8pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing