We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
14 Market Place | c/o The Hoste Hotel, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England
+44 1328 738777
Website
Today
07:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 932: English reviews
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Four of us visited for Sunday lunch, my first visit. Bought a couple of drinks at the bar, a large white wine and a half of bitter, £9!! Three course lunch for the four of us, starters were very good but no bread offered, mains were three beef and one turkey, the beef was good but the turkey slices were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the last time we went here we complained about one of the staff and her lack of knowledge not knowing the difference between a sandwich and a baggette which she took exception to. This was taken care of, but we have not been to this part of the world for a while, but the food is always good

Helpful?
Thank phil h
Collingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Just sat outside the lovely hotel, The Hoste, in Burnham Market in the sun for what must be the best Pimms ever. Great service; friendly & approachable as usual. Burnham Market is such a beautiful village - great independent shops, cafes & so close to the sea. What could be better.

Helpful?
Thank margaretmitchell7
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at the Hoste on Thursday, as part of a tour of Norfolk. I very rarely give anywhere bad reviews , however, the Hoste is looking very tired, and quite frankly is over priced. The rooms are dark and in need of redecoration. There were holes and scuff marks on the walls in our room and cobwebs in the bathroom.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikepO1535MZ
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear mikepO1535MZ, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you decided to visit The Hoste whilst you were touring North Norfolk. I am disappointed to hear you thought The Hoste was looking tired as many of our guests comment on how wonderful the hotel looks. The maintenance and housekeeping staff work very hard to ensure all rooms are cleaned... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place used to be Amazing !! Now it's an over priced , over poshed Restarant with faulse over tweeded people with clean designer wellis on !!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank neiltipler
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for our review. The Hoste hotel has evolved from a pub with six bedrooms thirty years ago into a world-class 62-bedroom hotel with several properties located throughout Burnham Market, including Vine House hotel, Railway House hotel and three Luxury holiday Cottages. Recent additions also include a luxury 20-seat cinema and fitness centre. It is disappointing to read your... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a delightful server at the Hoste. Dinner was good. The sorbet - cherry, was unbelievable. It was the very essence of the fruit andmcame with a little chocolate sauce.

Helpful?
Thank Tess2010Seattle
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tess2010Seattle Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Hoste and you thought the sorbet was the world’s best, it is definitely one of our favourites. We recently introduced a new dessert menu and we have received many positive comments about the dishes. All our produce is locally sourced and... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are exquisite. The common areas are nicely designed. The menus are restricted and not well executed. They do not live up to the past. The dinner waiters (3) were for ever in a huddle and very inattentive though at breakfast time a young girl ((who had just toured New Zealand) was exceptional at her job. Trying to get... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rgccr
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Rgccr Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you found the rooms exquisite and you thought they were nicely designed. The rooms have been designed to a very high standard and I will make sure your comments are passed on to our interior designer. I am disappointed to hear you felt The Hoste is not what... More 

Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've eaten a few times, once in December, which I must say I preferred, the restaurant used that time was more intimate and had a nicer feel than the conservatory that I ate in in June. The food is lovely, I can't fault it. The staff are helpful too, and there is a nice wine selection. Service is good for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorna H
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lorna H, Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you found the food lovely and the staff helpful and there was a good selection of wine on offer. We recently introduced a new seasonal all day menu and we have received some wonderful comments from guests about the new dishes. The Hoste has two award-winning restaurants, the... More 

Bogota, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every year I would go with my family to the Hoste Arms for coffee and biscuits for my birthday. I have lived out of England for a few years now, but this year wanted to spend my 50th doing something traditional with my family again.. and for the first time with my American husband. Have to say unfortunately the Hoste... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank olivier1uk
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Olivier1uk, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you have visited The Hoste on numerous occasions to celebrate your birthday. It is such a shame we were not made aware that it was your birthday, we like to make a special effort for guests when they are celebrating something special, especially a 50th Birthday. I am... More 

Feering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had been told this place was good, so we gave it a try. The bar menu for meals (other than sandwiches etc) was very limited - the mains were burger, veggie burger or steak with chips, or fish and chips. We opted for the burger and, even though it wasn't very busy, after 30 minutes we asked why it... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen B
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Maureen B Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you heard The Hoste was a good place to go and you decided to try it. I am surprised to hear you found the menu limited as we have two menus available throughout the day, the classic bar menu and the new all-day seasonal menu. The burger is... More 

Travellers who viewed The Hoste Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Burnham Market, Norfolk
 
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Burnham Overy Staithe, Norfolk
 
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to The Hoste Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Buffet
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 23:00
Monday
07:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 23:00
Thursday
07:30 - 23:00
Friday
07:30 - 23:00
Saturday
07:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Market Place | c/o The Hoste Hotel, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England
  • Public Transportation: Burnham Market is on the Coast Hopper Bus route.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Burnham Market
  • Phone Number: +44 1328 738777
Description
Book a romantic dinner in the restaurant at The Hoste Hotel, where the Chefs create dishes that owe much to locally sourced produce, not least a great selection of local seafood from the nearby coast. We have a high quality, informal, relaxed atmosphere with very friendly and efficient staff. The imaginative menu is complimented by a 200-bin wine list that includes some keenly priced classics.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Hoste Hotel Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hoste Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?